We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATİON” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Downtown Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toronto Downtown Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Toronto Downtown Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
57 Chicora Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M4X1M7, Canada (The Annex)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Majorca, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“LOCATİON”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The stuff was friendly .. the rooms was good and clean and quiet "modern".. its a very good place for backpackers . . Lastly the location is the best thing in the hostel.breakfast very nice and delicious

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ok, so I finally registered on TripAdvisor. Thank James for that...

We stayed at the Downtown B&B for an extended week-end in October. The situation is perfect, smack downtown, walking distance to subway, easily reached from anywhere. The B&B has all you need, and more. For a short visit or an extended stay, you really can make this your home in Toronto. The hosts are great, helpful and give you advice on how to get around in town. We also enjoyed the interesting exchanges we had with other guests during breakfast, again, a great opportunity to share your impressions and insider tips on the town.

Try for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The appartment suite is great and very well furnished, however, might be a little noisier than the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wow. Fantastic experience staying for business overnight before a flight heading out East. Decor is refreshingly contemporary and clean. Staff are great. Rooms are fabulous, quiet and great views of the airport area. Every detail was well thought out from the extra lighting in the work area in the room to an adequate number of electrical outlets to satisfy all recharging needs. Workout facilities were clean, every machine was working and I appreciated the granny smith apple in the gym facility. Proximity to the Viscount train was only steps away. Perfect! Absolutely nothing negative to say. Wish I didn't have to leave and just one question! When are you expanding????? We want more alts please :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

the owners are incredibly warm and hospitable. the place is not impersonal like a hotel and the owners would go out of their way to make customized food based on your dietary restrictions/ choices. the rooms are reasonably priced and the food delicious. however, it is a bit distant from the downtown, well-connected by public transit though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

What and amazing place, run by the most amazingly warm and generous people we have ever had the good fortune of meeting. Rog and Jim made our honeymoon complete, they offered a warm homely atmosphere, fantastic food (i still have holiday belly guys) and a service that you just can not find anywhere else. The best thing we gained however were friends for life. They really did complete our honeymoon even if you did get me drunk only two hours after arriving. Nothing is ever too much of a stretch for these guys, they make you feel important and cared for and you can tell they take pride in every aspect of the services they provide. Thankyou for a wonderful time guys, we cant wait to come back again xxxxxxxx

  • Liked — Roger and Jim make this guest house what it is
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

I returned home from Toronto yesterday and it is with such a mix of feelings that I write this. TDBB has been my home away from home ever since I stumbled across it three and a half years ago. My favorite B&B of all time. And now they are making a change. A good change for them, but oh how I will miss 57 Chicora. The warmth and humor and deep belly caring that Rog and Jim supplied, not just me, but all of their guests, was like a tonic to this tired traveller. Not to mention the amazing breakfasts, the wine and extravagant cheese trays, the fantastic linens, and of course one cannot mention the TDBB without an honerable mention of the Lemon drop martinis! Or...as Jim and Rog like to say..."Truth serum." I've told many secrets on that sofa of theirs and have been privilaged to hear many other peoples stories as well. Howling with laughter, even over that sad stories that lose their sting when shared.
They have come to my book readings. Not just the ones in Toronto, they even managed to attend the one in Victoria when they were there on vacation. They just hosted the most amazing party for my daughter's University graduation, in their home. I feel truly blessed to have met Jim and Rog and am grateful to tripadvisor for steering me in their direction. My life is fuller for having met them, stayed with them, and for the good fortune of experiancing their special warmth and friendship. Of course I will stay in their new B&B. And I recommend that anyone with half a brain does so as well. Rog and Jim, I love you, my family does too. Best of luck with the new place! With love, Meg Tilly

  • Liked — the wonderful, gracious hosts
  • Disliked — taxis would sometimes get lost finding it
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Our second time staying with Jim & Roger and once again we found nothing but the best. Their hospitality extends beyond that of other hoteliers. They go all out 110% to look after you all the way and for that alone you get your money's worth, not forgetting Jim's superb food fayre and the banter to be shared with both of them on the return 'home' from a day's sightseeing. Their passion and pride in sharing their home have captured in our heart's a very special place for the City of Toronto. Nothing short of fantastic!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Downtown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Downtown Bed & Breakfast

Address: 57 Chicora Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M4X1M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > The Annex
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently not accepting reservations. "The Ritz-Carlton of B&Bs, this place is among the most inviting in North America. Steps from Yorkville, this three-room Victorian is an intimate respite from the sometimes maddeningly stylish environs. Walls are washed in serene shades of fawn and pewter gray, fine-china breakfasts are fortifying adventures, and, accommodatingly, hosts will be as coddling or laissez-faire as you wish." National Geographic Traveler magazine, April 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Downtown Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Downtown Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.