We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night - ok, but missed not having a pool and hotub.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stayed one night - ok, but missed not having a pool and hotub.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Stayed one night - ok, but missed not having a pool and hotub.

booked on Priceline for $55US

Parking - Before I arrived i called the hotel to ask about parking - they told me the only paking available is Valet for $27 a day. They did not tell me there is a parking garage which can be accessed underground right next to the hotel. I was surprized it only cost me $10 for a 24 hour period. It is a little confusing to find your way but there is a door from the underground shopping area to the hotel.

We toured around using the subway system - worked out good only $9.00 for a day pass for 2 people

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    293
    103
    28
    31
See reviews for
108
184
64
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanata, ON
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

This past Saturday I had a very pleasant stay at the Marriott in Yorkville. Usually when I stay in this area, I stay at the Intercontinental but the Marriott I found to be more welcoming.

I believe the hotel had just received an extra AAA star to bring it up to a four star property. I think the service was great and was part of the reason for the upgraded rating.

I opted to go with valet parking for the weekend which gave me the flexibility to come and go as I please. The fee is $30 which is quite standard for central Toronto.

The best part of the hotel is the location. There is a subway station in the same building and a shopping mall. There is also a great many of high-end boutiques on Bloor St. and in the Yorkville area. You should be able to reach everything on foot unless heading further south to the Theatre district or Eaton Centre. In the warmer months, you could reach the South attractions in the city in about 20 minutes.

One thing that I thought was great about the hotel was the pet-friendly policy. This was the first time I had brought my cocker spaniel with me on a leisure trip and the staff made me feel very welcome! Most hotels (I assume) that are pet-friendly allow pets but would rather not have them on the property. The desk staff and housekeepers all stopped to pet my dog and all seemed genuinely happy to see him.

There is a non-refundable fee of $50 for small dogs, which is valid for the duration of the stay. I think this price is fair, as the alternative of putting him in a boarding facility would have been even more expensive for the two days. I would say that if you have a dog, the Marriott is a great option!

The room was very large and clean with a mundane view of adjacent buildings. The TV is a standard 25" unit and the washroom was nicely appointed in marble.

The bed, was not as great as other four star properties I have visited and I found that the largest pillows should have been smaller. Other than that, I had a good night sleep. The other thing I noticed was how nice the housekeeping staff was. Whenever I left my room to go for a walk with my dog, they would all give me the biggest smiles and say hello. I thought they were very nice!

There is also a business centre on the first floor if you need to connect to check email etc. I believe there were two computers and then two extra spots to hook up your own laptop.

I would say that Marriott is a great option due to the outstanding location and warm service. The interior falls a little below the standards for a 4 star rating but would not deter me from staying here on a future trip.

  • Liked — Location and friendly service.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Mi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

We checked in on Friday evening and were able to get upgraded to an Executive Suite. The room was nice and clean and the location of the hotel was great. The bathroom is very small for a suite type room. The Marriott beds were great as usual.

I stay in Marriott Hotels a lot.

Before we left we unpacked and put everything away and realized that there was no safe in the room. I took my jewlery with me when we left the room but we left both of our laptops out on the desk top and my digital camera in my luggage with the zipper closed. When we returned from dinner the room had been turned down.

The next morning I went to get my camera as we were going to visit some different areas of Toronto and I wanted to make pictures. The camera was gone. It was not a brand new camera but one of the original Canon Elf models. I called the front desk and told them the camera was missing and that we had looked in all of our luggage, in the car and torn the room apart. The young lady at the front desk checked with housekeeping and security and told me that no camera had been turned in. I stated again that I hadn't lost it but that I felt it had been taken. I asked that it be reported.

At no point would they send anyone up to take a report. I was told no manager was available. I asked what else I could do but all that was offered was that she was sure it wasn't taken that if housekeeping had found it they would have put it on the desk. I know that I didn't lose the camera because I never removed it from the room. I know it was still in my luggage when I left the room....I saw it before I left. I cannot believe that this hotel didn't care enough to even send someone up to take a report. I doubt I will ever stay at this Marriott again. This is not typical treatment by a Marriott.

If you do stay here be careful and don't leave anything of value in your room.

I am in the travel business and I don't think I would recommend staying here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Camera got stolen
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

I had a great long weekend at the Marriott Bloor Yorkville Oct. 25-28.
The hotel is located on the north end of downtown Toronto (also called Midtown or Yorkville), at the major crossroads of Bloor and Yonge streets, steps away from the high-end shopping of Bloor and the cute Euro-esque Yorkville neighborhood. The location is great for all purposes - the hotel is connected to the Bay shopping concourse, which includes the Bay department store along with hundreds of other shops and eateries. The Bloor-Yonge TTC subway station - with access to two subway lines - is right underneath the hotel, with indoor access.
The lobby is small and understatedly elegant, with soothing earth tones everywhere. The spacious rooms are very Marriott - not particularly character-filled but attractive and uber-comfortable. The Marriott beds with the cloud-like mattresses and multiple pillows will make you not want to get out of bed.
The marble bathrooms are large and nice, with the usual Marriott bath products and thoughtful extras such as cotton balls and Q-tips.
My only complaint was the labrynthine hallway layout for the rooms. I swear my room was a mile from the elevators!!
I didn't use room service or hotel restaurants because of the wealth of great dining experiences in the multicultural wonderland that is Toronto. The direct subway access allows you to quickly get to the city's many fascinating 'hoods, including the lively Annex just to the west (that's the college neighborhood bordering the Univ. of Toronto), the edgier Queen Street West neighborhood, or the carnival-like cheese and sleaze of central Yonge Street north of the Eaton Center.
And at $61 per night on Priceline, the Marriott was an absolute steal. A great hotel in a fun and fab city.

  • Liked — Location and the amazing value for the high quality of rooms
  • Disliked — long walks from the elevators to the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

We stayed overnight at the Marriott Toronto Bloor Yorkville on September 21, 2007 while in Toronto to see the Beastie Boys at Air Canada Centre. I named my own price on Priceline & got a very nice room for $55. The hotel location is excellent; there is a subway station right next door to the hotel (Bloor-Younge line). it is also connected to the PATH [--] which is an underground walk way with shops & restaurants. Taking the subway to the Union Station stop to get to the Air Canada Centre couldn’t have been easier.

The hotel has a parking garage connected to it offering self parking or valet. We went with self parking which cost $10 a day. Finding your way from the parking garage to the hotel lobby can be confusing, it felt like we were walking through a maze as there were no signs on the walls or doors telling us which direction to go.

Upon check in we were treated very well by Bryan (it’s been my experience when booking a room through Priceline or Hotwire that you aren’t treated that great & are given one of the older rooms). However, Bryan treated us very well; he upgraded our room from 1 king bed to 2 queen beds with no problems (there were 3 of us traveling) & gave us a very nice room (room 105). He also gave us a map of the area & showed us how to get to the Air Canada Centre from the hotel.

Our room was very spacious & clean with updated, modern décor. The bathroom had a nice granite sink, plenty of extra towels & a hairdryer. Complimentary items included: A newspaper, coffee maker with coffee & teas; Bath & Body Works Orange Ginger Aromatherapy toiletries – lotion, shampoo & conditioner; a shoe mitt, shower cap, a little baggie of Qtips & cotton balls, and 2 bars of soap. One bathrobe was also available for use. We all had a great nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable! Our room also had a TV inside a console, a desk, & 2 chairs & a table (with a few local magazines) near the window; the view from the window was a pleasant garden walk way. In room internet access was available for a fee (we didn’t use it so I’m not sure of the cost), a business center was also located on our floor but we didn’t use it either so I cannot provide information on it.

Before heading to the B Boys show we took a walk down Younge Street (which is next to the hotel) & grabbed a bite to eat - there are many shops, restaurants & bars on Younge Street, all within walking distance of the hotel. If you are staying in Toronto for a few days I highly recommend getting a subway Day Pass ($8.50 CAD) which is good for 24 hours of unlimited subway & street car transportation. [--]

The Marriott Toronto Bloor Yorkville is a great hotel, in an excellent location. I was very satisfied with our stay. I would recommend this hotel to others & I would stay there again. If you’re looking for some fun, unique shopping I recommend going to Queen Street West (between University & Spadina). And as I’ve recommended in my other Toronto reviews, I highly suggest taking the street car up to College St. to my favorite Italian restaurant, Cafe Diplomatico (594 College St @ Clinton [--]) you'll love it! We make a point to eat there every time we’re in Toronto. Enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — The location, comfortable beds & great front desk staff!
  • Disliked — There should be signs directing you from the parking garage to the main lobby, it can be confusing.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

I have not been to this hotel previous to its renovation so I cannot comment on what it looked like before.

Pluses:
Rooms were very nice and what I had expected from a Marriott hotel. The granite (or granite inspired) sink area with its mirrored shelves were also nice touch.
The Concierge Lounge is managed in the evening by a girl named Joanne who was very nice and gave lots of great tips for around the city.
Since the hotel is connected to both The Bay shopping area and has direct access to both Hertz and Avis rental cars. Very convienent.

Minuses:
The set up of room was not fully thought through. The desk is perpendicular to the television that is hidden inside the television armoire. So you can't watch TV and work at the desk unless the desk is wheeled to where you can see it. BUT, then the phone with speaker function and provided internet cable is so short that you can't bring that along. I had to find a sweet spot where the phone could sit on one edge of the desk and my laptop could be at the other so I could see the TV. Lastly, if you're in the Inner ring of rooms, your views are all of other guests windows. On top of that, the windows were somewhat opaque, so even in midday, with the sun fully shining, the room was abnormally dark. Needless to say, I kept my curtains shut the whole time with all the lights on.

The downstairs restaurant was disappointing. Hotel dining is usually a big hit or miss. In this case, it was a miss. The room service is from the same kitchen, and although they were kind enough to make me something that wasn't on the menu (a BLT) even that came out disappointing. (How do you mess up a BLT?)

All in all, it was a nice hotel with a nice room. Little problems in room design and lighting. Skip the restaurant. You're in Toronto. Go get find some great food in the city.

  • Liked — Location, Concierge girl, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hotel Restaurant/Room Service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

This was my second stay at this Marriott. The first time was in late July 2001. This hotel has done a world of remodeling especially to the bathroom. No longer are the hallways "cold" and warm (temperature). I booked a group of rooms (8) for a weekend during the Caribana Festival 2007. My party told me their rooms were good and above all "clean". For this property, its "location - location - location". Every thing was within walking distance. The hotel staff was all new from the last time I was there and "more friendly". The only drawback was this Marriot does not have a pool. Since we were only going to be there two days, it didn't matter.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel

Address: 90 Bloor Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4W 1A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Business Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville located in Yorkville, Toronto's downtown fashionable shopping, dining and entertainment quarter offers a Toronto hotel with direct access to the Yonge and Bloor subway and features newly renovated guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.