We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eaton Chelsea to your Saves list
Eaton Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel, very good in house restaurant and bar, great location downtown, very good food. Staff very friendly. Internet access in the rooms as well as in reception.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Troll001,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our newly renovated T|Bar and Market Garden offer a wide variety of options and exceptional service. We are so glad you got a chance to have a meal their and have passed your comments to our Food and Beverage Department. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    1,208
    926
    411
    227
See reviews for
783
937
295
682
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Recently stayed two weeks at the Eaton. We had an accessible de-luxe room on the 20 th floor which overlooked Yonge street and the city. We had been keeping on eye on the reviews for this hotel and we a it apprehensive after reading some of the negative comments. It is a huge and very bus hotel so if you want a more intimate experience you will be disappointed . We didn't seem to see the same faces at reception more than twice. The lobby is clean and fresh, hallways are a bit bland but clean none the less. Room - usual city hotel but clean and comfortable which is all you need. We had no problems what so ever with the lifts even at busy times (bearing in mind we were on a high floor) and didn't see any long lines either. Only ate in Bb33 and had their set meal (harvest feast) which was excellent quality. Location is brilliant you can get anywhere from here walking or use in transit system. Loads of local places to eat to suit most pockets. Toronto is a city with prices reflecting this. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High room. Ignore negative moments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Georgefromtamworth,

Thank you for choosing the Eaton Chelsea for your two week stay in Toronto. We are very pleased to learn of your enjoyable experiences and delight with your choice. Our locations is paramount for those wishing to be steps away from many dinning and shopping options. We hope that you will return and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Chelsea is the only choice whenever we need to be downtown. Metro stops either way within two blocks, affordable/varied eateries right out the door, a 24/7 convenience store on the corner, cinemas close by, comfortable beds, clean rooms. There is a little wear showing here and there, but that's no different than being at home, and at the reasonable prices available, it matters little. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Susan R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on the Chelsea. We are so pleased that we continue to be your go to place to stay when in Toronto, and we thank you for your years of loyalty. I hope that we can keep welcome you back time and time again.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week for 4 nights. Room was a little small although very clean and beds were so comfy. Is getting to the stage where the décor is a little dated and needs brightened up. We were on the 22 floor, higher up seemed to have been decorated and looked much more modern. Overall is in a great central location for sightseeing, airport express stops outside, great eggmart on the corner for breakfast although what food we had in the hotel was good also. Swimming pool was nice, great views over Toronto.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a corner room as seems to make the room a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear JenPen2013,

We are so glad you choose to stay with us when you were in Toronto, and that you shared your experience! It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and took in some great sightseeing. Our 27th floor pool deck and sun lounge are great for that. We are continuing to upgrade the hotel throughout the coming year, so stay tuned and we hope you will visit again.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here with friends Sept. 13th-15th. It's a beautiful hotel, very well kept and modern. The staff was helpful, friendly, and accomodating. Overall, it's about what I expect from a good hotel. It's biggest advantage to me though was it's location. It's within reasonable walking distance of anything that I wanted to do or see (great shopping, restaurants, nightlife). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Philip K,

Thank you for your note. We are so glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the hotels close proximity to shopping and nightlife. On your next visit check out the nightlife that happened's right here in our lobby bar, Monarchs, Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. I know that is a big draw for many of our guests. We are glad to hear that you will be back and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel.

Sincerely,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a really well located hotel with easy access to Yonge Street and surroundings.
Room was clean, with simple comforts. If you are okay with that, you will enjoy what this hotel has to offer. The pool is a nice bonus. Great location if you are in town for shopping, shows or even events such as New Year's Eve (as we were). The upgrade is worth the money for all the perks it brings.

Room Tip: Higher Floor for the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jazzfang,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at The Eaton Chelsea. We are so pleased that you chose us to ring in the new year with. Hope you will join us again to ring in 2014.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you are staying here for business this hotel will frustrate you as it is full of tourists and tours so frustrating to get around. Location is convenient and it's very good value for Toronto. It's close to lots of great restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated section NOT facing Yonge Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Igaze2,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the hotel was not suited well for your business needs. Aside from appealing to families because of our unique amenities, we also do appeal to business travelers. Our bank of 24/7 computers and self serve business center are a new addition to the lobby and have been a great feature. We hope that when traveling to Toronto for leisure you will try us out again.

Thank you,

Guest Experience Specialist
Eaton Chelsea Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaton Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Chelsea

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eaton Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Eaton Chelsea offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Eaton Chelsea is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Eaton Chelsea guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Eaton Chelsea offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, enjoy fresh local dishes at Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eaton Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.