We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in downtown Toronto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“A good choice in downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

For the price, this was a good choice for central downtown Toronto. It is on Yonge Street, but several blocks north of the "main" strip of downtown Toronto. It borders Toronto's "gay village", so many guests are GBLT. If you are intolerant, go elsewhere (actually don't even come to Canada - we do not welcome intolerance). Because of it's location by the gay village, it's a very safe location for single women travellers.

The staff are all excellent in all departments. Helpful, knowledgeable, friendly and welcoming.

The rooms are smaller than the newer Courtyards, as this is a old hotel purchased and renovated by Coutyard by Marriott. However they have all the typical Courtyard by Marriott comforts and amenities.

The pool & fitness centre are fantastic.

Large free business centre for those not travelling with their own laptops.

We did not use the hotel restaurant, however it looked clean and comfortable, and the menu was reasonable with sufficient variety to please everyone.

The hotel is handy to just about any cuisine you could want. This is, after all, downtown Toronto - the most multicultural city on earth. Starbucks and McDonalds are in the same block - great for fast access to your morning jolt.

The only "fault" I could find was that parking ($25 - typical for Toronto) was across the street in a parking garage with the steepest ramp I've ever seen. In hindsight we should've taken the train into downtown and used Toronto Transit (TTC), as the subway is just a block or so away.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerToronto, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear Courtyard Toronto Guest:
We are glad that you enjoyed the diversity that is our neighbourhood. There are a lot of great activities and amenities within a quick walk or subway ride from the hotel.
We will be happy to pass on the great comments that you made about our team.
Look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    809
    432
    131
    60
See reviews for
328
531
199
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay near the University of Toronto campus. We've stayed here once before. We had several problems with our room after we arrived, which shouldn't have been the case (toilet not working properly, wet spot on the carpet), but they were resolved immediately and with courtesy. The rooms are pretty average, not spacious but larger than many others we've stayed in. The bedding is always nice at Marriotts. The towels, however, were not - very thin. The bathrooms could use some sprucing up. There's a small separate room with the toilet and tub/shower, with the sink separate, which is convenient. Ask for a high floor if you can get it - there will be less street noise. The valet parking for guests is $30/night, which we thought was on the high side. The breakfast, which was included with our room, is better than average. Varied offerings, pastries were very fresh, not packaged.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerToronto, Director of Guest Services at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, April 25, 2010
Dear Courtyard Toronto Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that the location was convenient for you. Our breakfast is ranked by our guests to be in the top 10 of all Courtyards in North America. I am sorry that you had some initial problems with your room, we shall review that with our team. We look forward to your return visit.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I have stayed here many times. Last year I paid $89 weekend rate. This year they wanted $129. (I had a free night). So the recession (if Canada had one) is over.
On the plus side: great downtown location, close to College Street TTC subway stop, near great shops and restaurants. Free use of YMCA while hotel pool under renovation. Property showing its age. Plus it is a busy convention hotel. You may want to try the new Holiday Inn across the street when it opens next month (the former Days Inn). Given the paucity of great affordable choices in Toronto, I recommend the Courtyard. The staff is the best. My room was quiet and faced the northside high rises (avoid rooms facing noisy Yonge Street). Not enough computers in the business center.Take the subway to the airport and then the 192 bus for just $3.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerToronto, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear Courtyard Toronto Guest,
We are certainly pleased that you were happy with the hotel's location - close to shops and restaurants and the subway. Our rates can change based on how full we are, but we can still be very affordable compared to other downtown hotels. I will pass on your great comments to our team. They will enjoy hearing that you said that they were "the best".
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The hotel room was dated and the noise levels at night were high. It was not as clean as other hotels we stayed in but the room was a decent size. The hotel is located in downtown Toronto where a lot of the clubs and adult shops seem to be located. The area is not unsafe or dirty but I did not enjoy the vibe. People partying it up tended to keep me awake all hours of the night and morning! The hotel itself was also very noisy and we were constantly woken by banging and bashing?! It has quick access to the tube and to two large shopping centres located about three blocks down. The shopping centres were the highlights of the area. The staff were helpful & assisted in booking us tours to Niagra Falls, etc. However, the tour operator is not properly clued up as we arrived at our wine tasting on Good Friday only to discover the winery was closed. I expect my tour operator to check on the availability of the activities it offers. No discount was offered in spite of wasting over an hour of my time!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerToronto, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear Courtyard Toronto Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.
I am sorry that it was not everything that you had expected. I will review with our Tour Desk how disappointed you were that the winery was not open on Good Friday. As that is a statutory holiday in Ontario and not all other areas, that sometimes causes confusion, however, as travel partners, we should not make that mistake. We hope that overall your trip to Toronto was filled with wonderful memories.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Good location on walking distance of the marina, CN tower, downtown, university but this hotel is probably beter for a business travel. We spent there 3 nights and the value was correct. Try the restaurant "Interior" on the same street but to the direction of the harbor, it's offer a nice place to eat and a large choice of wines.
The hotels also offers a choice of trips in Toronto and Niagara falls.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerToronto, Director of Guest Services at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, April 18, 2010
Dear Courtyard Toronto Guest,
Thank you for your recent comment. As you mentioned, we certainly are in a great location. We are glad that you found our hotel to be of good value and that you explored our city and found some good local restaurants to dine. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel many times throughout the last 10 years and was never dissapointed. It's the perfect hotel to stay when you want to explore downtown Toronto.
We for instance stayed there when we had tickets to shows or concerts since many theatres and concert halls are within walking distance.
The only ''problem'' with this hotel, is that you may have to book well in advance, especially in summer.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerToronto, Director of Guest Services at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Dear Courtyard Toronto Guest,
We are certainly glad that you have found us to be a convenient hotel to use as a base to explore Toronto. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all4kicks
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Stayed at this hotel while on business. Thought the service, location was wonderful. The room was nice, maybe not for a long vacation but perfect for a 2-3 day stay. I think it's been said but the $30/day for valet is a bit steep considering it was about 30% of what I paid nightly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanagerToronto, Director of Guest Services at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Dear Courtyard Toronto Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Our location is very convenient and our associates take great pride in taking care of our guests.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Address: 475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Downtown Toronto, located in the heart of downtown Toronto, at the corner of Yonge & College Sts., minutes from fashionable shopping, restaurants, museums, galleries, theatre, financial, government and discovery districts. Steps from College subway station, 25 min. from Pearson International Airport. Complimentary high speed wireless intenet access in every guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Courtyard
Courtyard Toronto Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.