We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Choice of Accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McGill Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added McGill Inn B&B to your Saves list
McGill Inn B&B
110 McGill St., Toronto, Ontario M5B1H6, Canada (Formerly House on McGill) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 122 Toronto B&B and Inns
cabbiem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Choice of Accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My husband and I chose this accommodation in Toronto because it was centrally relocated (which it was). It was within easy walking distance to Yonge Street which is the heart of the city. It was also within easy access of the TTC subway, and easy access to connection services to almost any part of the city.

We stayed in the 'White Room' which was located in the basement of the property. The bed was comfortable and the room was decorated in a rather mondain fashion (rather like a batchelor pad than a guest room). We were also disappointed in the maintenance and cleanliness of the bathroom, it could have been much better. The shower stall basin was split and the shower head was leaking badly. The bathroom looked 'tired' and in need of TLC. The airconditioning system was rather noisy making it difficult to sleep. My husband also found that when using the guest house computer he got a virus sent to his email address and to others in his address book. In our opinion we thought that the computer security needed to be better.
The breakfast was of the continential fashion and entirely self service, which was fine.
After returning from a day trip and finding we accidently left the keys in our room we tried to contact the proprietor to get the spare key. Two numbers where called (one 'emergency' number and the other a mobile number) and still we couldnt get the proprietor - we ended up having to stay in a nearby hotel for the night. On the plus side of this matter we did get that night refunded by the owner.
Overall we liked the location best of all and least liked was the bathroom facilities (ie shower cleanliness and condition).
I would not consider staying at this accommodation again and we think if there was a maybe in the 'would you recommend.....' (below), it would be a better choice. Its not a place one could be romantic but rather a place to stop for the night and go.
The last mention has to go to the cat Jessie - adorable, friendly and very inviting.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
30
41
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

You may or may not even see your hosts during your stay. It is all organized so that you can let yourself in, take over room, and get your own breakfast. Perfect for the person who wants a homey place to stay, yet doesn't want to worry about when to get up because the host is waiting to cook you breakfast.
I saw four of the six rooms - they all looked good and were of a good size. One has a private bath, but there are two other baths for five rooms to share - never a problem to get in. Gorgeous fancy bathroom downstairs. Lots of coffee, juice, cereal, toast, cheese, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit for breakfast. Friendly cat roaming the house. TV in every room. Computer for guest use.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed in the McGill B&B for 3 weeks. It's nice victorian house with very beautiful rooms. The rooms are clean, comfortable and homely furnished.
The bathroom was clean and since today there is a brand new bathroom. Both bathrooms look really nice and are clean.
There is also a cosy living room with tv, computer and a lounge bench.
Every morning there was an extended breakfast (including cereals, toasted donuts/bread, muffins, sweet rolls, coffee, juice etcera).

The B&B is located in a quiet street, but in 100 meters you are in the main street of Toronto and close to the subway.

We would recommend this nice B&B to everyone who is looking for a stay in Toronto.
We really enjoyed here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We were visiting friends in Toronto in November and wanted to find a place downtown so that we could get to know the city a little better. The House on McGill was really charming. It's in a great location, near the center of the gay village and in walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and night spots. The self service breakfast buffet has something for everyone and is really great if you like to meet other travelers while you're in town. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable, even if the heat is a little of the warm side for my tastes. The owner, Dave, was really friendly and gave us lots of great tips about places to go and things to see. I'd definitely return for another visit the next time I'm in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We like to explore on foot so were pleased to be able to walk to galleries, shops, restaurants, museums and the new opera house. We arrived early on the first day and expected to just park luggage but were immediately offered our room which was ready for us. Conveniences such as local calls and good internet access were provided at no additional cost. Breakfast is conveniently self-serve with lots of choices. Our room, the White Room, was quiet and comfortable for sleeping, reading, watching the news. The adjoining bathroom is large enough to manoeuvre in and has a shower stall with reasonable spray. Our host could not have been more accommodating. He even offered to carry our luggage to and from our room. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

My partner and I enjoyed a couple of days at this central B&B and appreciated the simplicity and warmth of this unpretentiousness place. We wanted a place that was not a typical antiseptic hotel yet was within walking distance to the opera, art gallery, museum, etc. House on McGill was perfect. A small place on a residential street with numerous restaurants and other shops nearby. The host is accommodating and friendly, but not intrusive. The White Room with private bath was quite spacious with a lovely seating area in the south window, free internet, and just off the kitchen, so a morning coffee was steps away. We even had the Globe & Mail available. The place is clean and nicely decorated although a few features such as carpets are showing their wear.
I would definitely recommend this place for a convenient and pleasant stay for a few days in Toronto. If you want spa treatment and gourmet breakfasts, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Easy to find on arrival to downtown Toronto. Central location (which we did not realise at time of booking) which made access to subway and city very easy. Lovely tree lined street. Very cute back yard. Dave provided us with great instructions to get there, to get to our workplace and regarding travelling around Toronto. Yellow and white rooms lovely environment for sleeping (even with midnight visits from Miss Jessie! Great breakfast and lovely bathroom. Opportunity to mix with other travellers in an informal way made for long and leisurly breakfast. Thanks Dave and Jessie! We had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to McGill Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGill Inn B&B

Address: 110 McGill St., Toronto, Ontario M5B1H6, Canada (Formerly House on McGill)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your McGill Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House On Mcgill Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGill Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.