We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eaton Chelsea to your Saves list
Eaton Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Was back in Toronto for 2 nights in Sep 2009 and decided on the Delta Chelsea again, The girl upgraded me for an extra $20 to a balcony room on the 10th floor (Green Section) after advising me the 17th floor room she had in the system would be too noisy as it was near the elevator! How nice of her,

I had a renovated room and it was so nice! it had a balcony and all the amenities of a Delta Hotel, The pool was great for a nightly swim (Open till 11pm) and the SUbway is nearby, make sure you catch a Blue Jays game at Skydome (Baseball) if like me you're an international tourist, The atmosphere is great and it's just like you see in the movies,

Check Out was smooth although the shuttle bus got caught in a traffic jam and i missed my flight (Not the hotel's fault!)
Still a great hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    1,209
    927
    411
    227
See reviews for
783
937
296
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Enjoyed the Delta experience, will definately come back. The retaurant staff were outstanding, epecially the chef on duty.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are always very interested in hearing frmo our guests and we were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed here for the Labor Day weekend, got a wonderful rate on a room at Hotels.com. I was pleasantly surprised at the great location, very close to Dundas Square, Eaton Center, and bordered right on Yonge St, the main drag in Toronto. Our small room had 2 double beds, was updated nicely, and had a little balcony which was appreciated. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable. The washroom was in need of some re-tiling, but was clean. Loved the adults only hot tub/pool on the 27th floor. The kids pool was a bit small and well-used, but it did have a waterslide. The staff was good, the hotel was very busy but waits were never more than a few minutes at the desk. The hotel restaurants were average and overpriced, but you only had to walk a block to lots of options for eating. My only real complaint was the internet service. I paid $16.95 for 48 hours of service, but it worked occasionally at best. I figured it was usable about 25 minutes of the 48 hours I paid for. Overall, except for the wireless access, I was very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to see that you were able to enjoy your stay.

I would like to apologize for our internet services not working properly. Normally, our internet service is very reliable. Also, should you wish to return to our hotel, I would suggest signing up for our Delta Privilege program. All members get free High Speed Internet in their rooms.

Thanks again for your kind words.

Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed there for 5 days.. really clean and good service plus a very central location.. good value for the money spent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at our hotel. We do monitor this website carefully and take heed what our guests are saying.

Thanks again,

Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Stayed at the Delta Chelsea for 3 nights to visit family. Location is excellent --- if you're interested in being in the very centre of downtown Toronto, which was good for us. Very convenient public transit (subway, etc.).

This is a large, busy hotel which seems to do a brisk business but appears to be quite capable of handling it all. The room was very comfortable. I could quibble and say the bathroom was a bit small and the TV a bit dated (not flat screen HD), but these weren't prohibitive problems.

The one MAJOR complaint I had is no wireless internet. I now travel with an iTouch, so must rely on wireless capability. Delta offered wired connectivity, but this left me essentially without access for 3 days. (There is an expensive business centre downstairs; I would not pay those prices.) This was VERY disappointing.

Other than that, a very comfortable stay at a reasonable price. Would likely stay there again if circumstances so warranted.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We were very pleased to read your review. Thank you for your feedback. I would like to add that we have free Wi-fi in our Lobby and restaurants, and many guests do use their IPhones/IPads and Laptops in these locations.

Thanks again,

Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We found the Delta Chelsea to be an excellent value with a very professional and courteous staff. Our room was quiet and very clean. We had one complaint, but it was taken care of immediately and to our satisfaction. Location can't be beat. I'd recommend it.

-JB, Florida

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to see that you had a complaint while staying with us, but was releived to see that (whatever it was) was handled to your satisfaction.

Thanks again,

Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Delta Chelsea is in a good location in the city however the hotel itself was nothing to write home about.

After spending 9 hours on a plane after been delay for 3 hours on top of that (damn ash cloud) we checked into the hotel, half asleep I handed the desk clerk my debit card by mistake who proceeded to announce to the 20 others waiting behind me that my card was declined, simple mistake on both our parts but I dont think the whole hotel had to know about it.

The staff in the Monarchs bar were more interested in the stanley cup match than the clients, and while we sat at the bar, cash was demanded each time we ordered a drink despite clients either side of us running tabs.

The staff in the other bar, the much quieter elm street lounge were much more attentive, friendly and quite happy to run a tab.

Broadband was poor which is a shame for a hotel of its size & location.

I would look for a different hotel in Toronto the next time

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorontoJon, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

I am terrible sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Rest assured that we do take this feedback very seriously and I promise that we are actibg on your suggestions.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you need anything in the future.

Regards,

Jonathan Holliwell
Director of Rooms
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaton Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Chelsea

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eaton Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Eaton Chelsea offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Eaton Chelsea is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Eaton Chelsea guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Eaton Chelsea offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, enjoy fresh local dishes at Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eaton Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.