We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Loma

Casa Loma
1 Austin Terrace | at Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1X8, Canada
+1 416-923-1171
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Toronto CityPass
Ranked #17 of 251 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Edwardian castle, built at a cost of $3.5 Million (Canadian) in 1914, features turn-of-the-century luxuries and unique inventions.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Impressive building, well kept but kinda pricey. The gardens on the back and landscaping is really pretty, especially in spring. You can also see the CN tower from the gardens and the downtown skyline...
The tunnel that runs underneath is pretty interesting and COLD/damp. Take a stroll through the tunnel to get to the garage, stables and greenhouse.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    698
    233
    45
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A definite must in Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Ok, here's my #1 tip for the CN tower. Go for lunch or dinner. The cost to get up the elevator is $35 alone. If you go for lunch or dinner, the extra cost is only $15-$20 over the elevator cost. (It will get expensive if you drink a lot of booze). The rotating restaurant is definitely pretty awesome. The food is above average, although wouldn't be worth the cost at sea level. The other bonus of this strategy is that you don't have to wait in line.

Make sure you do this on a good weather day. On a nice weather day, you can even see the spray from Niagara Falls.

Overall, even though we're both longtime Toronto residents, my girlfriend and I always enjoy a nice romantic meal up here with the view occasionally.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A bit less to really see than I anticipated . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It is a grand sized castle/house - but so sparsely furnished and decorated that I didn't really get a feel for what it must have been. It's not a 'step into the past and become a part of it' experience, it is a museum.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great afternoon at the Casa with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Trudged up from the subway to Casa Loma one sunny spring afternoon with my two kids, ages 8 & 10. It's a dramatic walk up the Baldwin steps, and not a terrible hardship of a forced march from the nearest subway stop, even with a cranky 10 year old boy. First stop, the basement to pick up the audio tour. I'm never sure about these things, but this one is pretty good and is incidentally included in the price of admission. Given the cost of maintaining a place like this, I thought the price was fairly reasonable. The kids enjoyed the audio tour a lot, even Monsieur Snacksalot. It's not a super fancy place with tons of polish, like say the Biltmore, but it's quite accessible and rather fun to wander through the rooms using your imagination to furnish the dining room and bedrooms. Also, unlike say the Biltmore, you don't feel your wallet opening every 30 seconds at 40 different gift shops. Quite refreshing. QUITE reasonably priced snack bar in the basement staffed by the most friendly, helpful guy. Lots of places to sit and admire the craftsmanship and just soak up the ambiance. Not overrun by any means; we were alone up in the Scottish Tower (and don't miss the climb!).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey, but interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I love old architecture, so this was right up my alley. It has amazing views of the whole city and you can wander throughout the building at your own leisure.

My only complaint is the price. However, you can usually find coupons online to help defer the cost.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Loma also viewed

 

Been to Casa Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Loma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.