We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Secret on the Roof!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Toronto to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Secret on the Roof!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Loved this hotel. Me and 3 girlfriends stayed here for 3 days and came across the roof top hot tub equipped with an extremely large screen projecting MTV on the roof! That was by far the best part.
The room was a bit tiny, but not bad. The location was nice a close to shopping/mall, just where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Kelly P,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are glad that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the hot tubs and projection screen on the roof! It really is a great place to relax and enjoy the unobstructed views of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future !

Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    315
    68
    40
    47
See reviews for
220
305
40
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we checked in they upgraded our room to a one bedroom suite with a balcony. We were very impressed with the room. The bed was so comfortable, I wished I could've taken the pillows home with me. Very clean and the housekeeping ladies were way above average, always around and made sure that you had everything you needed and actually took pride in their job! The pool was huge and never very too busy, the fitness centre was better then the YMCA in my hometown. If you like hot tubbing, the roof-top is the place for you. Although it can get busy it is worth it. The view of the city at night is breathtaking.
The buffet breakfast included had scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns,french toast, fresh fruit salad a huge selection of cold cereals, breads,bagels, jams, pasteries, 4 different fruit juices, coffee and tea. (that I can remember).
We loved it here so much that we stayed an extra night. I wished it could have been longer.
I did forget to tell the maintence manager that one of the dining room chair backs was loose.
We stayed in room 209 which had a nice full kitchen, dining room and very large private balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Morning LuvsBears,


Thank you so very much for your review and sharing your experience on Trip advisor. It is so great to here that you enjoyed your stay and in fact, extended your stay with us.

Thank you very much for letting us know about the chair in room 209. I will ensure our maintenance is on top of it right away!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in Toronto!


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at The Grand Hotel in Toronto Saturday night. Upon checkin the lounge was dirty, the restaurant was filthy and the elevator floors were littered with bits of debris. The room was disappointing. The floors had not been mopped let alone swept, there were smooshed spiders on the ceiling that were not cleaned off, the hand towels in the bathroom had a few pubic looking hairs on them and a very lumpy bed. Overall, not a clean hotel at all. Service was below average. They have a rooftop that is made to sound like a happening place with a view. Not well lit, no bar, and there were only couples up there in robes for the hot tub that all have their own liquor bottles everywhere. The breakfast was complimentary but totally self serve. We were sat and upon returning to our table with the food, our table was taken by a new couple!! Not a good meal. For $199 a night, we could have stayed at the Hilton, Sheraton etc for a much better experience. Extremely disappointing.

Room Tip: If you stay, be sure to speak up about the cleanliness or have your room price adjusted. To pay $19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for one night in town for the Springsteen concert. Wouldn't have been our first choice but not many options as city was full with various events.

Our room was $249 and included a buffet breakfast for 2. Hotel was top notch. Spacious, clean rooms with wet bar and good sized fridge. King sized bed was very comfortable.

We loved the pool area and rooftop lounge with jacuzzi's. Very nice touch.

Would recommend to anyone and would come back in a heartbeat. Staff were excellent to deal with. Excellent buffet breakfast as well ($15.00-$20.00 value).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Good Morning Canadatravellers2,

Your feedback is most welcome and appreciate you taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next visit to Toronto!


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at The Grand last weekend. We had two adjoining rooms and although a little smaller than they looked on the website, the rooms worked out well. We put our 2 small kids on the pull out couch, which they thought was cool. They had their own television to watch too. Our friends were in the other room with a baby and had ample space to wash bottles in the little kitchenette too. The pool was great...the rooftop view was awesome. Wish we had more time to enjoy the hotel. The complimentary hot breakfast was decent and made us feel like we got a little something extra for our money. Parking was convenient and comparable in price to other hotels in a big city. Clean, nice staff, close walk to the Eaton Centre-- overall a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Good Morning MommyRoc,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend and you had an opportunity to take advantage of the breakfast as well as our amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!


Warmly,


Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had not had an opportunity to stay at the Grand in a couple of years, and were happy to find that it is every bit as lovely as it was on our last stay. It is without a doubt the only hotel we would stay at in Toronto. The service is wonderful, and the rooms are clean and quiet. We were celebrating an anniversary, and were delighted to find a gift basket from the hotel, greeting us upon our arrival in our room - a very thoughtful gesture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was a terrific choice for a three day stay in Toronto. The staff is gracious and knowledgable. The room was spacious and immaculate and had the most comfortable bed and pillows. But the rooftop hot tubs and viewing area had a spectacular view of the city.
It is conveniently located near the downtown area and has a shuttle that will take you there.

The breakfast buffet has something for everyone, from yogurt to fresh fruit to cereals and eggs, all served in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Always ask for a city side view, the windows seem endless
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Manager at Grand Hotel Toronto, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Good Afternoon Auntielbl,

Thank you very much for your review and sharing your pleasant experience you had at The Grand Hotel with other Trip Advisor members. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt at home with our comfortable beds and pillows. I am also glad that you had the opportunity to take in the breath taking view of the city from our roof top patio!

Auntielbl, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and once again, thank you for sharing your experience!

Warmly,


Greg Egglesfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Toronto

Address: 225 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#15 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.