We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Toronto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book our Shopping Package
Ranked #27 of 142 hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In the heart of Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Best location possible for a traveller or business hotel ! Right in the heart of downtown Eaton centre of Toronto . Taking the short cut of the back exit of the hotel lobby through the Trinity church , right into Eaton centre .
Service good at the front desk esp from Carlos who was very helpful .
Rooms large and clean . Good selection of coffee but not of tea .
Not much view from the rooms .
Pool not much attractive though ! Paid Wi-Fi in the rooms and free Wi- fi poor in the lobby !
Best feature is the location !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    321
    104
    25
    14
See reviews for
151
170
48
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was nice and the location was close to Eaton Center, hop on hop off sightseeing bus stop, lots of stores and restaurants. Our room was clean and the staff was very helpful with directions and information. We kept our car parked and walked to many points of interest including the St. Lawrence Market and the waterfront. Would definitely stay there again if we ever go back to Toronto. Workout center was better than most of those you find in hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is a good place to stay for a few nights at a cheap rate. Our room was very basic and modest but fulfilled its function. We just stayed two nights while visiting Niagara falls during the day.

We were four (3 adults one child) staying in one room with two double beds. The beds are small, but it worked for us.

The room had two double beds, one desk and chair, closet (including iron and ironing board), one sofa. The sofa clearly had some old stains so we didn't get close to it (yuck). Otherwise it was well kept. Nothing fancy in the bathroom, just a few personal items (but no shower cap). The towels were thin and pretty old, but clean.

Location-wise, it is in downtown toronto, right next to the Eaton Center. You can easily walk from Union station (about 15 minutes) if you arrive by train.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Bay Street Marriott, Toronto, is situated centrally for walking in the city and close to a variety of public transport options. It is also close to the bus station for a trip to Niagara Falls. There is even a modern shopping center close by.
The hotel is staffed by a friendly, locally-knowledgeable and accommodating staff. The hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, which offers an exceptionally fine range of choices.
The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet.
This hotel is well-run and recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff here are so accommodating ( nothing less than you expect from Marriott) Although we experience air conditioning issues, the staff tried their best to fix - however the hotel was full and we couldn't change rooms.
The engineer came 3 times to re-set the manual over ride - but this was an anomaly and certainly would not keep me from choosing this wonderful location in the future. Centrally located, and easy access with lots of parking available

Room Tip: I always choose top floor so there's less noise from above - plus the higher you are - the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location in the heart of downtown, adjoins the EatonCentre (huge shopping mall), super attentive staff, clean and very nicely appointed room, great workout facility -- basically your typical Marriott and what you pay for. Parking is an additional $30/night for self-park. We parked the car on Thursday night and did not take it out again until we left on Sunday afternoon.

We walked almost everywhere, with the exception of one cab ride. Took the double-decker Sightseeing Bus, which is staffed by college-age tour guides who make the excursion very fun and interesting. (Your fare gives you on-off privileges for three days, so really a good deal!) Got off at Casa Loma (gorgeous 100-year-old castle - admission is extra, but well worth it!), the CN Tower and the Distillery District. Really wanted to go to St. Lawrence Market, but unfortunately it's not open on Sundays. The (included) boat ride gave beautiful views of the Toronto skyline.

I would definitely stay at this Marriott again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The reason I am giving this hotel a 3 is because I phoned the hotel, and the main reservation line to verify that all rooms had a sitting area. I was assured twice that they did. Not the case. Make sure if you need the extra space you ask for it at check in. It was even on my reservation sheet that it had the extra room. I was not happy. However the upper Management are super helpful, and friendly. The hotel is in a great location especially if your headed to the Easton's Center...right in the heart of Toronto. I would probably not stay again...unless I was travelling without the family. The rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#19 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#28 Business Hotel in Toronto
#30 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre hotel. An upscale downtown Toronto hotel and guest suites offers hi tech business meeting rooms for the business traveler, with free Wi-Fi in public areas and an array of family vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.