We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spot for TIFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Arms Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Chatham, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Spot for TIFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I would like to personally recommend the Windsor Arms Hotel as a great place to stay even during the craziness of TIFF. My wife and I came in to town on business and got caught up in the festival. Thanks to George Friedmann and his staff for taking such special care of us during our stay. My wife and I enjoyed our stay so much. We felt like stars even though we are not. Thanks again to George and everyone at the hotel it was a wonderful experience.
Sincerely
Henry C. Roffelsen Jr.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    25
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
33
67
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Located right off a high-end shopping road, in a quiet little street you would find WIndsor Arms. A small piece of heaven right in Toronto. It is romantic boutique hotel with only a few rooms, but those are well maintained and offer all you might need whilst away from home. I just loved the bathroom which offered both a hot bath and a shower as well as quality cosmetic items. The bedroom was spacey and the bed itself was more than comfi to sleep in. The living room area was neat with a huge flatscreen tv (too bad I hardly ever watch), Nespresso machine and enough ground to feel more like at home rather than in a tiny hotel room. All perfectly spotless. Staff was extremely helpful and at your service - no matter which hour. Make sure you try one of the tea rooms. Too bad I was unfortunately sick during my stay and could not do so...
Breakfast was nothing very special, with only a few choices for free (of course there is a fantastic menu for a charge) but the waiter was absolutely great. We just loved him.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Still my favourite hotel in Toronto. It's quite yet just a few steps from the best shopping in the city. Within the city block are Tiffany & Co., Cartier, Louis Vuitton, Chanel, Hermes, Prada, Coach and more. This visit, I stayed for 10 days in one of the 'Yorkville' rooms. The internet functioned seamlessly whether in my room or on my iPad while enjoying the superb buffet breakfast. The a-la-carte room service was delivered quickly and fresh each time. The doorman greeted me by name each and every time. The concierge diligently explained the features of the extensive in-room entertainment system. I especially like the separate living room space in every room of this hotel as well as the spa-like bathrooms. The quality of furnishings is top-notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I love the Windsor Arms. It is a small boutique hotel in a great location. The concierge Kevin made wonderful recommendations for restaurants. We checked in early and the room was awesome. I will definitely stay here on future visits to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I spent a night at the Windsor Arms Hotel. What a delightful boutique hotel. We were upgraded to a cozy and very comfortable one bedroom suite. The complimentary buffet breakfast was perfect.
All the staff were simply terrific. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Location of Windsor Arms is perfect...on a quiet street but within easy walking distance of some of Toronto's finest shops and restaurants. Understated decor and furnishings but has a definite charm. Service is excellent! Would definitely recommend this small luxury hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I returned to the Windsor Arms ("Romance Package") for our 40th anniversary on Thanksgiving Weekend, October 2012. The hotel, while obviously fully renovated since then, is much as we remembered it on our wedding day: low key, old world charm, with understated, luxury touches throughout. Location is on a quiet side street, just minutes to Bloor Street shopping, Yorkville and the ROM. Service is personal and friendly, with no ostentation or obsequiousness. The deluxe suite is nicely laid out, with the most comfortable bed of any hotel we have stayed in.
We highly recommend it for luxurious pampering, despite two minor annoyances: a) on both evenings it took 45 minutes to get a bucket of ice (meal room service apparently takes precedence), b) the surround sound system and analogue thermostat are impossible to control (alarm at 5:00 am anyone? Had to unplug to disconnect).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Address: 18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Toronto
#8 Family Hotel in Toronto
#9 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#15 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.