We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wander around here all day, if you like” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloor West Village

Bloor West Village
Bloor St. W. | (between Jane St. and Runnymede Road), Toronto, Ontario M6S1N8, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 614 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Neighborhood with excellent schools and a popular playground particularly attractive to families with children.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wander around here all day, if you like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is the kind of neighborhood that's probably best to visit without an active 8-year-old boy with you. You'll find a great mix of people and places and things to discover. I love visiting all the shops, grabbing coffee or lunch, and just strolling through. But it's nicest when you don't have to worry about anyone else and can just mosey along at your own pace.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    72
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
“Sunny day fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Bloor West Village is a hub of activity immediately east of High Park. It is reached easily by bus or subway from downtown. Here is what you may enjoy....

1. It is a lived in area and not designed as a tourist destination. Locals live, eat, and shop here.
2. It is not stuffy. While the village is trending more upper class, the main shopping street along Bloor has everything from Tim Horton's and McDonald's to high end specialty shops.
3. There is a laid back neighborhood night life, with a few good relaxing bars and pubs.
4. It is adjacent to High Park, which is huge, beautiful, and offers a range of things to enjoy, especially in warmer months.
5. Parking, although it is all pay parking before nine p.m., is fairly easy.
6. There are a number of good places to eat, though I am not sure that a truly signature chef or restaurant has found the Village yet.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My local shopping strip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Even though I live very near by, I still like this strip for everyday shopping as well as for special events. I can shop for flowers, cruise the many good clothing stores, stock up on fancy food or save on bulk food items, and then cool off with a pint of bitter and a burgers, or sushi or Thai food. There are also local amenities such as a couple of bookstores, several jewellers, banks, cell phone providers, shoe stores and home decor shops.

I love that there are few chain stores and the local Polish/Ukrainian flavor can still be seen in the delis and bakeries. I can spend half a day just cruising the shops or meeting friends for a nice meal. Lots of parking and easy to access from the subway.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I poked around all the fancy stores for the afternoon. I went in August, so the sales were tremendous. Everyone I encountered in this neighborhood were friendly and had something interesting to say.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Nice place to visit: food, shopping, beauty, love this area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Beautiful area home for Ukranian, Polish and Canadian god food, shopping, parks and old huses, greens and flowers. I just love Blor West Village and also visit Old Mill. Must visit place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloor West Village also viewed

 

Been to Bloor West Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloor West Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.