We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Seafood & Steakhouse

New Orleans Seafood & Steakhouse
267 Scarlett Road | York, Toronto, Ontario M6N 4L1, Canada
416-766-7001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Unexpected diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We tried this local restaurant for the first time tonight for our anniversary. Wonderful
surprise! Excellent service, the food was wonderful, piping hot, very tasty. The Caesar
salad was one of the best we have had. Did not feel rushed to eat or leave. The owner
Michael recommended a very nice bottle of wine - Campo Viejo and we were not
disappointed. We definitely will be back for an encore. Rosemary

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    10
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love. This. Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

You would never guess from the outside! How lucky are we to have such a fantastic neighbourhood restaurant that is so amazing. You walk in the door and are greeted by a wonderful, warm atmosphere and delicious aromas of the yummy food cooking away in the kitchen. The owner and his staff are friendly and attentive, the presentation is excellent and the food is fresh and beautifully prepared. There are so few restaurants that do fish really well so that is why I always order that but friends that have had the steak loved it. The Fisherman's platter is a favourite but there are lots of other choices. The Coconut Shrimp are a must!
Reservations are a good idea...this place is very popular!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“YES. GO NOW.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A hidden jewel of a restaurant.

Excellent seafood. It's so fresh (turns out there is a train that delivers seafood to the local fish markets nearby).

Professional, friendly and attentive staff. (They bring you water, as well as fresh bread and butter right away)

Quiet, romantic and well decorated environment. Has that New Orleans mansion feel to its decor, with soft, authentic New Orleans background music playing.

Came with my fiancee for a birthday dinner. The food was fantastic - the best fried calamari rings I've ever had because they weren't greasy, but crunchy and well seasoned. I had the salmon with veggies and rice - one of the fresh fish of the day dishes. The salmon was brown and crispy on the outside, yet soft, juicy and tender red on the inside - again, it was fantastic.

My fiance had the cajun chicken which i tried a bit of - well cooked and the cajun sauce/spice blend was great - reminded me of indian curry dishes but with an authentic New Orleans zing to it.

The wine selection was a bit smaller, but I imagine because the chef has carefully selected wines that best complement his dishes.

Have only been once but can't wait to go again.

The place seats about 50 max so id recommend making a reservation.

And as for prices, for the qualiy of the experience I would say it was not overly expensive. Less expensive than a dinner at the KEG, that's for sure. (The two of us had an appetizer, a half litre of wine, two main dishes, and espressos for under 100 bucks.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and good value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Thanks to the staff at this wonderful restaurant-we celebrated our 37th yr wedding anniversary on August 7/13.
Everything was delicious especially the crab cakes and coconut shrimp as appetizers. We had shrimp creole, fisherman's platter, chicken/shrimp plate, angus steak plus a specially prepared shrimp pasta with cream sauce. All five of us totally cleaned our plates.
A table near us was celebrating two birthdays - they have been coming to this restaurant for 19 yrs (guess that says it all).
We will definitely be back even though we live in Caledon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is by far, the best food quality, service, atmosphere, value you will find in Etobicoke. Make a reservation because you can rarely just "walk in"

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Seafood & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Seafood & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Seafood & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.