We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Studio 6 - Toronto

Save Saved
You added Studio 6 - Toronto to your Saves list
Studio 6 - Toronto
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Studio 6 - Toronto
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 Grange Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2V5, Canada (Formerly The Grange Hotel) (China Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I found this hotel because I was looking for something close to downtown Toronto but not wanting to break the bank for a one night stay. The hotel is tucked away on a residential street, which is a bit off putting at first, but if you walk around the corner you get to busy shopping, food, bars, all within walking distance!
Whoever was working when I checked in was super friendly and provided great customer service. He helped me navigate cabs and how to get to a venue I needed to go to without a fuss.
The room was cleanly and modern. If I was staying longer it would've been nice to have the full kitchenette but I couldn't make use of it while I was only there a night.
The only thing was the room seemed to be quite warm and the thermostat was turned all the way down, but it really wasn't a large con.
I was nicely surprised with this hotel and I would recommend this to anyone who isn't looking for a luxury suite with all the bells and whistles, but rather the simplicity of a room without fuss.
I would stay again especially because the location is great, and it feels almost like you aren't staying in a hotel but rather an apartment because of the quiet street and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For tourists unfamiliar to Toronto, you might be put off by its location. It is near some housing developments in a shadier part of the city. However, you are steps away from the main streets where everything is happening! It is safer than you first feel when you arrive.

Pros: Price ($60/night from teambuy.ca)
Cons: Safety

To be honest, my friend and I were a bit uncomfortable when we arrived at Studio 6. Two men followed us into the foyer (which is not the lobby and is not attended) and asked us if we were staying there. The concierge came out from the side to get us and we all went to a separate room that is the lobby/office. We felt the concierge should have spoken with the two men first, as they were not guests, but he proceeded to check us in, in the presence of the two men. We had to ask him to write down our room number so that he would not tell the two strangers where we would be staying. Maybe because we were two girls in an unfamiliar neighbourhood we were being paranoid; that said, we should be!

The room we stayed in was very clean. As Studio 6 used to be The Grange, it was recently renovated so everything was still new-looking. The only thing that didn't look very new was the linen. There were some stains in the pillowcase and bedsheets. (Tip: Bring your own pillowcase or a towel to throw over your pillow.) However, it is a budget hotel so your expectations should be realistic upon booking.

P. S. Free WIFI! ($20 for parking)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 - Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Good Day;

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Studio 6 - Toronto. Your feedback is very important to us.

At Studio 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The customer service sucks and they guy at check in was really rude. It was suppose to be a good place to stay and affordable but instead we were forced to put down an $100 deposit. The room was comfortable and there wasn't any bed bugs but the bathroom wasn't that good low preasure and the shower head is very low anyone taller than 5.8" will have a difficult time using in the shower. Its also in a very sketchy neighbourhood lots of people drinking outside and very angry people. The good thing is its close to Kensington market but I don't recommend it and next time I stay in toronto I will go somewhere else. Plus they would hold are bags after 11am

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 - Toronto, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Good Day;

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Studio 6 - Toronto.

At Studio 6, we strive to provide a superior guest experience, and I am sorry yours did not meet expectations.

Rest assured appropriate measures are being taken to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns and hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night in room 203 Studio 6 is very convenient to many of my favorite places. The rooms are recently renovated and nice. My room was clean and I felt very safe in the hotel and neighborhood. If you're looking for a convenient, inexpensive place and your OK with no fuss, this place fits the bill. Daily housekeeping is an extra $10 per night otherwise it appeared that they did housekeeping every three days. However, you could go to the front desk anytime to get new towels and sheets for your bed. Where I was only there two days I did not get any housekeeping during my stay, nor did I really need it as I was only sleeping there. This is just something to keep in mind if you stay. There's also a kitchenette with a good sized refrigerator/freezer, two burner stove top, microwave oven and all the utensils and dishes you'd need if you want to cook your own meals. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 - Toronto, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good Day Brad;

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Studio 6 , Toronto.

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Yes it's basic, yes it's a bit tired, yes it's not the best location but it's clean, the beds are really comfortable, it's quiet inside and out and it's amazingly cheap. We would stay here again if ever we were lucky enough to come back to Toronto!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 - Toronto, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Good Day;

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Studio 6 , Toronto.

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Got a voucher for this place on dealfind/wagjag for $60 a night any day of the week (amazing right?!) Booked it for a Saturday night to go out for a friends birthday. good location downtown i felt we were very close to everything but because it is set back in a residential area it wasn't noisy or crowded. Looks like it used to be an apartment building. the outside looks old but everything inside has been completely redone. very modern and clean looking. i loved the fact that the bed spread smelled like laundry detergent. Room had a full size fridge, stove top, microwave, toaster, and kettle. It was great, i loved the fact that we didn't have to go out and find take out for dinner just brought some easy meals along with us. Overall I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 - Toronto, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sabrissa;

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Studio 6 Toronto.

Your feedback will be shared with the team to serve as recognition and encouragement; as we strive to continuously improve our guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing. We hope your next visit will be even better.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesan
General Manager
Studio 6 Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Great location between Queen & College on the west side of the downtown core. In a residential area near Kensington Market & Toronto Western Hospital. Tons of restaurants. Rooms are small, newly renovated on main floor & include kitchenette with full fridge, wifi, cable tv & cheap parking ($10). Okay for a short stay @ a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumar S, Manager at Studio 6 - Toronto, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Susie;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with regard to your recent stay at the Studio 6 in Toronto.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Look forward to welcome you for your next stay at the hotel with your friend and family.

Sincerely,

Gajen Nadesn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Studio 6 - Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 - Toronto

Address: 165 Grange Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2V5, Canada (Formerly The Grange Hotel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > China Town , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Studio 6 - Toronto 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated guest rooms feature fully-equipped kitchens that include cooking utensils, a microwave, stove top, refrigerator and coffee maker. Along with the comfortable, residential feel, guests will enjoy free Wi-Fi Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen HD TV with expanded cable, multi-media panel with A/V connections for mp3 players, video game systems and laptop computers. Guest laundry facilities and on-site parking are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Studio 6 - Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio 6 - Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.