We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Arms Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Windsor Arms is our favorite place to stay in Toronto: our home away from home. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable and elegantly decorated. The service provides a personal touch: people know your name; your butler is at your beck and call. The ammenities are first class. the location is convenient to down town activities.
It's not perfect: the lobby has limited seating and no real place to lounge; the toilet sound like a rocket taking off.
This is a botique hotel; small, personal and a nice setting for couples, friends and family or a business person looking for peace quiet and privacy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    30
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
35
75
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It's a great location, but despite it's very British name and interior decor (which is exquisite) and being British I was surprised not to see tea facilities in the room - just coffee.

They did compliment me a tea, which was kind after our 1 hour journey to get there - otherwise it's $5!

The fire alarm went off at 3.30am and the air con was 'clicking' all night, which I recorded and played to the reception in the morning - so you can imagine I didn't get much sleep ;-) So not the best experience...

The next morning we were asked the right questions 'did you enjoy your stay/have a nice sleep' but our response being the air con and fire alarm didn't justify and apology or much response to their question?! Certainly not a discount to a bad sleep which is what you want from a hotel no?

The breakfast was good (sausage horrid) & the waiter was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Overall the Windsor Arms deserves the high ratings it receives. Our suite was well-equipped and generously sized, the bed was comfortable, the bath-room spacious (if somewhat eccentrically arranged, and with a shower attachment that needed to be more securely fitted in its housing), and service was polite and attentive, though perhaps not as situation-specific as it should be given the hotel's advertising emphasis on boutique-style butlering services etc For example, indication that the television in the main room of our suite was not operating properly generated attempts to make it do so from a very helpful employee, but no offer of a modest price reduction when he failed to remedy the problem. Also the sound system -- which fed through to separate speakers in every room from a central bedside console -- was eccentrically, and hence frustratingly, set up, with sufficient buttons in the individual room controls that seemed to serve no purpose as to complicate one's working out which ones did actually do something. A cursory summary by a staff-member who knows the system is not adequate, and a printed guide explaining its operation needs to be provided. I got the impression that some of the hotel staff may not have known the hotel and its resources as well as was necessary for them to be able to deliver on the promise of meticulous, client-specific service.
The Sunday brunch buffet was outstanding -- the best buffet I can remember ever having. And the regular breakfast -- included in the room price -- which we tried on our other morning there was very good too.
One decided, and slightly worrying, oddity is that when we asked if there were stairs (rather than just the elevator) down from the second floor, we were told by front-desk staff that there weren't. Speculating that this couldn't possibly be the case (it would surely be contrary to basic fire regulations), we explored along the stretch of the second-floor corridor that crosses above the entrance hall and found at the end of it an unprepossessing looking staircase behind a door, which we assume did indeed lead downstairs (though it looked sufficiently scruffy and uncared for that we thought it might be intended just for staff use and didn't venture down it, simply retreating to the elevator instead). But in the absence of indication of fire exits in the suite itself, it seems rather cavalier of staff to be telling guests that the only way out from an upper hotel floor is an elevator that in the case of a fire would be unusable.

We might stay there again. We would certainly go to the Sunday brunch buffet again. But overall I think that staff need to be a little better informed, and show a little more flexibility and initiative, for this hotel fully to deliver on the genuine substance rather than just the surface show of its claims for attentive service. Our immediate comparison point was Langdon Hall (Cambridge, Ontario), which we had stayed in a few weeks earlier, and which genuinely delivered on every front on its claims for exemplary accommodation, food, and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Windsor Arms for 6 nights in September and it was magnificent. It truly is a one of kind slice of heaven. The hotel is all suites and when you enter your room you never want to leave. From the moment your butler brings your luggage to your room to the moment you leave there is so much attention to detail. The staff knows everyone by name and every request is handled with the utmost efficiency. When I go to Toronto there is no other place I would stay! I go annually and Iook forward to every moment there! If you haven't stayed there you must try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in late August and we loved the great size of the rooms as well as the Butler Pantry.
I believe the charm of this small bouttique hotel says it all. The special touches that make it special are the treats at night time,the Breedlove guitar on the wall for guest to play. The breakfast buffet could be enhanced but was adeqaute and fast for those on the go.
The restaurant was good,and the service from the front desk was prompt and professional.
Our spa visit was not over the top but was on a scale of 1-10 I would rate the services at a 6.
Location was perfect for reaching many of the stores and restaurants.
I would stay here and make this my first choice.
The only complaint I have is the AC seemed to be not working after several attempts with Maintenece I gave up. So hope that is resolved next visit. The management did offer to move me to another room but we were settled in and not worth the hassle.

Room Tip: Choose the suite it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My partner and I stayed there for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. The hotel is all suites and we stayed in a deluxe suite (room 403). The suite is very spacious with the bedroom separated from the living area by sliding glass doors. Both the living area and the bedroom have a flat screen TV. The bathroom has a jacuzzi like tub and a shower. Wifi internet service was free and very fast. The room was very quiet- we did not hear any noise from any other room or from the wedding reception that was going on Saturday night on the first (ground) floor.
The staff was superb, efficient, friendly and very helpful.

A free buffet breakfast was included in the price. It consisted of croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, toast and a vegetarian dish. Juices, tea and coffee also were included. The waiter we had was named Shaker and he was nothing short of spectacular- the model of fast, courteous, service who goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need.

The hotel had a very upscale British feel to it but without any of the pretentiousness you might expect. It is in my opinion a 5 star hotel so expect to pay 5 star prices but it is worth the price. There is a coffee maker in each suite which is complimentary. There is also a butler's pantry where they place an evening snack and also place your complimentary newspaper. They will also shine your shoes for free and have them back in the morning. Many of the guest were well dressed but we were in shorts and jeans and t shirts and never felt out of place or looked down upon.

The location is in the Bloor/Yorkville area so it is one block from the upscale boutique shops on Bloor Street. It is within walking distance of the gay village but I would recommend a taxi if you are trying to get to the downtown area.

Our stay was absolutely wonderful, we have no regrets and we can not wait to go back there again to stay!

Room Tip: stay on 4th floor for a very quiet experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Windsor Arms in July 2012 . We were all very tired from a long 14 hour flight- got to the hotel to find that they didn't have a booking for us ..... although we had booked via booking .com. Long story short the gentleman at the front desk ( I think his name was Kevin ) was very helpful and managed to find the booking in the end. We found through out our stay that everyone , from the door men to the waitpersons to be very friendly,welcoming and chatty.
The rooms were comfortable and clean and our sons enjoyed the butler service of tiny yummy cakes in the afternoon.
It was very close to the Natural History museum and a lot of shops. We even found a lovely park to stroll around early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Arms Hotel

Address: 18 St. Thomas Street, Toronto, Ontario M5S 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#13 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#23 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consecutively voted the #1 hotel in Toronto by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine, the Windsor Arms Hotel is nestled on a quiet street ideally located just steps away from Yorkville, the heart of Toronto's most fashionable shopping and entertainment district. An aura of warmth, discreet luxury, and the latest technology combined with our exceptional level of service makes Windsor Arms Toronto's most luxurious boutique hotel. Behind our century-old portals are 28 new luxury suites with 24-hour butler service. The Windsor Arms is host to the Courtyard Cafe - open for Sunday brunch and special events; Prime Steakhouse -open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a full Vegan menu; the Tea Room for Afternoon Tea and Lounge twenty-two for tapas and cocktails. The Spa offers fully serviced individual treatment rooms, swimming pool and exercise facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Windsor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Arms Toronto
Windsor Arms Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.