We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you really have to stay right downtown...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eaton Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eaton Chelsea to your Saves list
Eaton Chelsea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% OFF!
Ranked #70 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Ontario
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If you really have to stay right downtown...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

If you have to stay right downtown in Toronto the Delta Chelsea is a reasonable choice. Compared to hotels outside the core, the Delta Chelsea is expensive for what you get. The rooms, while adequate, are small. The elevators can be confusing since there are three different banks of them. Parking is expensive at $30 per night, if you can find a spot. Our room was not completely prepared when we checked on at 5pm. The reception staff promptly upgraded our room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Silverchemist,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

I am truly sorry for the disappointment you must have felt with regards to the cleanliness of your room and our parking fees. I would like to reassure you that this does not represent the level of service we aim to give our guests. Our current parking fee for overnight guests is 29+taxes/day. We feel this is in tune with the competitiive market. I have sent your comments to our Rooms Division to follow up with your concerns.

We hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Ashleigh Willard
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    1,156
    896
    400
    221
See reviews for
759
910
281
649
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Lonsdale
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The largest hotel I have ever stayed in but so efficiently run you would never know it was so big. Lovely friendly staff who really do go that extra mile. Restaurant was super. Great steaks. Ate in the bar one night. Very good value and a good live band to keep us entertained. Rooms spacious and even had a balcony. Free wireless in bar was an added bonus. Self service breakfast with huge choice. Egg muffin wasn't great but everything else looked reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear suew00,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear about your recent experience with us and that we were able to provide you with great service, as well as a spacious and comfortable room. I am also glad you enjoyed our hotel facilities and our live entertainment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Ashleigh Willard
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were in Toronto to attend the Royal Winter Fair and stayed here for 3 nights.
The staff at the front desk were very pleasant to deal with, from checking in earlier, to
waiving a small phone surcharge upon checkout.
Did not dine at the hotel or use the pool/fitness facility.( ran outdoors)
Our room on the 10th floor was a little tired and need of a re-fresh,but everything was clean and tidy.
The only downside occured on the second night when we returned to our room and noticed a strong smell of cannabis from an adjacent room. The front desk was notified, and the same thing happened the next morning.Go figure!
This hotel is centrally located in downtown Toronto, close to public transportation, shopping and many dining opportunities.Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear FoxT,

Thank you for taking the time to review us online.

I was disappointed to hear that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations, and would like to apologize for the disappointment you felt. We have renovated rooms on the lower floors of the hotel, and we are currently in the process of scheduling the next phase of renovations. I also apologize for the disturbance you experienced while you were here with us. We have our security team monitor the floors and pubic areas to avoid situations such as this, I am sorry we failed to do so in this instance. I was pleased you found our team members friendly and helpful and our location convenient.

We hope to welcome you back for another stay.

Sincerely,

Ashleigh Willard
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Quite simply my worst experience in a hotel, ever. I booked at the last minute, for a work trip to Toronto, during a week when the City was rammed. The office booked me here and I arrived with some trepidation. The hotel was rammed itself and something told me that there must be something wrong if it still had rooms with everywhere else full.

I was wrong.

It didn't have any rooms.

Only what I can describe as a coffin.

I was supposed to stay there for a week but moved out after a day. The room was tiny, and lit by what must have been a single 25 watt bulb. There was a balcony, but this faced directly onto a wall. The room was that depressing I decided I would rather sleep on a friends floor.

Perhaps this was the worst room in Toeonto and I was unlucky. But unlucky I was. I would rather swim back to the UK than stay there again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Grenville99,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I sincerely apologize you found your stay unsatisfactory due to many chanllenges you encountered while staying with us. We strive to provide our guests with comfortable rooms to make their stay more enjoyable. I am sorry we have failed in this instance.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Ashleigh Willard
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I wanted to celebrate my anniversary with my boyfriend and thought this would be an amazing place since it's in the heart of downtown and everything we wanted to explore was near by.

My plane was exceptionally early and was surprised that the hotel was willing to let me check in at 1 pm. The counter staff was amazingly sweet and friendly.

The room was amazing. Beautiful and spacious like they said. Ours came with a balcony also. The room service, tv channels and even the pub downstairs was great.

Checking out was a breeze also. They made me anniversary one I shall remember for quite sometime.

Definitely will recommend and even stay if I'm visit toronto again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Veesevani,

Thank you for posting your review.

I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we are able to accommodate you for an earlier check in. I am also happy that our team members made your anniversary a very special occasion.

We hope to continue to welcome you back and we are looking forward to it.

Sincerely,

Ashleigh Willard
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Got a special rate for the Delta Chelsea which was right for what it was. For my preference the hotel is way to big and very unpersonal. Staff was friendly but not walking one step faster to help anyone. Bad thing was that one night I wanted to take a bath and black hairs came up when the tub was filling. This while I am blond. In general the cleaning of the room wasnt very good. Location is great, but I would spend a bit more and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade. Standard rooms are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Rianneplaya,

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay,

I was disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay due to the conditions of your bathroom and the service you received. We have programs in place to guarantee the cleanliness of our rooms, I am sorry they have failed in this instance. I am happy that we were able to provide you with a resonable rate for your stay.

We hope to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Ashleigh Willard
Guest Experince Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Comfortable bed
Stayed 4nights with daughters and grandson
It is an Ideal location for shops and entertainment
Food and service friendly and efficient
No wifi in room but ok in public spaces so no problem
Would stay there again as ambience made one feel relaxed and welcome
Good facilities and handy shop on site

Room Tip: Had paid to upgrade but should have checked room first as seemed quite basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GESDeltaCHE, Manager at Eaton Chelsea, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear rosie503747,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am thrilled you had a wonderful stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed our downtown location and found our team members and services efficient and friendly. We are currently looking into installing wireless internet in our guest rooms.

We hope to welcome you back for another stay.

Sincerely,

Dasha Bortsova
Guest Experience Specialist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eaton Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Chelsea

Address: 33 Gerrard Street W., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1Z4, Canada (Formerly Delta Chelsea)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eaton Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown, steps from amazing attractions, businesses and shopping, the Eaton Chelsea offers travellers comfortable accommodations at exceptional value. Featuring 1,590 contemporary guestrooms and suites, Eaton Chelsea is Canada's largest hotel, delivering warm and reliable service and a variety of accommodation options. All rooms are equipped with technological conveniences and amenities, including basic complimentary WiFi. Whether testing your limits in the well-appointed fitness centre, lapping up the quiet comfort of the Deck 27 indoor pool, or enjoying the Family Fun Zone heated pool with the 130 ft "Corkscrew" waterslide, Kid Centre and Club 33 Teen Lounge, Eaton Chelsea guests can choose to exercise their body, relax their mind or take advantage of the family-friendly amenities.Eaton Chelsea offers guests a broad choice of dining venues. Experience all-day dining at Market Garden, enjoy fresh local dishes at Bb 33 Bistro and Brasserie, indulge in a coffee or cocktail at the T|Bar Lounge or embrace the lively vibe in Monarchs Pub, downtown Toronto's hotspot for nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Eaton Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Chelsea Toronto
Delta Chelsea Hotel Toronto
Delta Toronto
Toronto Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eaton Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.