We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Hotel, Toronto to your Saves list
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% OFF!
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were here for 5 nights. We had to ask for a room change as the bathroom in our first room was not very clean. This was a bonus as we were moved from the 19th floor to the 6th - as the lifts are so slow this was a good move. The 2nd room was very large with 2 very comfortable queen beds, comfortable chairs and large desk space. Plenty of floor space for our suitcases. We did have a balcony, but it looked as if it needed a good wash and I did notice a couple of cigarette ends there!!! Not a place you would sit with your glass of wine. Staff on reception and the concierge desk were friendly, helpful and courteous. As our booking was via a tour company we had vouchers for a Continental Breakfast which were exchanged by reception staff for their own vouchers which entitled us to juice (one glass only) and pastries/muffins ONLY (tea/coffee unlimited). In our view Continental breakfast usually covers a choice of cereal, fruit, cold meat and/or cheeses. Of course we could have had those items at a cost. Not impressed and will make comments to the tour company. Having said all that it is in a very good location for shops and all major attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    1,287
    967
    430
    245
See reviews for
845
980
316
723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having read previous reviews i was apprehensive regarding the chelsea .But our total experience was unbelievably wonderful. Danny the front desk manager was so very nice as was all of his front desk staff. The concierges Isabel and Kelly-Lee were so very helpful including getting us tickets to a sold out show with only a very small service charge. The room on the club level was spacious clean well appointed and very very comfortable. The club level lounge provided the quiet oasis as promised as well as great exteneded continental breakfasts evening canapes and things as well as the ever stocked refrigerator with bottles of water. All in all we eagerly look forward to our next stay at the chelsea.

Room Tip: the club level was fantastic and is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recently attended a National Conference in the Eaton Chelsea and was very surprised to find they do not offer a Business Centre for their guests to use.
If you need to print documents, they expect you to purchase a $10.00 Access Card to use a bank of computers in the open environment of the middle of their large reception foyer and then pay $0.50 / page for printing B&W copies!
Uncomfortable, loud, distractive surroundings are not conducive to productivity.
The accommodation rooms offer minimal furnishings and are definitely tired.
The outside noise levels are high.
The meeting rooms are good and the staff and meals were very good.
The hotel has recently gone through a management change and hopefully they jump on their shortcomings.
Too many option in toronto to accept less than satisfactory services.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the term Deluxe Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
690 helpful votes 690 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my first time back since the ownership change from Delta to Eaton Chelsea. I had stopped going to this hotel because of cleansiness issues and thought that it would have changed. Not really! It is a very large hotel and most of the staff seem uninterested (concierge was very nice though). I had booked online and requested two queen beds for my colleague and I, when I got to the hotel they said that they were no rooms available with two beds and that even if I requested it online it doesn't count, since they only see the request at check-in. How appropriate!

I must say that the hotel is very nicely located closed to all major attractions in TO; a short walk to the Eaton Center, CN Tower and Queen's Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Alberta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is dated. The rooms are old, the conference centre is old, the internet is slow, and the service is outdated.

Rooms - My room was on the 4th floor. The floor was older. My toilet ran all night, the handle on the toilet is broken. I hated using the bathroom as the fan and light were the same switch so it was always loud whenever in the bathroom.

Conference Centre - The area is old looking. The rooms are strangely shaped and aren't great for conference sessions.

Internet - OMG! Upgrade!!! So slow, dropped by connection on various devices. Why can't hotels have better internet?

Service - I was not happy with the check out process. No bill was put under my door or left on the door knob. Had to go to the front desk, wait in line, to check out and get my bill. Others had the same experience. If there is one thing to change - please provide an easier check out where I can just leave without having to stop to get my bill. Also, before checking out my room was cleaned. This was really strange and I hope this isn't a process where people still have access to the rooms after they have been cleaned for the next guest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The floors that have been renovated are fine.......those that haven't been renovated are brutal. Smelly carpet, balcony doors bolted shut, smell of stale smoke with no circulation. We requested a different room-it was simply too claustrophobic for me!

Room Tip: Get a renovated room with a balcony door that opens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The reviews did actually scare us a wee bit. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times with various family members and friends when it was the Delta and it was lovely for us and very fun for kids. Great location made it super convenient for a lot of outings. We checked in in less than five minutes and the staff person was courteous and friendly. This time, we had a small room, one queen size bed. We found the bed comfy and the furnishings were nice. Although the room was European small, it was clean (though I have just watched the Marketplace piece on hotels... so who knows) and well maintained. The only bit that I thought needed some TLC was the wallpaper which was peeling and a bit dated. Otherwise, it seemed fine.

Room Tip: Try to find a room high up or not on the Yonge Street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Hotel, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel, Toronto

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea Hotel, Toronto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Chelsea Hotel, Toronto guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Chelsea Hotel, Toronto offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, enjoy fresh local dishes at Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chelsea Hotel, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Hotel, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.