We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fantastic staff, beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 141 hotels in Toronto
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Most fantastic staff, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year when I was in town for the Toronto Film Festival and will definitely be staying again this year! I have never experienced a hotel with a more attentive staff than the Windsor Arms. I love my bed at home and I'm rarely impressed with a hotel beds, but wow. This place truly had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! A absolute gem all around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    25
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
33
67
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a wonderful find! This is a beautiful boutique, all-suite hotel in a quiet street just off Bloor Street West. It was my birthday and we decided to stay the night in the city and take in a restaurant. On arrival, we were upgraded from a junior suite to a Deluxe Suite – a great start and puts you in the right mood. The staff were warm and friendly from the doorman and receptionist to the bar staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
The facilities were all spotless and I can find no fault – highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

What a sweet gem of a hotel. It feels very small and boutique but offers all entities of a larger hotel. A charming little lobby with very warm staff, from the doormen to the desk attendants all were friendly and helpful. It is situated in a quiet street off the main road, close to the university and shopping and transit stations. A spa and indoor pool are added benefits along with a tea room (loaner tea hats available) and lounge like restaurant with a basic breakfast buffet was appreciated. Very dark hallways led to our suite. Despite being upgraded I felt the room was cramped for a family of four. A harp in the corner could've been swapped with a table or chair. Overall a nice stay but I won't return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door we were greeted by friendly, attentive staff members who took care of our every need. The majority of the hotel is an older style building that has been elegantly updated. Our room was clean and spacious, though not overly so, and the hallways were quiet and private. It is not cheap for the night, but in many ways is as expected service, rooms, and atmosphere for the price. I will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding and was truly impressed by the comfort and decor of our suite (the one with the guitar on the wall) and the friendliness of the staff (with one exception). The old hotel has been lovingly restored with all the modern amenities including an espresso machine in the room and lots of space. The halls are decorated with great photos of actors and politicians from the 60's and 70's. the salt water pool was nice to stretch out in in the morning and the exercise machines were top-quality, and the breakfast buffet in the Living Room was quite good.

Our only concern was with the comportment of the special events manager for the wedding reception on Saturday night. He seemed very irritable and hassled, snapping at guests for little things like going down in the elevators before he wanted or not being able to find their seating cards at the many tables. All of the people at our table commented spontaneously that they found him to be rude and inhospitable. Maybe he was having a hard night, as he was quite relaxed and friendly the next morning.

All-in-all, my wife and I were very pleased with this lovely small hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a bit noisy when a special event such as a wedding is taking place. They stop thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

There was a private event that evening that was right below my room, sounded like a nightclub, complete with pounding bass and swearing patrons on the patio. I could hear every word of every conversation. At 11 pm, I called the front desk to complain and got a remarkably unhelpful, "it's a private event going on until 1-2 am". I explained that, in my room, it sounded like I was actually AT the party, to which I got a laugh, but no solution offered. Impossible to sleep. Brutal, which is unfortunate, as I was rather enjoying myself until then.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Arrived at about midday - room (understandably) not ready, but no offer of day room or changing facilities was made. Had a light lunch in the bar - food was fine but the service was awful.

Our suite was large airy and delightfully furnished.

Unfortunately, we were the only people down for breakfast the next morning - so the waiter made breakfast seem like a race. And silly as it may sound - "lift muzak" really does not add anything. The following morning was Mother's Day so a limited breakfast was served in the bar. I think the restaurant was for celebration brunch. However breakfast was being cleared by the time we went down stairs well before the stated closing of 11.00am

Its location is great and the doormen are just lovely. The local feedback was that while it had been wonderful.....and despite its refit, "it's not what it was". Think it could be a truly wonderful hotel with more care paid to training staff. Some were wonderful.....others not good at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Address: 18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Toronto
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#9 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.