We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Lovely place to stay close to everything, the rooms were nice and the staff helpful, The hot tub in the roof was amazing as were the views up there. The proximity to down town was awesome and the Eaton Center a short walk. The door staff was very good and an asset to have in an unfamiliar city!!! The breakfast buffet was good and the garden location lovely, I would definitely stay there the next time Im in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Lisa G,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel and post it for other Trip Advisor readers to see! It is wonderful to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and found our team to be helpful and knowledgeable about the city!

Any attraction or neighborhood you are looking to visit can be easily reached from our hotel – between the Church and Dundas streetcar lines, the nearby subway train and our in-house Cadillac Escalade shuttle, we can get you where you want to go! Spending time on the roof while lounging in the Jacuzzis or taking in the view is a great way to start or end the day!

We hope to see you again at The Grand in the very near future!


Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    368
    88
    44
    54
See reviews for
273
373
47
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here with a friend for a couple of nights in March 2013 and the experience was so good that I stayed again alone a couple of weeks later! Location is great - it's easy to walk to from downtown and the train / bus station. The hotel itself is lovely. Really clean room, great views, relaxing roof hot tubs, friendly staff (cleaning staff too!), good breakfast, etc. No need to look elsewhere when in Toronto.

Room Tip: 'Lake view' rooms for a better view (IMO!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear S K,

We are so happy you had such a wonderful experience during both of your recent stays in March, and thank you for posting a review for other Trip Advisor readers!

We have just recently completed renovations to all our guest rooms and hallways and are so pleased you found the hotel to your liking and returned so soon after! The rooftop Jacuzzis provide a unique space to relax in with a backdrop of panoramic Toronto city views and the views are wonderful! Our central location is tough to beat, with the Eaton Centre, Yonge & Dundas Square and St. Lawrence Market neighbourhoods only a short walk away.

Thank you for the kind words about our team here at The Grand - we will certainly share your review with them!

We very much look forward to having you back at the hotel again soon!

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The underground parking was convenient and reasonable. The room was comfy with a great bed, and extra amenities like couch, fridge, robes, safe. I was very pleased and slept like a baby! The bonus breakfast was awesome! Recommend this place whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Helene S,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review! We are so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, and are happy that our extra amenities were to your liking! The two-level underground parking garage is great for guests driving in to the city requiring parking at a competitive rate! The other amenities always included in your stay, like the kitchenette, bath robes, complimentary buffet breakfast and complimentary internet help make your trip comfortable and pleasant.

A good night sleep is very important and we are so glad you were able to have that, and more, while staying with us!

We hope to see you again at the hotel very soon.

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the weekend of March 23, just an overnight stay with a trip to the theatre. We had passed this hotel many times and had been intrigued with it's impressive exterior and ever present doorman. We were not disappointed with the interior, just as impressive. Our good size room was on the 18th floor, was clean and had more amenities than expected, ie microwave/kitchenette. We had a view of the lake in the distance, my husband particularly enjoyed the roof top vantage for his photography. There are roof top hot tubs and a pool, neither of which we had time to enjoy. The price of the hotel room included breakfast which was heartier than I expected, no continental breakfast, but instead a traditional full breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, pastries, etc. Service was attentive even though breakfast is buffet style.
Since we had limited time before the theatre, we decided to have dinner early at the hotel dining room, Citrus. Service was very good, food delicious. Although limited, the wine list was agreeable.
All in all, we were not disappointed. If there was any negative - no hair dryer, but I always have my travel dryer with me. I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly to singles, families or couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear SusanJSarnia,

Thank you very much for such a positive review, and for posting it on Trip Advisor for other people to see! We were very happy to be able to have you and your husband stay with us this past month, and are very pleased that the allure from the exterior of the hotel brought you in for a night’s stay with us! As an all-suite hotel, we offer all our guests a kitchenette in their rooms and up to a full kitchen in some of the larger suites.

The rooftop is a big draw for our guests, as the 360 degree views of the city are second to none and provide a great space for a photo op!

We are very happy you enjoyed your Citrus dinner so much and we will pass along your kind words to our Chef and his team!

A note for your next stay: hair dryers are located in each guest room in the drawers opposite the bathroom sink!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!


Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a city staycation, and were so impressed with the Grand.\
From the moment you walk in the name lives up to it's expectations. The staff are very cheerful welcoming and very helpful. Can I just say 2 roof top hot tubs with movies playing and a most spectacular view of Toronto's city skyline. If this doesn't get you the food at Citrus will. They have a great menu from sushi to Italian and a wonderful buffet breakfast.
I will definitely be staying her again.

RiRi and Ty

Room Tip: Ask for a 2 floor suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Rianna A,

Thank you very much for posting a review about your recent staycation at The Grand! It is always nice to take a break from the hustle and bustle and treat yourself to a weekend away – or in this case a weekend here! We are so glad were able to relax and enjoy the rooftop and dine in Citrus during your stay and appreciate the kind feedback about our diverse menu!

We hope to welcome you and Ty back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I booked this hotel months ago with a group buy ad as we had stayed here before and really liked the location and rooms. We had to switch the reservation many times prior to our arrival this past weekend. The person on the telephone was not happy to hear that I had to make yet another switch when I called to reschedule this last time (she was quite curt) but we were trying to meet someone who had been very ill and needed to accomodate for this - hence the many switches. As a result of the last phone call I was really wary of how we would be greeted upon arrival and at the restaurant but was pleasantly surprised! From check in to check out we were treated in "grand" style. I read the review about the staff being disorganized but didn't experience that. We felt that the staff was pleasant, courteous and attentive - in fact the server we had in the restaurant was one of the best that I have had in a long time. I know the area might seem a bit sketchy to some who are not that comfortable in Toronto but my advice would be to book anyway - take advantage of the great value this hotel has to offer and just stay inside! The hotel is clean, offers an above average breakfast - no stale muffins and coffee here - and if it isn't up to your standards, keep in mind it is complimentary. You really can't beat the value - you are after all in downtown Toronto! My advice to the woman who was contrary on the phone? That's why it is called the "hospitality" industry - maybe you should take a lesson from the other staff who were incredibly hospitable!

Room Tip: I found the room a bit warm - you really have to crank down the heat if you like to sleep in a cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear luxtravelling_13,

Thank you very much for posting your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor! We apologize for your initial experience when changing your reservation over the phone but are very glad to hear you were met with our kind and courteous front desk agents upon arrival! We will pass along your kind words about our front desk team as well as the Citrus Restaurant team and let them know you were very pleased with the service!

We pride ourselves on offering value to our guests throughout their stay. The option for a hot or cold complimentary buffet breakfast is a great way to start the day and is unique to our hotel, so we are very glad to hear you enjoyed it during your stay!

We hope to see you again very soon!

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel for Toronto. We stayed for three nights for a family reunion. 6 adults and 6 kids ranging from 6-19. What made it so great?
1. Rooms had two queens, wood floors, mini kitchenette, and plenty of space to store our stuff
2. Breakfast included in rate - sumptuous buffet and plenty of seating for us to gather each morning
3. Pool in basement and two hot tubs on the rooftop - our favorite spot to end each day
4. Location - walking distance to Eaton place, subway, streetcars, st Lawrence market, etc
5. Price / Value

Downsides: bathrooms dated, wouldn't let us put a rollaway cot in our room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear PiazInCr,

Thank you for writing a detailed review and sharing it with other Trip Advisor readers!
We are so glad you found our hotel to be so accommodating and comfortable. We have recently completed renovations to all guest rooms and hallways, so it is great to hear the hardwood floors and new beds were to your liking! We are very proud to offer our guests added value throughout their stay. The complimentary hot and cold breakfast buffet is one of the great perks and the rooftop Jacuzzis speak for themselves!

Our location is very central to all the great things Toronto has to offer, and those places that are a bit farther away can easily be accessed via public transit which we are very close to! We also offer a complimentary drop off shuttle service in our house Cadillac Escalade within the downtown core. On your next visit, you’ll have to use that!

We do appreciate you bringing to our attention that we were unable to deliver a rollaway bed to your room. Regretfully, because this is a fire and safety hazard, we were not able to have one sent to your room. If extra space is needed in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know and we will see what other options we have available!

We hope to welcome you back again to The Grand very soon!


Warmest Regards,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#18 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.