We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caplansky's Deli

Caplansky's Deli
356 CollegeSt., Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416 500 3852
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #812 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Did not disappoint. Sat out in the patio since the weather was lovely. We went as family of four and yet not one of us had smoked meat. We had the bbq smoked brisket which was excellent and juicy. The smokey beef ribs was large but mainly bones and not as much meat as expected. The liver and onions were quite tasty and the Leo (smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) were also good. One of our favourites was the garlic mashed potatoes which was very flavourful. Of course we couldn't leave without trying out the maple beef bacon donuts and the cheese blintzes which was a great way to end the evening. Overall, an enjoyable experience and will probably return again to try the other items.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    57
    33
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Fried chicken with maple syrup. Who knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I might be the only reviewer who hasn't tried the smoked meat sandwich. Instead, during my one visit to Caplansky's (which I'd been told is a Toronto institution) I decided to try the fried chicken. I was not disappointed. First off, the chicken is great on its own. But then they give you a small cup of maple syrup, eh? (little Canadian joke there for you). And man oh man is the combo of friend chicken and maple syrup ever a winner! I will go back and check out the smoked meat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina MN
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Basically Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

For us Americans, smoked meat is hard to come by. We came Caplansky's for this reason only and we were very pleased with our focus of attention. However, the side dishes were hit and miss (knish, fries). The service was just fine and the place looks like a deli should look!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“For Deli its tough to beat this place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ok this lived up to the hype , classic deli stop. The sandwich smoked meat is incredible , coleslaw pickles sides all soooo good. I tried most of the menu and you wont be disappointed prices are also very reasonable and has patio seating. Its a busy place so plan your timing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were told about Caplanski's by a friend of mine that lives in Kensington Market. The folks at the deli told us most people from the U.S. Hear about them from the Food Network - lots of positive press, and I can see why.

I had the Geddy, which was simply delicious, with a side of beef bacon. I'm a bacon fanatic, and almost never a fan of turkey bacon and such, but this stuff was almost as good as the real thing, and worth trying.

My wife had the brisket sandwich, which was also delicious. We have a lot of great Jewish delis in the Metro Detroit area, but nothing this good.

The staff was incredibly friendly, the neighborhood is cool. We'll eat here again next time we're in Toronto.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caplansky's Deli also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Caplansky's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caplansky's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.