We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend stay at the Grand Hotel and we greatly enjoyed the hotel.

Citrus restaurant was awesome! Diverse menu and first class service.

Doormen and front desk were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the pool, very nice clean area and good water temperature.

The room is really spacious modern chic. Grand deluxe room has a nice layout,wood flooring, seating area and two flat screen tvs.

Hotel is close to the eaton centre, king street and the saint lawrence market.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear steveisr,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a great review for other Trip Advisor readers to see! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel and had a chance to dine in Citrus restaurant while staying with us! The indoor pool is a great place to unwind – we hope you also had a chance to take in the view on the rooftop while relaxing in the Jacuzzis! Our close proximity to some of Toronto’s most notable attractions (like the ones you mentioned) make it a great location for people wanting to take in the sights of the city. We can’t wait to see you back at The Grand soon!

Warmly,

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    252
    62
    38
    46
See reviews for
170
240
29
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My friends and I had booked 3 rooms side by side for a 2 night stay as we were all attending a show together that weekend in Toronto. We arrived around 430pm to discover our rooms were not ready yet and we had to wait in the lobby 45 minutes before they came and told us our rooms were ready. We entered our rooms where I then continued to shower and found used shampoo bottles tucked in with our clean towels from the previous guest, making me wonder if the towels were even replaced after they had left. The show ended that night at 11pm and we proceeded back to the hotel to our room and got harassed by security for noise complaints at 1130pm so we dispersed from the hotel. The next day front desk called and asked when we were checking out (even though we had booked 2 nights) and said if we would like to stay another night the rate of the room would change from $209 to $399 per night. As we were leaving (after of course refusing to pay that ridiculous amount) our bill had been charged an additional $70 claiming 2 others had stayed in our room (with one bed) as well. After explaining multiple times to the reception no one else had stayed in our room they forced us to pay the fee explaining to us the manager would deal with it later, which she refunded when she watched the video tapes proving us right. Our weekend get away was completely ruined because of this hotel and I will never recommend or be returning ever again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Natasha R,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We have further investigated your recent stay with us this past weekend and can see that all 3 rooms that were booked with us were all checked in at different times ranging from 3:12pm to 5:30pm. We did find that 2 rooms were checked into the hotel right away, and the third room at 5:30pm. As a token of our apologies for the late check in of the third room, we provided this room a complimentary gift which was sent up shortly after check in.

As an added security measure, we have security which patrols the hotel in the evenings. During the evening of your stay, we had received a complaint from noise that stemmed from traffic between two suites. This concern was brought to the attention of our Night Manager as it was after the midnight hour. We proceeded to have our security investigate the complaint and discovered that the concern had come from your guest suite. By our security team investigating the issues was by no means harassment but was intended to ensure that your stay and the stay of our other guests in the hotel were most comfortable.

I understand there was some confusion with the number of nights you were staying with us and regarding the rate of the room. We do apologize for this and did offer you a second night stay at a reduced rate that would have matched the same rate at which your first night was originally booked at.

I’m sorry that our added security measures to ensure the comfort of all of our guests ruined your weekend but I truly hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hubby and I spent 1 night at the Grand (February 18, 2013). Check-in was a disappointment. We had booked a junior suite October 2012 for thes 1 night stay. When we arrived we were told our room wasn't ready so we took the complimentry drink that was offered while we waited. After our drink we checked back and room was still not ready. We were given our parking pass and told we could park our car while we waited, we proceeded to do so. Since we didn't have a room key yet, we had to use the intercom system so that someone could open the door to the underground parking ........... no one answered, back inside we went. When we were told that our room was ready, we were advised that it wasn't a junior suite, we asked how this happened and were told that someone just booked it. Another comlimentry drink offered. Well, no big deal we really just needed a place to sleep for the night. We brought our stuff to our standard room on the 16th floor and left for our night out. The room was nice and suited our needs. The breakfast buffet is a must!! Great selection and taste. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear its5oclocksomewhere,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I want to sincerely apologize for the way your check-in was handled, and assure you this has been brought to the department’s attention. I am very happy to hear you were pleased with your accommodations once you got settled, and that the breakfast buffet was to your liking. We do our best to offer a wide variety of hot and cold items to suit many tastes!

We look forward to having you back at the hotel soon.

Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Took my boyfriend for his birthday on Family Day weekend. We knew it would be busy but overall we didn't really notice the "extra" people. I called in advance and told them we were celebrating a birthday and upon arrival to our room there was a nice gift and personalized card for him. Very nice touch. We arrived at 2pm and our room was ready. We stayed in the Jr Suite on the 15th floor. Yes you can see the lake but try for something higher. Our room was very comfortable. A little disappointed with the size of the bedroom, but really, who cares. The bed was very comfortable.The large pool was wonderfully warm and comfortable lounge chairs. Felt like a spa! The rooftop hot tubs are fantastic.It was COLD out but put your boots and robe on and run out there. Jump in and enjoy! We were there under the stars and again in the afternoon with the sun.. Perfect. Was busy at night but everyone was friendly and well behaved. Dinner at Citrus was nice but not GRAND. The food was nicely presented and the steak is very big but, there was something lacking. I'm not a picky eater, but I did find something "not there". The celery root soup and mussels were very good though. We moved to the lounge area for after dinner drinks. Nice, but the couches could use an overhaul for sure. The hotel is lovely and yes, great deal on the buffet breakfast for sure.. The amenities are wonderful, so use them. If you can find a deal on line, take it and pack your bathing suit and enjoy some R&R.

Room Tip: if you can, reserve a Jr Suite. Always ask for a high floor facing south if you want to see the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear sunnydaze20,


Thank you very much for the positive review! We are so glad you chose to spend your boyfriend’s birthday with us, and are very happy to have offered the special treat upon arrival. The Junior Suite is a great room if you’re looking for a bit of extra space. We have just replaced all the mattresses in our guest rooms with new ones, so thank you for letting us know the bed was to your liking! Aside from the room, it sounds like you were really able to enjoy all the amenities we have to offer our guests – even braving the cold weather to enjoy the Jacuzzis at night! We do appreciate the feedback regarding Citrus, and are actually in the early stages of a restaurant-wide renovation.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!


Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Grand Hotel this past weekend. We arrived around 2 pm and were able to check in right away. Our room was nicely equipped with 2 tvs and dvd players, a microwave, kitchen sink, and small fridge. Wi-fi is free and worked well although I did have some dropped calls with skype when it would stop working intermittently. The breakfast is included and is the best free breakfast we have ever had at a hotel. There is a great mix of hot and cold foods including fresh fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fries, toast, bagels, pastries, cereal, several types of juice, and coffee. It also has pretty generous hours with breakfast being available until 10 am during the week and 10:30 on weekends.

The location is a 5-10 minute walk from Eaton center and the subway. The neighborhood that you walk through is a bit run down (some graffiti and lots of bars on windows) but still feels safe even at night.

There is a rooftop hot tub which you have to see for the view (though we didn't use it because it was much too cold!) and also a nice pool in the basement with a hot tub as well.

One day we returned to our room around 4:15 pm wanting to relax and were surprised to find out that our room still had not been cleaned for the day (we had been out of the room since around 10 that morning which seemed like ample time for it to be cleaned). The maid was in a nearby room and we asked her to clean our room next while we went to the business center. It was a minor inconvenience but seemed a bit odd that they were still cleaning rooms that late in the day.

Overall, we would not hesitate to stay there again on a return trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear honeybee313,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with others. It’s wonderful to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our deluxe hot breakfast buffet during your stay with us. Hopefully for your next stay with us, it won’t be as cold as it was so that you are able to enjoy the roof top hot tubs!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Warmly,

Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Found this through Booking.com. I was originally looking at another 4 star hotel in the area. My husband and I wanted to have a "Downtown" experience. Comparing the two properties I went with The Grand for the look of the rooms, the free breakfast (excellent), reasonable parking, and free WIFI. The other property had $40/day parking and they charge for WIFI!

We have a lovely room on the 17th floor, the pool, fitness center, and rooftop Jacuzzi's are great. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear beachloversx2,

I am so pleased that you had found us on bookings.com and that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband for your downtown experience! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future !

Warmest Regards,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My fiancee and I visited the Grand this weekend to celebrate Valentine's Day and our anniversary. We arrived too early to check in, and were told to come back at 3 pm. Not a problem at all. We went and had some lunch, and returned at 3. Again, we were advised that our suite was not ready. Instead, they tried to upsell us to a larger studio, which was ready, for an extra $50. She kept asking, and we kept refusing. Finally, she told us that they would give us 2 free drink coupons and we could go wait in the restaurant for our room to be ready. She said it would be 30 minutes, and that she'd come get us when it was done. We sat down, ordered drinks... and an hour later, we were still waiting. We finally stood in line again. When we got to the desk, at around 4:15, we were told that our room was finally ready. We were given apologies and excuses as to why we weren't informed it was done and we could check in. Yes, they were busy, but a frustrating and lengthy check-in process regardless. The staff seemed very new to the whole process, and it just seemed disorganized.

We were very pleased with the suite, once we finally got our keys. Our Junior Suite was on the 14th floor, and it was clean and bright, with everything in good condition and working order. There was a standard sized bathroom just inside the door, then a kitchenette with a microwave and a larger bar fridge, complete with a dinner service for 4. There was also a couch, a couple of chairs, a desk, and a small flatscreen TV. The separate bedroom, which was basically just big enough for the king-sized bed and one nightstand, also had a TV. There was a welcome card and basket with almonds, cashews and shortbread cookies, which were a nice touch. The room was nice: absolutely no complaints there.

We went to Citrus, the on-site restaurant, for dinner, as again, a certificate was included with our package. The restaurant was nice: high ceilings, modern French provincial decor and white linen tablecloths. Once again, service was kind of amateurish; everyone was very nice, but not polished. The food largely made up for it, though.

We had a theatre performance to attend, and the doorman was nice enough to hail us a cab in a mini-snowstorm. He was also keeping the front door area and stairs free of snow.

Our night's sleep was good, but there was a fair amount of hallway noise. The doors close really heavily, and there were some noisier guests on our floor. Overall, it didn't affect us too much, though.

We went back to Citrus for the breakfast buffet, which is included with the room. The place was totally chaotic: there were napkins and food on the floor. There was juice all over the juice table.There was no coffee. The staff seemed to be struggling to keep up. The food was pretty good: there were hot selections like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and French toast, and cold items like fresh pastries, yogurt, and cereal. On a less busy weekend or a weekday, it probably would have been fine.

Our checkout was quick and smooth. The underground parking is very tight, but fine with our small car. People with SUVs and minivans seemed to have a hard time navigating, and we were stuck behind a number of people who seemed to be having issues. If you have a larger vehicle, you might want to consider the valet parking.

We would definitely stay again; the package we purchased was a good value, and overall, the experience and location were great. I probably would have given The Grand an excellent rating if it weren't for the annoying issues at check-in.

Room Tip: Ask for something on a higher floor to get a better view and avoid street noise. If you're on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Althena80,


Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. Your comments can only help us improve the level of service that we strive to achieve.

It is my personal regret that you and your fiancée had a less than perfect experience for your Valentine’s Day and Anniversary celebration.

I have shared your comments and feedback with the appropriate managers within the hotel.
I am glad that you would consider us again for future stays. Should your travels bring you to Toronto, please contact me directly (gegglesfield@grandhoteltoronto.com ) as it would be my pleasure to assist you with your reservation.

Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#14 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#14 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.