We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very quiet hotel in a very good location. Easy access for the Don Valley Parkway both North and South. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Though this is not a new hotel. There was an issue with one elevator so we made sure to avoid it, there is a ceiling tile missing from the 5th floor, which looks horrible. The pool is very nice and warm, but the hot tub was not working.
We did ask for joint rooms when booking the hotel but where told at check in they were not available. The first room we were given was too far from the other room so we asked to change, this was done quickly and someone called after it was done to make sure everything was alright. This hotel is not the Ritz but you have to expect to get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in the winter and don't need a balcony go to the fifth floor. It is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    82
    42
    43
See reviews for
90
62
23
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I never write hotel reviews but this was the absolute worst experience I've ever had staying at a hotel.

Upon check in, we were greeted to a friendly receptionist. The lobby was exactly shown on the Expedia site. The room which was on the 4th floor was NOT what I imagined. It was a non-smoking room but it REEKED of cigarettes and there was noticeable dirt stains on the floor. I was disappointed but would have remained in the room had it not been for the 'kinder surprises' I found in the toilet. Clearly, the room was not given a thorough cleaning. I immediately requested a new room. Rishi, the onsite supervisor, was very sympathetic and immediately provided me with a room upgrade on the 6th executive floor. The room was definitely an upgrade. However, the people next door were very loud and appeared to be arguing. We heard things being thrown around, and thuds against the walls. The loud group continued their arguing in the hallway where they smoked and threw garbage everywhere. We were frightened to ask them to quiet down -- so, we called the front desk downstairs. Front desk went up to inspect immediately and even came to our door to apologize. But the loud fighting continued throughout the night. It was a sleep-less night.

I was very disappointed by our stay. The only saving grace was Rishi and the other receptionist. But the quality of the hotel was definitely shoddy and the cleanliness is left to be desired.

Bottom line: stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The lobby and pool areas are nice, but the hallways and rooms are less than presentable. Half the doors on the floor have paint blotches that do not match the original colour and the wallpaper needs replacing. The room had a 1990 20 inch CRT TV. Channels were also very limited. Location, amenities, and price considered, $100 a night is okay, but I wouldn't pay anything more. I was very disappointed with the quality difference suggested by their website and the actual conditions at the hotel. Even after talking with guests in the 'executive suites,' it seems that this quality discrepancy is an issue at every level.

Room Tip: see if they can promise a renovated room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night on a Saturday in November. My wife just came out of hospital in the morning and due to problems at own home, we were not able to stay in our own home. Found the hotel on Hotels.com. We were just hoping for a nice place to stay, but both of us were quite happy with the whole hotel. There was no noise in our room, the restaurant food was really good, reception staff very friendly, indoor pool, fitness area very nice. The hotel was way above our expectations based on price of room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Problem with another hotel in Toronto meant we had to find a hotel fast near business we were visiting. Just walked in and got two rooms straight away. Efficient helpful service, good clean rooms, etc. Bistro and bar staff charming. Good pool and hot tub. Buffet breakfast ok but spoilt as area overloaded by large coach parties staying and needed more staff to cope and refill supplies quickly. Ok on holiday but not so good when in hurry to get to work. Tom Hortons across road very useful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.The hotel looks fabulous, spacious, and modern. Rooms were standard, good comfy beds, clean, modern, bathroom. Every thing you need is there. When I asked for a corkscrew, it was brought to my room within 2 min...no charge. Friendly accommodating staff, and a good buffet breakfast, all at just about the cheapest price in all of Toronto. Will certainly come back for my next TO trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

When we first stayed here, it was a crown plaza. It seems that since losing that brand, quality has gone downhill.

Apparently rooms are renovated-I wouldn't know, I've always been put in a non-renovated room.

Rooms are rundown-the non-renovated rooms have old fixtures, furniture etc. The rooms seem to be clean-and the beds still pretty comfortable but definitely showing their age.

Non-renovated rooms do not have flat screens.

The last room appeared to have an ill fitting bathtub cover job done. It "crinkled" when you stepped in it. Some of the bathrooms have very old tile and grout, with ceiling stains.

Carpets old and therefore stained.

2 pools-one outdoor and one indoor. Noise level very high in indoor pool as it is a glassed in atrium.

Elevators are slow and old.

Hallways are poorly renovated. The paint job looked really shoddy on my floor.

Someone was clearly smoking in one of the rooms on my floor-not sure if they did anything about that, but the hallway reeked.

Not a terrible place overall-I stayed on business, definitely wouldn't visit for pleasure. Get something close to downtown-this place is not.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have balconies. Try to get one of the mythical "renovated rooms"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Address: 175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.