We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not HORRIBLE, like any Quality Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Kitchener
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not HORRIBLE, like any Quality Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The lobby and pool areas are nice, but the hallways and rooms are less than presentable. Half the doors on the floor have paint blotches that do not match the original colour and the wallpaper needs replacing. The room had a 1990 20 inch CRT TV. Channels were also very limited. Location, amenities, and price considered, $100 a night is okay, but I wouldn't pay anything more. I was very disappointed with the quality difference suggested by their website and the actual conditions at the hotel. Even after talking with guests in the 'executive suites,' it seems that this quality discrepancy is an issue at every level.

Room Tip: see if they can promise a renovated room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    118
    94
    53
    48
See reviews for
105
74
24
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night on a Saturday in November. My wife just came out of hospital in the morning and due to problems at own home, we were not able to stay in our own home. Found the hotel on Hotels.com. We were just hoping for a nice place to stay, but both of us were quite happy with the whole hotel. There was no noise in our room, the restaurant food was really good, reception staff very friendly, indoor pool, fitness area very nice. The hotel was way above our expectations based on price of room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Problem with another hotel in Toronto meant we had to find a hotel fast near business we were visiting. Just walked in and got two rooms straight away. Efficient helpful service, good clean rooms, etc. Bistro and bar staff charming. Good pool and hot tub. Buffet breakfast ok but spoilt as area overloaded by large coach parties staying and needed more staff to cope and refill supplies quickly. Ok on holiday but not so good when in hurry to get to work. Tom Hortons across road very useful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights.The hotel looks fabulous, spacious, and modern. Rooms were standard, good comfy beds, clean, modern, bathroom. Every thing you need is there. When I asked for a corkscrew, it was brought to my room within 2 min...no charge. Friendly accommodating staff, and a good buffet breakfast, all at just about the cheapest price in all of Toronto. Will certainly come back for my next TO trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

When we first stayed here, it was a crown plaza. It seems that since losing that brand, quality has gone downhill.

Apparently rooms are renovated-I wouldn't know, I've always been put in a non-renovated room.

Rooms are rundown-the non-renovated rooms have old fixtures, furniture etc. The rooms seem to be clean-and the beds still pretty comfortable but definitely showing their age.

Non-renovated rooms do not have flat screens.

The last room appeared to have an ill fitting bathtub cover job done. It "crinkled" when you stepped in it. Some of the bathrooms have very old tile and grout, with ceiling stains.

Carpets old and therefore stained.

2 pools-one outdoor and one indoor. Noise level very high in indoor pool as it is a glassed in atrium.

Elevators are slow and old.

Hallways are poorly renovated. The paint job looked really shoddy on my floor.

Someone was clearly smoking in one of the rooms on my floor-not sure if they did anything about that, but the hallway reeked.

Not a terrible place overall-I stayed on business, definitely wouldn't visit for pleasure. Get something close to downtown-this place is not.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't have balconies. Try to get one of the mythical "renovated rooms"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I joined a bus tour from Boston-Toronto and we stayed at this hotel. It was clean and well maintained. They had a large indoor pool and a cafe that offered a breakfast buffet. There were not a lot of choices but it was pretty decent. if you don't want to pay $14 for the buffet then you can just walk across the street to a Tim Horton's. I had a very clean room and there was no nise even if our room faced the road- no complaints here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Great place, fun pool And spa... Food wasnt bad at all . Had a good stay At this place ! Will definitely come stay here again our next time in toronto this october:) The location is also close to everything by car, not too hard to find .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Address: 175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.