We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but interior can be noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #70 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good location, but interior can be noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last month, and both time the rooms were noisy despite my request for rooms positioned in quiet locations. For some reason the elevator shaft in the north tower seems connected to the air vents in the washrooms, so you can hear the elevator going up and down. In addition, there is a fan near the alcove with the ice machine/vending machine that is like listening to a jet. Also, the second elevator in this tower has been out of service during both stays which can make it a bit of a wait for the one remaining elevator. Rooms are clean and large enough. Close to subway line and a variety of restaurants.

Room Tip: You can ask for one at the end of the hallway away from elevators, but I have done that twice to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    853
    466
    142
    65
See reviews for
351
556
207
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I went to Toronto for a weekend getaway. This hotel is located near the subway, so it is convenient for traveling to shops, restaurants, and theatres anywhere on Yonges Street. There is one entrance to the hotel, so security is good. The hotel offers free wi-fi, plus there is a business center on the first floor. The neighborhood offers a great variety of ethnic restaurants. The only negative is that the room has a long entranceway from the door to the bedroom. The sink and closet are near the bedroom, but the toilet and bathtub are near the door. Our corner room was quiet, but I did notice that 2 rooms were located adjacent to both the elevator and the ice machine. I would avoiid those rooms when booking.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to the elevator and the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went here for 2 nights with friends, and found it an excellent location, right near a subway. service was very friendly, that's a huge bonus. If you were parking , it would be pricy, but we didn't have too, so quite reasonable. Rooms were clean and quiet, the bathroom could use a bit of updating, shower was so so, and no exhaust fan, but overall good. The pool was small, but clean. One negative was the bistro/ bar, where we went to one night for something to eat, but after waiting at the counter trying to get the attention of the bartender, ( he seemed to be trying to ignore us) we left and ordered a pizza. I would highly recommend going out for supper just across Yonge St at Chalau, a fabulous reasonably priced Dim Sum restaurant, we did that the second evening.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of the north tower, was very quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and although the bed was comfortable and the breakfast decent, the hotel in general is very tired and needs an upgrade- particularly in the rooms. Things just look worn out and not completely clean. Probably would not choose to stay here again if the price was right at another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

So, it was my friend and I, so we got their King 1 bedroom suite for $170. Can't beat that. He snores and I'm a light sleeper so, having separate room with a sofa bed for him and a door you can close is a recipe for a good night sleep. The rooms were decent, for a suite, a bit dated. I figured a suite would have a shower box, but for $170/night downtown Toronto, yeah, not going to complain :-) I really can't think of any issues with the room, the hotel was very nice, busy, has everything you need in the lobby, the valet was easy. Yep, a nice hotel and for the money, extra nice. Enjoy.

Room Tip: If traveling with friends, get the King Bed One Bedroom suite.. it's Gold Jerry :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta bc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This by far was one of the nicest most amazing hotel beds I've ever slept in - so comefortable!
Was at the 2013 PPPC Trade Show and the Marriott was smack dab in the center of everything I needed while I was in Toronto.
Was treated very well by the staff and I needed that by day 4 of my trip.

Room Tip: Beds provide an amazing sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was the first time I traveled internationally, I stayed for 3 nights and 4 days and I must say I was impressed by this hotel. I did lots of research on this site about hotels in the area, and it came down to this hotel or Holiday Inn... and I'm very glad I chose Courtyard Marriott. Super affordable for being right on Yonge Street, lots of things to see and do.

Upon check in the front desk staff were very courteous and helpful, I received early check in as my flight came in earlier than expected. I had no problems with the room, heating worked fine. I didn't eat in the hotel ever so I cannot comment on the restaurant, or room service. There are many restaurants and bars close by, its very convenient.

Other pluses, clean linens, comfy bed, clean hallways, and housekeeping polite and timely, the pool and hot tub :)

I was very satisfied and I would make this my hotel of choice whenever I come to Toronto.

NB: I had a small problem with my credit card when I returned home and the accounts department assisted me greatly.

Garvelle
(happy tourist)

Room Tip: Higher levels, King bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/City Centre
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#71 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 3,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown

Address: 475 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1X7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Downtown Toronto, located in the heart of downtown Toronto, at the corner of Yonge & College Sts., minutes from fashionable shopping, restaurants, museums, galleries, theatre, financial, government and discovery districts. Steps from College subway station, 25 min. from Pearson International Airport. Complimentary high speed wireless intenet access in every guest room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Courtyard
Courtyard Toronto Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.