We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Eaton Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eaton Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 20% OFF!
Ranked #75 of 141 hotels in Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warm and Kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't forget warm service which I was given several years ago and I repeated this time.
Location is great to go anywheres.
Nothing to complain about service. Staff were very warm and kind this time as well.
If I say, I wish that restaurants and bar would be more sophisticated.
If you want good view from your room, this hotel may not satisfies you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Yutes79,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your experiences at the Chelsea. I am pleased to know that both times you have stayed at the Chelsea you were given warm and friendly service from all staff you encountered. You'll be excited to know that we just started renovations on 3 of our restaurants. We are excited to bring a new fresh look to the hotel lobby and restaurants and look forward to the completion of the project. We hope you will return, and look forward to the chance to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Alistair
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    1,005
    782
    349
    200
See reviews for
648
780
244
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for new yrs a few montsh back, the hotel halls have a strage odour to it, its clear it was recently renovated.

The rooms were avgerage at best, not what I'm used to.

Some of the front desk staff were helpful, but didn't like the long line up for checking in, they should have a more efficient system.

Also just hope none of your belongings go missing, I also lost a personal item (a blu ray disc) in my suite and contacted the hotel within 1 hour to retrive it and it was a nightmare. Tried to go back to retrive it and seems no one there was of any assisitance and I gout bounced around, lied to and told someone would call back, of course they never did. I did get an apology after the 3rd time I followed up.

This hotel is in a good area, might be worth it if you can stay here using points or get a killer hot deal, I wouldn't pay full price when there are much better options in the city.

Needless to say I won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear RicoMagnifico,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your new years eve stay. I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel. I was sorry to hear that the condition and quality of our rooms did not meet your expectations. We appreciate this type of feedback as this information is vital to improve service and seek out problem areas in the hotel. I do apologize for the level of customer service provided when calling about the missing item. This is not the service we are aiming to provide and I can understand your frustration. It is sad to learn that you will not be returning to our hotel again. I would like to inform you that we will be under new management as of July 1, 2013 and there are many changes to the hotel happening. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back under the new brand.

Thank you,

Alistair
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very convenient centralized location. Stayed here on recent business trip. Comfortable room, but very small, especially the bathroom. I felt like I could barely turn around in there. Advertised as non-smoking hotel but hallways reek of cigarette smoke. Overpriced buffet breakfast.

No hurry to go back here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Delta Chelsea on several occasions, largely due to its location and the often very competitive prices. I have been in modern, full sized rooms, and I have been in small and very dated rooms. I generally find the service to be helpful, and if there is a problem, the staff will try to resolve it. The gym is great, the food services not so much. My most recent stay was very good. Note, the hotel will leave the Delta chain in the summer of 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I lived 25 years ago in Toronto and was recently back for business.
The hotel was pre-booked.
There is some new extension but otherwise i recognized the same furniture, carpet, etc.. It is extremely noisy with many children and even a robot was present at the lobby to entertain them.
The room is very dark and the bathroom deserved renovation. It is challenging to get to your room as the elevators are identified by colour and by the time you get use to locate the good one, it is time to go home.
Otherwise, I do not recommend it to you if you expect to have some rest in your hotel.
However, it is located nest to the Eaton center and the price is low.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I was only going off early memories of the mid 90's. It certainly did not live up to expectations. The room was located in the 10th floor. The hallways were filthy with where I guess they store their scooters. The room was tiny with old wallpaper, and water stains in the ceiling. The bathroom was extremely dated. They gym has the treadmills and elliptical machines in the same area as the pool. This does not lead to great air quality for a cardio workout.

I would have told the front desk staff about my experience had they asked when I checked out.

Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mteed25,

I am truly sorry for the disappointment you must have felt with regards to the condition of your room. I would like to reassure you this does not represent the level of service we are known for. We have programs in place to guarantee the condition of our rooms, I am sorry they have failed in this instance. I have passed your comments to the appropriate departments.

Thank you,

Alistair
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Booked Delta Chelsea based on previous excellent experiences; called in advance to ensure quiet room, requested that again on check-in, really looking forward to comfort and pampering. Quiet? I was at a downtown conference requiring early rising, and they put a high school trip on my hall, across, up and down, 4 in a room. For Sat and Sunday nights, called security at 11 p.m. and 3 times after that, spoke to manager, took 45 min. each time to appear. Doors slamming, kids screaming, toilets over"flooding" as they yelled in the hall. Modest success but not quiet till 1 30 a.m. I stayed tired. They offered to move me, but I had conference materials spread out, was already tired and I wasn't bothering anyone. Other adults expressed similar concerns. I don't mind the carpets a little threadbare or the soapdish taped to the bathtub tile, but a food voucher doesn't compensate for not enough sleep when you have to be "on." I warned them I'd be writing to tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Tell them if there are any high school trips or sports teams, you'll check out and demand a refu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Singinghurricanj,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry for the disturbance you experienced while you were here with us, and can certainly understand your disappointment. We have our security team monitor the floors and pubic areas to avoid situations such as this, I am sorry we failed to do so in this instance.

Thank you,

Alistair
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eaton Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Chelsea

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eaton Chelsea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Eaton Chelsea offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Eaton Chelsea is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Eaton Chelsea guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Eaton Chelsea offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, enjoy fresh local dishes at Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Eaton Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.