We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport to your Saves list
Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Carlingview Drive, Toronto, Ontario M9W 5E8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“ok for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My flight was canceled due to snow storm and I had to find a place to stay for the night. The airline company gave me a number to call for hotels so you can get a discount due to the weather situation. This one was the cheapest one we could find close to the airport ($91 CAN). My first complain is that my husband tried to book the hotel for me as I was still at the airport and they told him that he couldn’t do that because they have to use my credit card and not his which is very stupid and not very accommodating. There is a bus shuttle between the hotel and the airport to make it easy.

I got a room on the first floor, which is a non-smoking area but the hallway leading to the rooms had a strong old cigarette smell. The room was clean (even though I found a little bug) and the bed comfortable. They also offer free wifi, which I think it’s only for 24 hours, not sure. Downside: when I asked where I can get drinking water instead of that bottle that was in the room (that I already tried in another hotel and didn’t like), the front desk guy told me that I can drink the one from the tap. And I also asked for milk which they don’t have even for the coffee. Breakfast is really boring, consisting only of coffee and tea with muffins and some pastries; the sign said that breakfast is from 6 – 10 am but found out it was only until 9 am or if you’re lucky 9:30 am.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review and provide us with your feedback.

With regard to using your husband's credit card to pay, I am sorry to hear of your challenges however we abide by rules and regulations set out by the financial institutions, like all other retail business, we are unable to process anyone else's credit card for payment without an official written consent.

Thank you for your other comments, which I will share with our team to impact improvements. Please reach out to us directly if we can be of any assistance.

Have a wonderful day.

With best regards,

James Wu.
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    90
    47
    16
    17
See reviews for
53
77
23
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked here for the park and fly. Upon arriving at the hotel had to prepay for everything since we were staying at the end of our vacation. We then had to follow the shuttle bus to a fenced yard that was not by the hotel. It was not even a proper parking lot. Upon our return to Toronto at 4 a.m., called the hotel as instructed for pick-up. Was told the bus would be there right away. After a 35 minute wait, in -26 weather, a shuttle driver from another hotel picked us up since we had been waiting so long. When we got to the hotel, my husband had to take the hotel shuttle (which had never made it to the airport ) to the parking lot and dig out our car while I did the check-in. The man at the front desk claimed that their hotel shuttle driving claimed that no-one was waiting for him at the airport when he went by however we stood outside at the pick-up as soon as I called the hotel. Was then informed the elevator was out of order (and had been for a week according to the maid). We had to get a security guard to help carry our luggage to our room. Elevator still our of order when we left. Room was fine but the rest of the experience with this place was less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and I appreciate your feedback. I will review your comments with our team to impact improvement.

Please reach out to us if we can be of any assistance.

Have a wonderful day.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed at Carlingview for a Pre-Flight stay, Check in was quick and smooth, Given all the information about the hotel, the airport shuttle, breakfast and how to get access to the pool at the property next door.

Its a basic airport hotel nothing fancy but serves its purpose just fine, Airport shuttle was prompt and on-time, driver was friendly helped with bags and everything.

The rooms were clean bed was comfortable rooms were a little warm hard to get the heating and cooling unit to temperature you liked but not a big deal.

There is Greek restaurant downstairs, we had dinner there food was good no complaints!

1 week of parking was included which is great alot of times you can stay the night and park there for less than just parking at Park N Fly or the Airport however the only downfall here is the parking is off site in a back lot that is a little sketchy but it is fenced and gated my car was there for 8 days no issues.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and your feedback. I really appreciate your comments and will forward your feedback to our team.

Please reach out to us if we can be of any assistance.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had birds enter through the ducts and come in our room where the pipe is for the sink. The breakfast is crap have a stail muffin or tea. Front desk didn't know what was going on. When we took the shuttle service the guy never showed up when we arrived at the airport, waited for an hour and a half in the cold. Called 4 times and was told he was going to be there shortly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and for your comments. Having birds inside the hotel is a very unusual challenge we have this year, mainly due to the prolong deep cold, the birds are desperate to find shelter. We have since rectified the situation after your stay to ensure this challenge did not happen again.

I will be sharing your comments with our team and use it to impact change for the better.

Please contact us if you can be of any assistance.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Friendly and accommodating staff. Not much hassle when we had to extend our stay due to bad weather. Close to highways. we loved the fact this was very close to airport and not very expensive. There is a greek restaurant attached to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to write a review, and we appreciate your feedback which we will share with the team.

Please reach out to us if we can be of assistance.

Have a wonderful day.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orillia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Every year we stay at this hotel, the day before our flight and on our return. This year we booked in on 7th Jan and again on our return 22nd Jan.
The hotel is very comfortable. The beds our great, lots of pillows and thick fluffy duvets.
The front desk is very efficient and service is tops.
We stayed at the Royal York, downtown Toronto, on the night of the Maple Leafs home opener. Very Pricey. I can honestly say that the accommodations at the Carlingview are equal to those at the Royal York, but, half the cost.
The room also includes parking in a secure, locked compound, this alone saves a lot of money.
Shuttle service to a from the airport is very good.
We definitely will book this hotel again next January.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your amazing review, and for your support. Our small team appreciates your patronage very much. We look forward warmly welcoming you back soon.

Have a wonderful day.

With best regards,

James Wu
Area Director of sales and marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

It was a great place to stay for a reverse stayover with 2 weeks of parking included. We paid for our hotel room and parking before we left for two weeks in Jamaica and it was very reasonable.
We had two rooms booked and one vehicle to be parked. Luis was very pleasant with me when I went to pay upfront before we left as well as getting the shuttle to us to park the vehicle. When we arrived back from Jamaica it was 4:30 a.m. and Dameon was also very pleasant and prompt at giving us our keys to the rooms. He was also very helpful and gave us a late check-out till 1pm. The rooms were very clean as well as the bed linens and the beds were very comfortable. We we checked out Luis was once again very pleasant and got the shuttle to pick up our vehicle. I would definitely stay at the Carlingview again and thank you Luis and Dameon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James W, Director of Sales at Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your wonderful review. I will ensure that Damien and Luis receives accolades.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back the next time you are in town.

Have a wonderful day.

With best regards,

James.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport

Address: 221 Carlingview Drive, Toronto, Ontario M9W 5E8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlingview Airport Hotel
Carlingview Airport Toronto
Carlingview Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlingview Toronto Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.