We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Toronto? Stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Hotel, Toronto to your Saves list
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% OFF!
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“First time in Toronto? Stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My first time in Toronto and what a magical city! I love how friend everyone is, so clean, so green, and walkable anywhere! The best part is that the Delta Chelsea was right in the middle of it all between Bloor in the North, Front St. in the South, University Ave in the West and Yonge St. in the East.

The Delta Chelsea is a huge hotel with a large lobby with a friend staff and readable signs to find out the street you can exit or enter from. The Airport Express stops right infront of the hotel, which takes travelers from YYZ Pearson to hotels in downtown Toronto. The best airport transportation service that provides free WiFi and electrical outlet! It also gives you a preview of the city when dropping other passengers off at other hotels in Toronto.

Rooms at the Delta Chelsea is so comfortable, especially the beds. The views in either direction are wonderful. We had our room onthe 20th floor facing Yonge St. so you can see the people walking up and down Younge, Eaton Center, the Bay at Atrium, and Ryerson University. The bathroom was big, clean, and provides complimentary toiletries. There is Internet access in the room, but recommend to go to the lobby and use their free WiFi. There are many sitting areas in the lobby and everyone is down there to use the WiFi. There are 4 eateries in the lobby, but more choices just outside on Yonge St. and at Eaton Center.

We ate the Market Place in the lobby and the food is edible, but could have found a cheaper place to eat outside of the hotel. The breakfast buffet at Bistro 33 was acceptable, but the price was high. Go to a Tim Horton's for cheaper breakfast or enjoy one at the Eaton Center at Eggceptional. At night I would reccommend to try WOO at Dundas Square for a high end Asian Fusion buffet. We did order room service and the food was acceptable, but had better room service at other hotels.

The Delta Chelsea is located near the two major subway lines in Toronto. College St. Station is located nearest to the hotel and the other one is Dundas Square on the Yonge Line. Queen's Park station is the closes one on the University Line. However, walking is a good option for visitors since the city takes pride on being "green" with many residence riding bikes and using public transportation. Taxis can be used, but scarecely used them. We were able to walk to the ROM, Bloor, Yorkville, The Annex, Chinatown, Kensington, and Eaton Center.

I highly recommend the Delta Chelsea for a great central location when visiting Toronto. The staff are nice and very kid friendly. There are two pools, one on th2e 27th floor with a lounge and on the second floor with the big waterslide. However, being so center in the city all of the attactions are walkable, except the ones near Front St. But it doesn't matter on the distance to the CN Tower or Harbourfront since subways stations are nearby. Toronto is so magical, clean, and friendly that you can truly miss once departuring back home. Bon Voyage!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    1,285
    967
    430
    245
See reviews for
844
980
315
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It is simply an average hotel, do not expect to be pampered at this hotel. Check in was fast and easy. The room was fairly clean but worn and in need of updating. The room had a coffee maker which was nice but overall the room was very small.
The gym is located in the pool area which made it very hot while working out so dress appropriately.
The location however is great - close to shopping, restaurants etc. This is by far the best aspect of the Delta.
Parking and high speed internet was very expensive.
To sum up my experience at the Delta, it was simply okay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My friends and I had a great stay here. The beds especially are fantastic if you like soft, cushy beds that feel like clouds. The spreads are very nice, the decor isn't bad. The rooms are relatively spacious. Front desk is nice, the lobby is nice, there are quite a lot of amenities in the lobby, and clearly this place handles high volume and higher income customers. The location is pretty nice, right in the downtown "Times Square" section of Toronto on Yonge street. The elevators and parking garage is a bit confusing, but overall I had a nice time and would come back.

The only thing that didn't work out so well for me was their internet service. We received a corporate rate for the rooms, but still paid for internet access (which is a bit backwater these days) -- they have individual DSL modems in each room, and mine crapped out. It was replaced about an hour after I called the front desk, still didn't work, the maintenance guy said "I'll call someone". Never heard another thing. Not sure why they use this service anyway -- they should be providing free WiFi like everyone else. They certainly have the money to do so.

Otherwise, nice stay, nice accommodations, June Jacobs line in the bathroom was a nice plus (actual quality soap, shampoo, conditioner). I'd go back if I could get as good of a rate as we received this time around.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

On a trip to visit family over the Thanksgiving weekend, several members of my family stayed at this hotel for. My mother and I stayed in one room on the 26th floors, while other family members stayed in other rooms on lower floors.

While the locations is convenient, and the staff generally friendly, we were deeply unimpressed by the rooms. In addition to having our toilet overflow for no clear reason one morning just as we were preparing to go out for the day, we saw cockroaches twice during our four night stay: once in the closet where I was keeping my clothes, and once in the bathroom. From the size, shape and movement of the bugs, there is no question at all that they were roaches, and not some other kind of beetle. My mother and chose to stay in the room rather than upset our other relatives who were staying there, and included a family with young children that would have had a hard time moving to another hotel. My mother did quietly alert a manager to the problem on the morning we checked out of the hotel, but in a follow-up phone call the manager told us that their staff was not able to find any bugs, and did not sound like she had any intention of fumigating or otherwise dealing with the apparent infestation.

My mother and I have both stayed in many hotels and hostels, and neither of us has ever seen a cockroach before. So, while the Delta may have a convenient location, unless you're fine with the idea of living with roaches, and potentially bringing some home with you in your luggage, I would suggest finding a different hotel for your stay in Toronto. I, for one, will never stay at the Delta again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My second visit to the Delta Chelsea. Used the Dowtown Express Bus from airport. This service is very efficient and will help you to get your bearings as it drops off at other hotels. The hotel isn't pretty but is ok inside. I would like to see more sofas or lounge areas in the lobby area. You will see a few adult shops and cinemas on Yonge St. Don't be put off by these as they keep themselves to themselves. I would advise to stick to main streets and keep to busy areas. Generally area feels safe but it pays to be aware of your surroundings and be sensible. Upon arrival my check in was with no waiting and was processed very quickly. I was offered an upgrade but chose not to pay the extra 30 dollars per night. My room 1138 was over looking Gerrard St. I would say it was one of the older rooms and was in need of updating but was clean and had everything that you could need. Very good storage and shower was powerful. I was irritated by a constant drone of some generator noise outside. This went all day and night and if you tuned into it would drive you a bit potty. I wasn't in the room too much so wasn't so bad. Is really near the elevators and ice machine room. The staff were very friendly and passed a conversation or two which was nice.
Ate mainly in the market garden restaurant. I felt food was expensive and you would get more choice elsewhere and probably better value. However, I suppose you pay for the convenience. If you try Atrium on Bay shopping mall, in the basement I found a great mini supermarket that sold hot soups, salad bars, fresh fruit and veg etc and at good prices. This mall had a good food court too.
As my main purpose was to indulge in retail therapy, this hotel is ideally situated for the Eaton Centre and for the subway (Dundas) which can take you all over the city but again if shopping is your thing head up to Yorkdale Mall.
Was a bit disapointed at lack of free wifi access. I was hoping....
I would return but maybe in a few years as I have exhausted Toronto's shops for now

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Stayed at the Delta Chelsea 4 nights over thanksgiving weekend. The location is midtown - blocks from Eaton Centre, on Young, subway on next block, airport shuttle 20 minute intervals. Not a bad location, but NOT near the main business district, fashion district (Bloor) or entertainment district or near the Ontario Art Gallery or Museum. If looking for those you can find a better located hotel. This is a large hotel (think Las Vegas Flamingo Casino and Hotel size) without the casino but with the other amenities, There are a variety of rooms, and I booked a standard room. I am a Delta Privilege member so expect an upgrade if available - that is the standard practice. I received one without asking ( I should not have had to) to a room on the 17th floor - a pretty plain room imo - so I can not imagine what the upgrade was. I looked straight into the windows of other high-rises so it was not that. I had booked a king, but the upgrade was 2 double beds for me alone. No seating area. Nothing in the room had been upgraded in 20 years, the TV was the old clunky box style, the one chair was old and dated from the 70's. While the room was acceptable it was nothing like any other Delta I have stayed at before - much inferior.

Front Desk efficient but impersonal, Bar Staff: ditto, Bell Desk: ditto.
27th Floor Pool area was OK but lounge up there locked tight - even to be able to sit and read. Actually no place to sit and read or a quiet area. The lounge had blaring music (live) when I checked in at the Privilege Desk (right outside the door to the lounge) and the music and noise permeates through the lobby and is ridiculously loud.

The hotel is chock full of airline staff, and tourists on charter flights or bus trips.

I would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

William Shatner got us a room for $60, which is great value considering the location and the tolerable room quality. But the back of the room door said $569/night is the regular rate, and if that's the case, this place is big-time overpriced. Too many neighbours are noisy drunkards returning from bad Leafs games; the heating and air con didn't work; the roof was leaking in the pool area; and often there was no one at the front desk. On the plus side there's a nice-looking pool, decent little workout rooms, and of course you're a couple minutes from all the excitement. Nighty night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, enjoy fresh local dishes at Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.