We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked this weekend to relax and relaxed I was in this beautiful cozy renovated hotel, first when I got in I told the clerk that I was in Toronto to rest and that I would be in my room a lot so he right away upgraded me without question. I was in a cozy renovated room on the 3rd floor it was modern and continued the color theme of the whole hotel the colors are spas like aqua grays browns and whites even the staff all wore the Aqua tops or ties, I spend the day enjoying the hotel went swimming at a beautiful indoor pool they just don't make them like this anymore. The hot tub jets were not working well but thats ok. After the swim I went for an amazing lunch at the restaurant in the lobby the food was out of this world so tasty and not bad prices. The air in the hotel is fresh and clean everything was perfect, I will be back thats for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure u are in a renovated room. And try the food at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    123
    96
    55
    49
See reviews for
108
78
24
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very quiet hotel in a very good location. Easy access for the Don Valley Parkway both North and South. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Though this is not a new hotel. There was an issue with one elevator so we made sure to avoid it, there is a ceiling tile missing from the 5th floor, which looks horrible. The pool is very nice and warm, but the hot tub was not working.
We did ask for joint rooms when booking the hotel but where told at check in they were not available. The first room we were given was too far from the other room so we asked to change, this was done quickly and someone called after it was done to make sure everything was alright. This hotel is not the Ritz but you have to expect to get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in the winter and don't need a balcony go to the fifth floor. It is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I never write hotel reviews but this was the absolute worst experience I've ever had staying at a hotel.

Upon check in, we were greeted to a friendly receptionist. The lobby was exactly shown on the Expedia site. The room which was on the 4th floor was NOT what I imagined. It was a non-smoking room but it REEKED of cigarettes and there was noticeable dirt stains on the floor. I was disappointed but would have remained in the room had it not been for the 'kinder surprises' I found in the toilet. Clearly, the room was not given a thorough cleaning. I immediately requested a new room. Rishi, the onsite supervisor, was very sympathetic and immediately provided me with a room upgrade on the 6th executive floor. The room was definitely an upgrade. However, the people next door were very loud and appeared to be arguing. We heard things being thrown around, and thuds against the walls. The loud group continued their arguing in the hallway where they smoked and threw garbage everywhere. We were frightened to ask them to quiet down -- so, we called the front desk downstairs. Front desk went up to inspect immediately and even came to our door to apologize. But the loud fighting continued throughout the night. It was a sleep-less night.

I was very disappointed by our stay. The only saving grace was Rishi and the other receptionist. But the quality of the hotel was definitely shoddy and the cleanliness is left to be desired.

Bottom line: stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The lobby and pool areas are nice, but the hallways and rooms are less than presentable. Half the doors on the floor have paint blotches that do not match the original colour and the wallpaper needs replacing. The room had a 1990 20 inch CRT TV. Channels were also very limited. Location, amenities, and price considered, $100 a night is okay, but I wouldn't pay anything more. I was very disappointed with the quality difference suggested by their website and the actual conditions at the hotel. Even after talking with guests in the 'executive suites,' it seems that this quality discrepancy is an issue at every level.

Room Tip: see if they can promise a renovated room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night on a Saturday in November. My wife just came out of hospital in the morning and due to problems at own home, we were not able to stay in our own home. Found the hotel on Hotels.com. We were just hoping for a nice place to stay, but both of us were quite happy with the whole hotel. There was no noise in our room, the restaurant food was really good, reception staff very friendly, indoor pool, fitness area very nice. The hotel was way above our expectations based on price of room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Problem with another hotel in Toronto meant we had to find a hotel fast near business we were visiting. Just walked in and got two rooms straight away. Efficient helpful service, good clean rooms, etc. Bistro and bar staff charming. Good pool and hot tub. Buffet breakfast ok but spoilt as area overloaded by large coach parties staying and needed more staff to cope and refill supplies quickly. Ok on holiday but not so good when in hurry to get to work. Tom Hortons across road very useful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.The hotel looks fabulous, spacious, and modern. Rooms were standard, good comfy beds, clean, modern, bathroom. Every thing you need is there. When I asked for a corkscrew, it was brought to my room within 2 min...no charge. Friendly accommodating staff, and a good buffet breakfast, all at just about the cheapest price in all of Toronto. Will certainly come back for my next TO trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Address: 175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.