We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our mini vacation at the Grand Hotel couldn't of been better. This hotel is perfect for families or a romantic getaway. The hotel is located right in the heart of the city(St. Lawrence market, Dundas Square, Eaton Center, and to get on the ferry is about ten minutes of walking). So much to do everywhere for all ages. The hotel has a beautiful indoor pool and a roof top terrace with two jacuzzis. The view of the city from the roof is amazing. They even had a large projector screen to play movies on the roof! Our room was perfect, we stayed in the grand deluxe. There was a small kitchen, king size bed, pull out couch, and two tvs. It was very clean and spacious for two people. The service was amazing! The front desk worker Anna was extremely helpful and gave us great ideas for fun things to do in the area. This hotel could not be beat for the price and we will be happy to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Marylucchetti92,

Thank you very much for your amazing review here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to have provided you with the perfect mini vacation. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our amazing scenic views atop our hotel, our spacious suite style rooms, and our extremely convenient location for downtown Toronto. We look forward to having you enjoy another wonderful stay here at The Grand in the near future!

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    342
    79
    44
    51
See reviews for
247
342
44
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was the worst hotel and customer service I have ever had. Here is a list... the bathroom did not have a fan, air conditioner leaked onto whatever was under the vent (for us that was the bed). The power outlet in our kitchen was directly above our sink (serious fire code issue), the room was cooler than the fridge that had two feet of ice built up inside of it. And at 3am we were woken up out of our beds by the police and asked to leave because the manager saw 2 extra people enter our room on the security camera (we only had 4 originally signed in). Be prepared to have your family head count before entering this hotel, don't dare to have a friend crash!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Took us a while to find a hotel that suited our needs. We wanted to book a suite for 4 and this hotel seemed to offer the best price.

The hotel location is super convenient. It was a 10 minute walk to the center of town (eaton center etc.).

The hotel itself is pretty nice, the decor, the pool and the roof top is really nice and can be enjoyed in the summer time!

The rooms are average, they seem a bit old and need some touch ups. The beds are super comfy. The plus is that there is a little kitchenette and its great for a longer stay and we had our own little balcony. All the basic toiletries are provided as well plus everything is very clean. We stayed on the second floor where most suites were, facing the car park - so it was quiet and had no problems.

The breakfast is really disappointing. Not many options and its the same exact breakfast everyday. We mainly stuck to the fruit and cereal as they had the standard powdered scrambled eggs with too much salt and bacon and sausages.Not alot of choice of good breads, no cheese or cold meats. Plus, bad coffee! Not worth it to pay extra (ours was included) - there is a Tim Hortons 1 min away.

Overall, the hotel is ok, i dont know if i would stay there again, but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Ottawanian,

We appreciate your posting for readers to see. We are delighted to have provided you with gorgeous views from our rooftop patio, our very convenient location, and our suite style rooms with many amenities. Also, I have passed on your concerns over breakfast to our kitchen staff. We hope to greet you back to The Grand in the near future!

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights (3 days). Hotel was nice, staff was polite but not super service-minded. Breakfast was limited:only warm food, toast and a few cereals to choose from, but at least plenty of fruit! Gym was fairly well equipped and spacious. Roof top patio was nice, several sunbeds and a couple of hot tubs. Room (Junior suite) was nice and clean (when we arrived......), spacious with sleeping alcove (glass sliding doors), kitchenette was nice with fridge and microwave. Housekeeping was bad, though. During 3 days our room was cleaned only once. We were out of the room most of the day so there was no reason not to clean it. Location was OK (ten minute walk to Eaton center and same to Yonge/Dundas square and subway station. All in all; not so Grand, just average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Kay71,

Thank you very much for your review here on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to have provided you with a spacious junior suite and amazing scenic views atop our hotel in the rooftop hot tubs. I have passed on your concern about the housekeeping to our staff as this should not have been overlooked. We hope to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more than a grand experience.

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Grand is a beautiful hotel with friendly staff, great food and plenty to do. Love the pool, hot tubs on the roof and the gym.
Having a kitchen in the room is great with toddlers. I would certainly recommend to friends and will be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Jen,

We appreciate your fantastic review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to have provided you with our excellent service, complimentary breakfast buffet, and many other great amenities. Also, we are delighted to hear that you were able to check out the amazing views from atop our hotel with your family. We thank you for your kind words about recommending us to your friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Everything went better then we expected. We were able to check in early and drop off our luggage and go on our tours. The rooms were cleaned properly. There was a fridge and microwave in our room, which is very useful with small kids and toddlers. There were plenty of utensils in the small kitchen to eat our left overs. The bathroom shower had plenty of force, but the counter space in the bathroom is small and you have to use the vanity/ medicine cabinet to store your stuff. The pull out couch is awful to sleep in, but our son didn't mind. The breakfast is great, and plenty of options. Great service at the breakfast. Breakfast was served from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM. The parking is underground and you need your room key to open the garage. The parking spot is tight, and with rentals you have to be careful not to get to close to your neighbor. Parking is $22 a day plus HST (tax). Location is perfect as the crossing street is Dundas street. You can walk may be four or five blocks and you are on the crossing of Young and Dundas which is Toronto downtown. It felt very safe on the most part. There is a Lablaw super market at the end of Jarvis which is great for supplies, such as snacks, milk and water. The room comes with two complimentary bottles of water. You can also walk to St. Lawrence Market (a bit of a hike) but convenient. There is a Tim Horton on the corner of Jarvis and Dundas for coffee and donuts. There is a second cup on Jarvis also but a bit of a walk. There is a gas station on Jarvis if you need to fill the tank before returning the car to the rental. I wanted to mention these to show you how convenient the location is. Every one was more then helpful and accommodating to all our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Moe_Ipak,

Thank you very much for the extremely informative review for many readers to see! We are pleased to have provided you our professional service, great suite utilities, and amazing amenities. Also, we are delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet with many choices to choose from, and we are glad that you were able to find comfort with the many great locations and stores around the hotel. It was extremely impressive to see you dissect these locations and provide other readers with a great knowledge of the area. We look forward to greeting you back to The Grand in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wow! The Grand is gorgeous and stylish. From their exquisite floral arrangements in the lobby to the upscale breakfast buffet to the down pillows to the videos on an enormous screen above the roof top hot tubs, this Garden District hotel suffers only from location. Once inside the oasis, you forget where you are and relax and luxuriate into its amenities and the loving embrace of every staff members' smile and willingness to please. This is a fabulous hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Amy C,

Thank you for your posting for others to see! We are pleased to have made your stay here at The Grand a luxurious one! Also, we are glad that you enjoyed our stylish décor and floral arrangements throughout the hotel, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the amazing complimentary breakfast buffet and the scenic views atop the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warmest regards,
Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#10 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.