We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant in Toronto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner House - CLOSED

Corner House
501 Davenport Road, Toronto, Ontario M4V 1B8, Canada
(416) 923-2604
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: We are at Dupont Subway (just below Casa Loma) a four minute walk from subway.
North America
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

In our opinion, this place is excellent. So far, all the dishes we ate were cooked just right, delicious & tasty, from appetizers to main course and deserts. Scallops were cooked to perfection, one of the best scallops dish we have had.
This restaurant is below Casa Loma. Restaurant has many small rooms on the main floor and second floor.
Service was great, staff were friendly, cosy & comfortable, therefore, we have only praises to convey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was my second time to this wonderful restaurant, and it won't be the last. It scores on all levels, including the cuisine, the ambience and service. I had the seafood platter for 2 and the Lamb and both were well presented and very tasty. The setting is also wonderful just below the castle.
I can't wait to go in the summer and dine outside as well. This is my favourite place to dine in Toronto, as it is consistent. I think I've read that it's the most romantic restaurant, in Toronto, and in my opinion it should be higher on the rating scale of top places in Toronto!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Perfect pre-theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

An early pre-theater reservation produced a fine performance. Service was friendly and efficient but not rushed. We were out in plenty of time but didn't feel hurried. Prix fixe had good choices for all. My prosciutto and arugula salad, roast Cornish hen with winter vegetables, and sticky toffee pudding were just what they should be; other enjoyed the steak and vegetarian selections.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Walk on by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After 20 years of walking by we decide to give it a try. It is a nice urban setting in an old house. That we know. That the service was somewhat clumsy and needed prompting was unfortunate but not a dinner stopper. To test the kitchen we ordered a special and from the menu. The special was old and busy; that was unfortunate. The ala carte was properly done albeit a little busy as well. The wine list was fine. Dessert was fine. But for the price I expect better than fine. We will continue to walk on by.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowdale, Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It is on the corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

You definitely need reservations for this place. It's been around for a long long time. Very small and intimate. Perfect for couples rather than large groups. Perfect for proposing to the love of your life.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.