We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, Great Deal, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, Great Deal, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I'm normally pretty picky when it comes to hotels and accomodations. After we were able to pick up the hotel off Priceline for $118, we weren't expecting what we got...

First off, we showed up early, and I figured there was no way of an early check-in (noon), but to my surprise, the very friendly woman at the desk found us a room within minutes and we were checked in very quckly.

The room is very large for the price we paid. The room has been beautifully renovated recently, with a very stylish bathroom. 40" Plasma screen, and wireless internet.

The location of the hotel is as good as it gets for Yorkville.

We will definitely be returning to the hotel any time we need to be in that area!

Make sure you do some looking through the different online sites and get yourself a good bargain. It is well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    305
    110
    29
    32
See reviews for
112
195
64
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

The only downside is that you have to go down to the lobby to get a free wireless connection. This surprises me because most hotels have free wireless or wired connection in their rooms. Maybe this could be their next upgrade. A young lady at the front desk was totally stressed out but she did her best to give us a good service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

The hotel's location is the big selling point for this property. It is right above one of Toronto's busy subway stations and surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Inside there is a pleasant enough lobby and adjacent to it the Matisse restaurant. Having said all this however I have to say that my stay wasn't as pleasant as I would have liked. When comparing it to stays at the Marriott Copenhagen and the Jw Marriot Grand Lakes orlando, it fell a bit short of expectations. I'm a Marriott rewards member and generally favour this chain above the others for its customer service across properties but at this stay it was not up to par. I am a blind guest who requires a tad more attention when staying at a hotel and while this Marriott did assist me; I felt like I was being tolerated rather then being viewed as a valued guest. My room although large was a room for a wheelchair user; I guess blind/ wheelchair its all a disability to the front desk and gave me this room. I in turned asked for a regular room but when I said I was staying only one night, the manager stated the hotel was full. Yeah right, maybe so but as a Marriott rewards member they could have tried a little harder. There was nothing really wrong with the room but I would have prefered a bathtub rather then a walk in shower. Other then that minor quibble the room was comfortable and rather large. It had two sitting areas, two queen size beds, the vaunted 42 inch flat screen TV I didn't actually measure it and even a fridge which I had requested prier to arriving. It also had the plate of chocolate truffles and fruit which I requested prier as well. I guess for one night it wasn't bad. There was also a coffee maker and safe which were easy to use even for someone who is completely blind.

I had a great meal at the restaurant Matisse which was rather quite affordable. My waiter offered to read the menu although by his tone it sounded like he wasn't thrilled to do so. The restaurant wasn't full at all so I wasn't holding him up in any way. It was the little things like these that really got to me. When i requested an escort upon chekc out, I was told I had to wait and to call back in ten minutes. Screw that and headed out myself. I wanted to try the fitness centre but time did not permit that in the end. I was told it was good with a sauna and changing facilities. Check out was a tad frustrating as the woman couldnt' get her printer to work. I merely wanted the bill read out to me and have each charge itemized. I did get this in the end. I guess to sum it up, while there was customer service it felt it was carried out by automatons rather then flesh and blood employees who were happy to be working in this profession. I would recommend this hotel if nothing else for the location but don't expect much. Maybe the second time round will be a diffrent experience for me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

pros:
room was much more than expected and it had pretty much everything.

cons:
pricey
rooms service screwed up breakfast
location & parking a mess (construction may have contributed to the problem)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel the beginning of August for a weekend. The location is brilliant, right over a Mall and the subway..I would suggest Tim Hortons right around the block for coffee!! Delicious..We were on the 5th floor and the room was large and very very clean..One King sized bed with great flat screen TV..

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. but one note is that there is some major construction going on at the moment that can be a little troublesome but will be over with soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

A little gem in Yorkville, a delightful Toronto neighborhood with lovely cafes, restaurants and shopping. Excellent service and warm, attentive staff. Large rooms. Surprisingly good restaurant. Wonderful location. Excellent (although pricey) internet connection in room. Overall, a great value.

Only drawback: construction in the neighborhood and right in front of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

This was my first visit to Toronto and this hotel was very nice. I normally stay at Marriott properties when vacationing (just a personal preference), and this hotel was definitely up to par. It was very clean and stylish on the inside. It is located right above the subway, which can be a bit noisy at times but is great for getting around. It wasn't too bad though- I didn't lose any sleep:). The staff was superb!!! Very personable and informative. Thanks Wayne and Geoff! Overall this hotel has a great location, great staff, and nice clean rooms. I didn't try the restaurant, although it looked nice. There are so many great spots within walking distance and the subway is right there if you need to get anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville located in Yorkville, Toronto's downtown fashionable shopping, dining and entertainment quarter offers a Toronto hotel with direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway and features newly renovated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Marriott so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.