We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Loma

Casa Loma
1 Austin Terrace | at Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1X8, Canada
+1 416-923-1171
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Toronto CityPass
Ranked #18 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Edwardian castle, built at a cost of $3.5 Million (Canadian) in 1914, features turn-of-the-century luxuries and unique inventions.
Wrexham
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Visited here using the City Tour Bus - walk from bus stop is up a hill but well worth the effort. The views are great and the building is magical. Just had to have our photos taken standing in the turrets.
Take time to explore all the building, not forgetting to wander through the tunnels. The climb up the narrow spiral staircase to the turret is not easy but the feeling when you arrive makes it worth every step.
The grounds are also exploring - loved the dragon!
We had lunch and enjoyed looking at the films that have used Casa Loma as a location - brought back memories.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    699
    234
    45
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting house/castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Really enjoyed , paying for the car park was a bit of a disgrace though considering we obviously had to pay to get in the house. A sad tale of a gifted man destroyed by the Toronto government and stock market crash. He was just too successful. All extremely interesting and well worth a visit, recommended

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

You definitely need to dedicate a few hours in order to get bang for your buck. Parking was a little expensive too though, so it's a balance. So beautiful though. Great for history buffs and just nerdy tourists like me. You have to go all the way to the top (the narrow spiral staircase can be an obstacle), the view of Toronto is so breathtaking. There's also an underground tunnel that brings you to a different part of the castle. It's pretty long and dark, so it can seem pretty creepy going alone (if you're a fraidy cat like me), so what I did was wait til another group went first and I followed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went to case loam as part of the city pass and it was a great day I was captivated by all the information about the house and it's owner, I took a million pictures and got lost in time, it's a great attraction

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I love Casa Loma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The story is so romantic and the castle is breathtaking. I love the solarium best (I think). A real icon. Right in the middle of the city of Toronto

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Loma also viewed

 

Been to Casa Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Loma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.