We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All about location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Room was okay. Seemed a bit aged. The location could not be beat. Subway, TTC, right under hotel. Requested extra towels (there were four people in room) and they never came, but the night manager was very helpful and kind. Lobby nothing special. No free internet in room. Probably would have rated hotel a bit lower if I paid for it, but we used points, so it was worth the location alone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    293
    103
    28
    31
See reviews for
108
185
64
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I was thinking this was going to be like any other 4 star Mariott in an Urban centre, but I was so wrong. It is in a great location and if you are looking to drop a couple grand on bloor west, you are two minute walk away from making your bank account weep. All the staff were very courteous and helpful. The rooms were your typical 270 sqft, "contemorary beds" with a chair and a plasma tv. The restaurant was a little cheesy, but had pretty good food and was very convenient. All in all, this hotel is very nice. WIll it compare to the "regency, luxury, and elegance," the hyatt, four seasons, or Hazelton Hotel will offer, but its a great alternative for the same location, while putting $150+ in your pocket per night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Looking around Toronto hotels that were less than $200 a night was challenging since we were looking for a nice, comfortable place to stay for three nights. With my AAA discount, a double bed room at the Marriott turned out to cost $143 which was outstanding. When we first arrived, they told us that they were sold out for the weekend and directed us to a room on the first floor with a courtyard view. I wasn't too pleased about that since I requested a top floor with a street view, but after a long trip, I just wanted to settle in. Well, once we saw the room, it was obvious that it had yet to be cleaned and that someone had just checked out. I immediately called the front desk and asked them to send us to another room. They apologized profusely for the mistake and sent us to an upper floor room with a view and for our trouble, the great staff person at the front desk gave us complimentary wi-fi and free breakfast at Matisse for our full stay! Needless to say, they more than made up for the inconvenience. The rooms are immaculate, the beds incredibly comfortable and the flat screen LCD was great. Everyone on the staff was friendly and courteous and I could not have been more pleased about my stay. The only complaint would be the parking, which is expensive. The location of the hotel is great and we found that getting around was super easy. No need to even use the subway (which is directly below the hotel). I am a Marriott customer for life now and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We got a great deal via hotwire.com. We traveled with another couple for a weekend getaway and didn't particularly care about the hotel, as long as it was 4 star. We were pleasantly surprised by the Marriott Bloor.

Parking - this was a challenge. One of the lots was closed, but the lot under the hotel was relatively inexpensive for city parking for the weekend. Once we parked, we left the car and used the subway. If you have seen the construction on Bloor, you will not want to do much driving, either!

Service - I was a little frustrated upon check in. They could not accommodate a request for two beds and, frankly, I was a little anxious from the long drive. The ladies at the desk took great care of us. One offered complimentary breakfast at Matisse simple because "they want to see happy people at their hotel." By the way - the breakfast and service was great. Cute little place.

The gym facilities were beyond my expectations. Several of each machine and multiple tvs.

Overall, the rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and location was convenient to the subway, restaurants, and high end shopping. We were pleased with our experience, especially with the value we got using hotwire.com.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

The front desk was continually incompetent, through the full five days, from check in to check out. They confused the reservation, they confused the kind of room, they had never seen Marriott rewards members before, it seemed.
It took me more time to check in and be finished with them and finally have my room to settle into, than it did to fly there. The attitude was always: prepare for disappointment. Many of them used the same phrase: "I'll tell you what I can and cannot do": to the most standard request: such as: here is my guaranteed reservation.
I have stayed hundreds of nights at Marriotts and this was the worst front desk service I have ever encountered. Actually, I had to stand in line behind other customers who were having similar problems with the front desk. The staff could be heard discussing the customers, it seems they did not like the customers' attitudes.
Even when some managers tried to address problems, the solutions were lost by the next shift and everything had to start from zero; or again there would be someone new who couldn't work the solution and would start back off again with: "Let me tell you what I can and cannot do".
The TV did not work and it took several hours to fix.
The concierge level offered minimal breakfast selections, and did not have "snacks all day". Very limited offerings.
The elevators were extremely slow, many people waiting for them, and after five minutes waiting for the elevator, people would start to chat, all with the same concerns: the extremely cold rooms, the very poor and intermittent internet service.
The only plus side: the room cleaning service and room service personnel were friendly, efficient, very good at their jobs. All the problems relate to management and the front desk.
Location was superb, but so is the location of many downtown hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

The hotel doesn't have much to offer in terms of design features or "experience". One thing they can do is to get fast internet so people can get their work done.
When that doesn't work, there is little point of staying there. If you don't need fast internet, the place is OK... rooms are large, TV is there, gym is bigger than one would expect...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dighton, MA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

we actually stayed here on a comp through marriott rewards. Staff was excellent! We stayed in room 631 view of courtyard, well appointed room . 42" TV , nicely decorated room, refrigerator, nice bathroom too. I believe it was recently renovated. Garage was $26.55/day with in & out privaleges... WELL WORTH IT! We stayed over on thursday nite checked in at noon and left at 9am. Staff was very friendly, turn down service at nite was nice. This place is alot nicer than the Courtyard Marriott on Yonge St. (Stayed theire 3 times) The only thing missing was a swimming pool. There is a nice concierge lounge on 6th floor that provides breakfast in morning and snacks all day long! If the price is right I'd go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Business Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville located in Yorkville, Toronto's downtown fashionable shopping, dining and entertainment quarter offers a Toronto hotel with direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway and features newly renovated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.