We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobby, pool/workout area, but outdated rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eaton Chelsea to your Saves list
Eaton Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great lobby, pool/workout area, but outdated rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We appreciate honesty in hotel star ratings and this hotel, in our opinion, is really a 3.5 star. We have stayed in Toronto many times and We like to stay in that region, near Eaton Centre, where we can easily walk to everywhere. I had a special rate for our room for our family of 4. When we arrived, we found a very large and wonderful lobby, with lots of exits to access downtown Toronto.
We checked in with a cordial and efficient staff and got on the elevator that has one different color for each group of floors. In our room, we were a bit disappointed, but despite being a little outdated it suited us nicely and was clean (housekeeping staff always very friendly),with comfy bed and pillows, good size flat screen tv and coffee/tea facilities(no fridge in room).
EXCELLENT pool and workout area on top of the roof, with separate rooms for cardio, weightlifting, stretching, etc (neat and well equipped, but a little warm).
The Market Place restaurant seemed to be good, but after seeing the prices, we preferred to go out to have meals.
Free Internet access was not outstanding, but did the job.
For sure we'll be back to Delta Chelsea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you Sandra700,

It is always great to read feedback from our guest stays. We use this information to constantly improve our services and let our staff know how they are doing. I am pleased that all staff you encountered were friendly and welcoming. I am sorry for the disappointment you felt towards the condition of your room. This information is helpful as we decide on our areas of biggest opportunity for upcoming renovations. We thank again for providing this feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,


Thank you very much for your feedback. It was so nice to hear that you had such and enjoyable stay. I was also happy to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly and that you and your family enjoyed the location of the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I will be passing along your comments to our Housekeeping and Front Desk departments. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Thank you,

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    1,209
    927
    411
    227
See reviews for
783
937
296
683
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

nice rooms with all good toiletries and bathrobes.pool and Jacuzzi on rooftop with views of Toronto.
Housekeeping a bit iffy.if you put up" do not disturb "sign in mornings you often got room unattended all day even with sign removed. needs sign with room ready to be serviced to make things clear.
very few Canadian staff or native English speakers,difficulty understanding and being understood.we found this especially in the overrated Bb33 brasserie.
food here not fantastic, poor quality/price ratio.
we had a privilege room on floor 25 so had unlimited access to lounge with good breakfast and afternoon snacks and cookies and hot chocolate.this was super and a lovely German lady was the hostess there.Computer there also and good free wifi throughout hotel.
overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to learn that your stay was overall enjoyable. We appreciate all feedback and use this information to improve our services or let our staff know how they are doing. I am glad you enjoyed the Indian Curry Buffet in our Elm Street Lounge. It has been a favourite for many many years!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Thank you,

Alistair
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a 4 night stay at this great Toronto Hotel and everything was pretty good, my only "complaint" would be that the free wifi connection was a bit slow, but everything else was really good.

Clean room, nice personnel, friendly concierge service and a lot of places to tour around the hotel. Didnt get to eat at the hotel reastaurants except the Pub where we had delicious sweet potato fries.

Great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Loreniarincon,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that your overall stay was most enjoyable. From the sweet potato fries in the pub to our location, your 4 night stays sounds great. I do apologize for the slow speed on the WiFi you experienced. This is a newly installed feature and will review your challenges with out IT department. We hope you will visit again soon.

Thank you,
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to learn that your stay was overall enjoyable. We appreciate all feedback and use this information to improve our services or let our staff know how they are doing. I have passed your comments to the appropriate departments.
Once again I would like to thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Thank you,

Alistair
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location is great. If you plan on not being in your hotel very much, this hotel has what you need, is clean, and in the best location. The bed and pillows were trhe best! But I would not consider this a 3.5 star hotel. The carpets are old and worn, the bathroom needs major work. But it is a perfectly adequate hotel, and the staff was great. It seemed to have a lot of activities for kids, so that is a plus.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Lindsay M,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Chelsea. I am pleased your stay was overall enjoyable. I am sad to learn of your disappointment towards the condition of your room and can understand. As we are an older facility there are areas of the hotel which need some attention. Thank you for providing this feedback as we use this information to improve our services and facilities.

Thank you,

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to learn that your stay was overall enjoyable. We appreciate all feedback and use this information to improve our services or let our staff know how they are doing. I have passed your comments to the appropriate departments.
Once again I would like to thank you and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Thank you,

Alistair
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is just an average run of the mill hotel. The only complaint I have is that is was so hot at night. The staff did provide me with a fan on my second night. The rooms are average size, the bathroom was a bit on the cramped side, but it's a hotel. I didn't have any noise issues, very quiet at night. I order breakfast from room service and it was fine except I ordered a boiled egg and got a poached egg. The server said he'd talk to the room service person about it, never heard a word back. Not. Big deal, but little things make a big difference in the service industry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear SammyNPaul,

Thanks for your note. I do apologize about the temperature in the rooms. We operate on a one-pipe system and when the air turns warm suddenly, unfortunately, with the size of our building, it takes some time for the water to cool down and cool down our guest rooms. Although the problem is rectified when the weather stays warm we know that it can be uncomfortable for our guests who are staying with us especially during this years wacky weather! I hope that this did not tarnish your view of the Chelsea and that you will return.

Thank you,

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is a perfect location to enjoy downtown toronto. Close to Subway and great pubs and Dundas Square.

We brought our kids, and we found the pool / hot tub / water slide to be great for us.

We did have one issue or two, but had really nothing to do with the hotel. It was the Saturday night of a two night stay, and it seems our floor had 4 or 5 rooms of hard core drinkers. When they left about 11 PM to hit some bars, you knew they were leaving, and when they came back about 3 15 AM, things got really out of control. We think the hotel handled it pretty well, but it was a troubling hour or two, particularly for our kids (8 and 7).

The street behind the hotel, and off Yonge was really quaint ( Elm St i think it was)..... we didnt get too much of a chance to explore it, but quite a few old buildings, with some nice restaurents fronting them. We will go back and check these out sometime, but without our kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Joefromstcatherines,

Thank you for taking time to provide a review. I am pleased that the location of the hotel was well situated for your needs, and will be bringing you back with out the kids! I do apologize for the slight noise disruptions on your floor in the wee hours of the morning. Our security team works hard to ensure situations such as this are kept under control. Looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have been a guest of Delta Chelsea many times over the years and have had a few issues with this property (especially when staying in the older towers) but overall for downtown Toronto, it's a great value and very good location. We use the subway to get around and it's very central for transit. If you like to walk, it's close enough to great shopping locations. Concierge desk always helpful for walking directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair I, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Davidxyz_13

Thank you for providing feedback from your most recent stay. It is great to hear that the price and location of our property is well suited to your needs when visiting. We thank you for your patronage and hope that you will stay again soon.

Thank you,

Alistair I
Guest Experience Specialist
Delta Chelsea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaton Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Chelsea

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eaton Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Eaton Chelsea offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Eaton Chelsea is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Eaton Chelsea guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Eaton Chelsea offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, enjoy fresh local dishes at Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eaton Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.