We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryerson Student Residence

Ryerson Student Residence
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Ryerson Student Residence
Save Saved
You added Ryerson Student Residence to your Saves list
160 Mutual St., Toronto, Ontario M5B 2M2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Spot on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. The room was dead on, as was the bathroom. Had a sofa and tv too.

Breakfast was included in the deal, and there was free internet in the lobby.

A less than 5 minutes walk brought you to the Eaton Centre on Yonge Street.

Overall, if you are looking for clean and cheap accomodation in Toronto I would definately recommend Ryerson.

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

This is by far the best deal you can get in downtown Toronto. My friends and I booked a four-room suite which had four little dorm rooms, two bathrooms (4-piece and 2-piece), kitchen and sitting area for only $89 a night -- for the whole thing!

Let's be realistic here, this isn't a four-star hotel, and nor should you expect it to be. What you can expect is a clean, quiet, secure place to stay in the middle of downtown Toronto.

There is a 24-hour grocery store a block away, but if you need any extras such as a hair dryer or an iron, you'd best to bring them yourself.

This time I stayed at Pitman Hall and the year before I stayed at the ILLC (they're across the street from each other) and both were fine.

  • Liked — Great value for your money
  • Disliked — One of my drawers wouldn't stay shut
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

I love Toronto and have been trying to find economical alternatives to hotels since I began going there. Ryerson was NOT all i expected - small room with a regular bed, pullout, desk, closet-type unit, dresser, tv, bath, phone, but everything was so tightly packed into the room that when the pullout was out there was really no walking or standing room. Items weren't new but decent. Bath tub/shower needed unclogging (water gathered when i showered), but this is a dorm type facility that maintenance probably hadn't gotten around to yet, but it was a great deal. Hated the fact that there was no pool and only 1 computer in the lobby. Food was decent. Safe deposit box at desk came in handy. The location makes up for everything though. We walked to eaton, subway, buses, etc. It's at the heart of everything. Bad side...not close to beach and you have to pay fee to use the campus pool/rec center.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room, no pool
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2005

I've stayed at this hotel every summer for 3 years, and have already made reservations to return this coming July. I've read the other reviews and feel it has to be pointed out, the rooms cost around $100 a night, high-season downtown Toronto.

While other hotels just blocks away are charging over $200 even over $300 for their rooms, this place is a great deal!

You can't expexct the world for $100, but if you shop around, and compare prices, you'll see this place has them beat! The hotel is entirely run by students who are training to work in the hotel industry, so you have to expect a little roughness around the edges.

The bottom line is this hotel is VERY inexpensive, the rooms are very modest but include the essentials (bed, telephone, cable TV, private washroom, alarm radio, air conditioning) and is a great outlet for new students to enter the hotel industry. At $100 a night, you can't expect the Four Seasons, and at the same time, these kids to a better job than many Ramada's and Howard Johnson's I've stayed at in my time. If you're ona budget, this is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2005

My daughter stayed at Ryerson for the month of July - she was part of the National Ballet Summer School Program which uses Ryerson as their housing. When I went for a visit my daughter complained they would not give her a plug for her bathtub. As she was dancing everyday she wanted to soak in the tub. When I went to the lobby to ask for a plug they said due risk of students committing suicide they could not allow the rooms to have plugs. Give me a break, if someone wanted to hurt themselves they could think of other ways than a tub. I was very upset with this rule, talked to many people at Ryerson but they would not allow a plug under any circumstances. When I went to the store and bought my daughter a plug, the cleaning staff took it away. Come on Ryerson, if you are advertising tubs in rooms then let the guests use the tubs!!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2005

This place is amateurish in every way. The front desk had no change for a dollar. The clerk told me they accepted American dollars for payment, then when I checked out they said they didn't. It took them an hour to scrounge up an ironing board, and I carried it back to the lobby myself because they seemed so incompetent by that point I figured they'd lose it and then try to charge me for it. Not worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2005

This student residence used to be the Hotel Ibis, and therefore its rooms are actual hotel rooms.

Queen size beds, pull-out sofa, desk, cable TV, closet, full bathroom which is actually quite large.

I stay here during the summer, often during Gay Pride week and its proximity to the village is great! Furthermore, the price can't be beat! I can usually stay at or around $100. In June, July and August in downtown Toronto you can't beat that price!

The rooms are clean, the entire staff are Ryerson University students and they are all very friendly. Can walk to the Eaton Centre in 5 minutes, there is a 24hr Dominion Grocery Store across the street and indoor parking just beneath the hotel.

No cinder block walls indicative of student residences anywhere in sight! Just a great find and an even better deal!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryerson Student Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryerson Student Residence

Address: 160 Mutual St., Toronto, Ontario M5B 2M2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 450
Also Known As:
Ryerson Student Residence Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryerson Student Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.