We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Loma

Casa Loma
1 Austin Terrace | at Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5R 1X8, Canada
+1 416-923-1171
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Casa Loma like an insider
Special Offer
$72*
and up
Toronto CityPass
Ranked #24 of 614 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Edwardian castle, built at a cost of $3.5 Million (Canadian) in 1914, features turn-of-the-century luxuries and unique inventions.
Warwick, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We went unsure about the trip and it seemed rather costly and a little way to go. We were however bowled over by our visit. It was a fascinating visit, providing a real insight into the family whose home it had been and the changing face of Canada through that period. The audio guide (included) was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    767
    257
    53
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Casa Loma was awesome with lots to see and explore. Definitely take the audio tour it is very informative and puts things into perspective. The cost to get in is definitely a little pricey. But overall for a first time visit it was great. Close to subway as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay Area, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Opt for the free audio guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family (husband, senior mother, three girls ages 13,10,7; and I) enjoyed Casa Loma. No, it is not a castle in the traditional sense seeing that it wasn't built in the middle ages but it is an interesting trip all the same. We opted for the free hand held audio tour although there was a free tour going on because we could skip through whatever we weren't very interested in. The back story is sad but interesting and the kids liked the secret passages and the tower. Fun for the whole family for a very reasonable price if purchased with a City Pass.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really nice, love the guided tour ! This house (should be call a castle) is so pretty and incredible ! Have to see !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Toronto Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited Casa Loma during the week and there were not a lot of people so we could enjoy the visit without fighting crowds. A lot os locals say this is just like the castles of Europe, which is somewhat true. We liked it better because there was not the crush of people and we weren't constantly hassled to buy something. Lots of history here.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Loma also viewed

 

Been to Casa Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Loma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.