We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is close to the Easton Center, restaurants and Dundas Square. Rooms were clean, staff is friendly and service is great. It's a great hotel if you want something downtown but not blow the budget at the same time!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    762
    400
    119
    54
See reviews for
299
510
188
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have stayed here several times because of its location (close to business meetings I attended, or the location for a conference held in the ballroom). Very reasonable prices, comfortable, clean rooms, and very helpful staff. The food has always been good at the events I have attended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is the chosen hotel for meetings held for part of my work. Rooms are ok in the newly remodeled section ( much better than my last stay in an older room). Service is friendly and the food catered for our event and in the restaurant was surprisingly good. The neighbouhood is not inspiring but there is a large Winner's and a pharmacy a block away. Note: check the time on the alarm clock; I woke up an hour early as the time wasn't right. The opposite would have been more dangerous. Noise is not an issue in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgilmore, Director, Revenue Management at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We appreciate your comments with regards to your recent stay with us. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Courtyard Marriott is well located downtown, however the facility is definitely in need of an upgrade. On first impressions it seemed like an average hotel in this chain, with friendly staff and quick, efficient and friendly service. After checking in and getting settled, I was suprised to find that even though I was on a lower floor overlooking Yonge St, there was very little external noise from the street, just the occasion siren or unmuffled motorcycle. There are also lots of inexpensive restaurants in the vicinity.
Then things started going downhill.....
At night I turned on the air-con as the room was quite stuffy. The noise coming from the unit was louder than I've ever experienced in a hotel. I usually like a bit of white noise when I sleep, however this was extreme. I had the choice of no air-con and a hot/stuffy room, or wear earplugs to block the sound and just hope to be awoken by my alarm the next morning.
When I did get up the next morning (6:30), I turned on the shower to find no hot water. Last time this occured for me was in the far reaches of the Amazon where it is to be expected, not in a downtown Toronto hotel. Since I was in a rush to get out, I had my cold shower and quickly departed the hotel. I did not mention this to management at the time due to my tight schedule in the morning, but if they read this - it was room 506 on May 27.
Given this experience, I will not be staying here again. There are much better options in downtown Toronto at this price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgilmore, Director, Revenue Management at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We appreciate your comments on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on our great location and friendly staff with quick and efficient service! I am sorry that your room was not what you expected. I have passed on your information to the appropriate departments to look into. We do hope that you will come back when our renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeswater,Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights and were treated very well by everyone.Staff were always smiling and very helpful when needed.Beds were very comfortable and rooms very clean.Liked the closeness to everything downtown.Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I were attending a wedding celebration in the area and found this hotel to be very convenient. The staff was extremely helpful in pointing us in the right directions. We valet parked our car at the hotel without incident. The hotel was clean and well run. The room was comfortable and quiet. The hotel has a strict noise policy displayed in the lobby before you go up to your room. If you are looking for a nice quiet visit to Toronoto, I highly recomment this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

$35 per day to park on top of the overpriced rooms. Maybe this is standard for Toronto ($199 per night).. but also forgot the added taxes and parking fees. Breakfast was expensive too with slow service. But, the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgilmore, Director, Revenue Management at Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Our pricing for parking and breakfast is competitive with other downtown Toronto hotels and evaluated regularly. We appreciate your comments however as guest experience is top priority for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Address: 475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Downtown Toronto, located in the heart of downtown Toronto, at the corner of Yonge & College Sts., minutes from fashionable shopping, restaurants, museums, galleries, theatre, financial, government and discovery districts. Steps from College subway station, 25 min. from Pearson International Airport. Complimentary high speed wireless intenet access in every guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Courtyard
Courtyard Toronto Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.