We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Arms Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
NYC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

NEVER AGAIN will I stay at this over-rated hotel.
The room prices are atrocious for a so-called 5-star hotel.
Greeting at the door was nice. Front desk amicable.
Very ghostly feeling with no punch to this hotel.
The setting dull, old. Looks like they have let the Arms go.
When my wife and I went into the steak restaurant we were greeted with an abrupt 'we are not open'. Not an inviting atmosphere.
Staff were hospitable but felt as if they were not entirely FOR the hotel.

I would never ever go back.
Again the room prices do NOT justify the stay.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    29
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
34
73
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

I enjoy trying different hotels in my travels. As I visit Toronto frequently, it is easy for me to try different properties, especially since Toronto has gotten a few new hotels in the past year or two.

Well, all I can say that trying different properties is not something I plan on doing again. There is absolutely nothing that compares to the Windsor Arms. It's a true boutique hotel with an amazing location, service and facilities. The Spa is incredible, the Bar is fun and the new restaurant, steak house, is the best. The Hotel suites are fab, spacious and sophisticated. None of this cheap and trendy stuff here.

Had a great time, staff knows my preferances and chatting with an A list movie star that tells me he always stays here just rounded out a great experience.

  • Liked — large and spacious suites with the latest of technology. great restaurants, bar and spa
  • Disliked — not much in views--low building
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

When I walked into the front desk I was immediately checked in and my luggage taken to my room. I had a meal in their new steakhouse and was amazed with its ambiance and great food. It felt a lot like a restaurant in Tribeca in New York or a restaurant in Fashion Island in SoCal. The room was comfortable and room service was attentive. The drinks were potent and the staff at night was quite attentive. Most of all my MOm was with me and when she needed help it was immediate. I enjoy this place and I feel as though I never left my place California other than the snow.

  • Liked — Internet
  • Disliked — View out of my room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2007

We stayed at the Windsor Arms for 2 nights December 21st & 22nd, 2007 in a 2 bedroom suite.

Check in was fast and friendly and we were escorted up to our suite (412) by a staff member who showed us where everything was (ie) the many light and sound controls throughout.

In our room there was a plate of Christmas Cookies waiting for us. The suite was very comfortable with a living room, with wide screen TV, master bedroom with wide screen TV, second bedroom with 2 twin beds, bathroom with shower and ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi tub.

The suite was spotless and well kept with everything you might need, the beds had whote fluffy duvets and there were plenty of towels, soaps, lotions etc and 4 robes for the 4 of us.

The doorman and front desk staff were all friendly & welcoming, room service was quick and efficient. We liked the location of the Windsor Arms just tucked away on a quiet street off busy Bloor Street and it's trendy shopping.

The hotel assisted us with luggage storage on our check out day and with restaurant reservations prior to arrival. We highly recommend the Windsor Arms.

  • Liked — Lost of space for 2 adults & 2 teens, 3 Televisions, 2 bathrooms
  • Disliked — Our view was of industrial looking rooftops/vents
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

I really enjoyed my visit to the Windsor Arms spa. It's on the 4th and 5th floors of the hotel and has a lovely indoor pool and sauna. The services at the spa were great and the estheticians were quite good. The waiting area is quite small, but there is also a full gym and a terrace that you can enjoy in the summer. They can also order lunch in and there is an area where you can sit and eat it.

The spa was quiet and serene and not crazy busy, so it was a nice place to relax. My husband and I had a couples massage in a room with running water and side by side tables. Very relaxing. We then sat by the pool and enjoyed swimming in it together. It was a great way to spend the afternoon and just relax.

i would definitely go back and do recommend the spa to others.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite in this hotel in March 2006. The hotel is very small and has a boutique feel. It's quite intimate and quiet compared to many hotels in Toronto. The room was lovely and very relaxing. The service was good but not comparable to the Park Hyatt or Four Seasons. The spa is nice but certainly nowhere near as nice as the Park Hyatt's Stillwater Spa. All in all, we had a nice stay but I wouldn't return at those prices ($600 for the suite). The Four Seasons and Park Hyatt in Toronto have better rates, amenities, restaurants and service.

  • Liked — Very private and quiet... room was peaceful
  • Disliked — Very pricey compared to other options in Toronto
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

I should have read the reviews first before allowing my travel agent to book me in at this hotel. It was the worst stay I have ever experienced in my life. It started upon my arrival with no doorman and having to bring my own bags in. There was three people standing at the front desk and no one offered to help, further more upon check-in the three people seemed more like a comedy act than a front desk. I was not escorted to my room nor asked if i would like to be escorted or needed help with my luggage.

Upon entering my room I noticed a pungent smell. The room appeared clean but was soon to find this was far from the truth. There was fresh lipstick on the duvet.

I strongly recommend that would be travellers rethink their stay at this particular hotel. I have informed my travel agent of my disapproval so she does not make the same mistake twice.

Another thing to note is this hotel says it is a four star, it is not, it has a three star rating, which is still too high of a rating.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Address: 18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Toronto
#10 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#19 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.