We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your ideal stay in Toronto ;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Your ideal stay in Toronto ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This place has it all. Very close to the city center and Dundas square, rooms are spacious, it has a good breakfast and rooms are spotless. They even have a personalized free shuttle service that takes you anywhere in the city.

I can comfortably say this is my home away from home in Toronto.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Hlughod,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. Our complimentary shuttle service makes our guests’ stay even more convenient with drop off service in the downtown core, allowing guests to see and do even more in Toronto during their stay and you are no exception. We hope that you were able to use our extensive facilities during your stay, but if you did not, we hope that you will be back in the near future to take advantage of them.


Warm regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    316
    68
    40
    47
See reviews for
220
306
40
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Our family was very impressed with the hotel and staff of The Grand Hotel. We upgraded to a bigger room with no problem, they arranged for rental cars, taxis and the hotel shuttle service, all with big smiles! The restaurant served FREE buffet breakfast very morning which was incredible and enjoyed by all! The bellman were very professional and a lot of fun! very good humour by all of them. We highly recommend The Grand Hotel and we will be staying here in the future!!

Derk Murdock, Saskatoon, SK.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Derk M,

We thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and staff. It is great to hear that the staff at the hotel made your stay that much more enjoyable and with smiles to boot! We hope that you were able to us all of our facilities including the two-storey indoor salt-water pool and rooftop jacuzzis. Our buffet breakfast is definitely a highlight for many guests and we are glad that it made the top of your list. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel warmly in the near future!


Warm regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Loved the Grand hotel. Rooms were very modern and clean. Excellent and courteous service, the front desk upgraded me when my room was not ready as we arrived prior to the check in time. Excellent breakfast with eggs, meats cereals and cheeses, delicious and free! The hotel is a few minutes from the eaton mall for great shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Adellytrip,

It is great to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet with all that it had to offer. Our Front Desk staff work hard to make sure every guest has a wonderful experience with us and they will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room. We hope that this stay was not your last and that we will be able to welcome you back in the very near future!


Warm regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Returning to this hotel is like putting on your favorite pair of slippers. They fit perfectly and they're so comfortable. Every time that business or pleasure has taken me to Toronto in the last 5 or 6 years, I've been staying at this hotel and I have never been disappointed. The location is great - a short walk to the Eaton Center and the Dundas subway station - and access to a large number of restaurants and food stores should you want to use the room's refrigerator and microwave. There is a free hot breakfast buffet included from 0600AM every day. The reception and bar/restaurant staff is very friendly and nothing appears to be too much of an ask.The rooms are very comfortable and had a firm mattress. All in all, I had everything that I needed for an enjoyable stay - again.

Room Tip: I like to ask for a room on the lake side. It's quieter as you don't have Dundas traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Michels2,

We are so glad to hear that you have made The Grand Hotel your home away from home for so many years. Our hotel staff will be happy to hear that their hard work has made your stays even better every time that you come to The Grand.

Hope to see you soon !


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

First time here, on business, and I have only positive things to say about the Grand Hotel. A couple of details: Jacuzzi on the room with videos playing - what's not to like? I arrive a little late for the nice breakfast and they go out of their way to make sure that I don't feel rushed (repeatedly offering coffee refills, etc). Spacious rooms are decorated tastefully. Overall a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Envprof,


Thank you for your wonderful review of The Grand Hotel. We pride ourself on offering the best amenities and service possible. We hope that you were able to use the two-storey indoor pool in addition to the rooftop jacuzzis, and if not, that you will be able to use all of our amenities during your next stay with us.


Warm regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our third stay and it lived up to our previous great experiences. While it is a bit north of many key attractions, it's an easy walk or cab ride to downtown and the lakefront. The doormen are exceptionally helpful with luggage, arms full of bags, and information. The front desk staff didn't have the package noted that we had reserved but, after a quick consult with management, produced the requisite package - with many apologies for our brief wait. Service in every way is just excellent! The room was relatively spacious for the price, very clean, and well appointed. The bathroom is not massive but ample, and, unlike other reviewers, we had no issues with noisy fans. The beds are comfortable and laden with pillows of varying firmness.
We have heard some noise from children on our visits but this is no different from any other hotel. I'd suggest a call to the desk immediately when you are disturbed by night noise. Complaining in the morning doesn't allow the staff to deal with the problem in a timely and effective way for everyone who is being disturbed. Breakfast is good (except for the eggs) with lots of choice. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Christyn P,

Thank you for your glowing review of The Grand. We are happy to hear that you have become a regular at our hotel and that you enjoy every stay with us. Your note about noise in the hotel is well informed--we do our best to deal with night time noise and we are glad to hear that you are understanding when not everything is calm and quiet. Additionally, the breakfast seems to be a highlight of many reviews we receive and it is gratifying to hear that you enjoy it too!

We can already tell that this previous stay will not be your last and we hope to warmly welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

My stay here was as a result of meetings nearby. The location is not great. The building is a poor retrofit of an old RCMP building. The service is fair. The rooms ok. The bathrooms old. Noisy is the theme. I heard it all at night. Partiers, children, people making children, the works. Poor HVAC system in room. Bed and pillows a 3/10. Breakfast was good. Service there was great. Unless you have a reason to be near this hotel, there are better options in my view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#15 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.