We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had this place near us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Lawrence Market

St. Lawrence Market
92-95 Front St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1C3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-392-7219
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$38*
and up
Small-Group Toronto Beer Tour
Ranked #6 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Architectural Buildings, Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Once housing city hall, this Victorian building is surrounded by other historically significant architectural gems.
Horseheads, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wish we had this place near us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We got up early to head over to the market before it got busy. I fell in love as soon as I walked in. There is a market just like this in Barcelona that we went to and this reminded me of it. This place has everything but make sure and shop around because the prices are not all the same and you can save yourself some money by looking around first before buying. We had a peameal bacon sandwich which was fantastic and we bought some bread and cheeses. We were however disappointed that they didn't have the really good cheese curds that we had in Canada before. i wish we could have brought back (to the USA) some meats and produce but we had to just dream about how good the meats would have tasted.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,899
    1,194
    304
    37
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Interesting with different purveyors of meat seafood and produce. Has sellers for many kitschy time wares but is worth visiting at least once.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very cool market. Authentic and real. Makes Granville Island in Vancouver look like a wanna be knock off. Interesting, cool coffee shops...a good morning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than average but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a well structure, fine market but I suppose I was expecting something super special. We ate the famous peameal bacon sandwiches which were good and bought some other bits and pieces. They have an amazing array of cheeses if you love cheese like I do. But aside from that nothing new or special considering it was rated number 1 market in the world by National Geographic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great downtown market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The markets are easy to get and and fabulous to wander through. The variety of the produce is diverse and the added bonus is you get lots of great Canadian produce such as seafood like salmon, oysters and scallops as well as peameal bacon and of course, maple syrup!
If you're a tourist, you're going to want your own kitchen in Toronto to take your loot to and tuck into asap!
In the summer months especially, Toronto puts on events just near the markets (on Front St) which means you can get a two for one trip :) eg Buskerfest, Woofstock

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Lawrence Market also viewed

 

Been to St. Lawrence Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Lawrence Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.