We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardiner Museum

Gardiner Museum
111 Queen's Park | At Bloor St., Toronto, Ontario M5S 2C7, Canada
416-586-8080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 308 attractions in Toronto
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This famous museum houses a wide variety of works ranging from pre-Columbian times to the 20th century.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Well where to start? If you like porcelain and ceramics this museum is the must - the best collection of early Dutch and English Delft I have seen, Italian majolica, amazing early Meissen, good selection of English factories from the l8th century. I was thrilled to see such a wonderful collection - do go - even my daughter who is not really into ceramics enjoyed it - by the way it is also a very well laid out museum with air conditioning (It was 100 when we were there in June)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic displays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful modern and clean setting, with a variety of beautiful displays ranging from dishes to statues and everything in between. Certainly worth checking out.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bezeq
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not enthralling but for the cognoscenti”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Hoi polloi (like me) are unlikely to rave over the Gardiner Museum anytime soon.
The place hasn't changed radically since my last visit a couple of years ago. Same old, same old.
Some of the exhibits might have been seen at the Royal Ontario Museum across the street, whose fees have dropped significantly to just $15 for adults. So the Gardiner would be a hard sell.
Unfortunately, we were a week early for the Rule Britannia special exhibition--perhaps that might lend a bit of a kick by way of patriotism.
Perhaps telling was the fact that the museum security kept herself awake the whole time we were there seated, reading a book, and flashing a really pleasant smile at the occasional visitor who walked by.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Classes & Instructors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Purchased membership as kids took really excellent classes with very professional instructors and went to summer camp. Very professional, beautiful and calming environment

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

One of my favourite museums in the city. If the big ROM intimidates you or you don't want to run into scores of children, cross the street to this place.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardiner Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gardiner Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardiner Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gardiner Museum to your Saves list