We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An all round winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Bay Street Marriott, Toronto, is situated centrally for walking in the city and close to a variety of public transport options. It is also close to the bus station for a trip to Niagara Falls. There is even a modern shopping center close by.
The hotel is staffed by a friendly, locally-knowledgeable and accommodating staff. The hotel boasts an award-winning restaurant, which offers an exceptionally fine range of choices.
The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet.
This hotel is well-run and recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    362
    112
    26
    15
See reviews for
162
188
49
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff here are so accommodating ( nothing less than you expect from Marriott) Although we experience air conditioning issues, the staff tried their best to fix - however the hotel was full and we couldn't change rooms.
The engineer came 3 times to re-set the manual over ride - but this was an anomaly and certainly would not keep me from choosing this wonderful location in the future. Centrally located, and easy access with lots of parking available

Room Tip: I always choose top floor so there's less noise from above - plus the higher you are - the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location in the heart of downtown, adjoins the EatonCentre (huge shopping mall), super attentive staff, clean and very nicely appointed room, great workout facility -- basically your typical Marriott and what you pay for. Parking is an additional $30/night for self-park. We parked the car on Thursday night and did not take it out again until we left on Sunday afternoon.

We walked almost everywhere, with the exception of one cab ride. Took the double-decker Sightseeing Bus, which is staffed by college-age tour guides who make the excursion very fun and interesting. (Your fare gives you on-off privileges for three days, so really a good deal!) Got off at Casa Loma (gorgeous 100-year-old castle - admission is extra, but well worth it!), the CN Tower and the Distillery District. Really wanted to go to St. Lawrence Market, but unfortunately it's not open on Sundays. The (included) boat ride gave beautiful views of the Toronto skyline.

I would definitely stay at this Marriott again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The reason I am giving this hotel a 3 is because I phoned the hotel, and the main reservation line to verify that all rooms had a sitting area. I was assured twice that they did. Not the case. Make sure if you need the extra space you ask for it at check in. It was even on my reservation sheet that it had the extra room. I was not happy. However the upper Management are super helpful, and friendly. The hotel is in a great location especially if your headed to the Easton's Center...right in the heart of Toronto. I would probably not stay again...unless I was travelling without the family. The rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights during July. The hotel location is good for downtown, many great restaurants around. Rooms are specious, cleaned and service perfectly. This seems to be trivial but I have seen a lot of sloppiness in other hotels of would be similar ranking.
All around service was super friendly and helpfull.
The furniture is not brand new, but overall the experience is very good.
Breakfast is menu or buffet. quality is good, though somewhat pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Not a super exciting hotel, but very clean, serviceable and convenient to the Eaton Centre and Yonge Street. Service is quite good - much better than other chain hotels in the area. We were staying there during the elevator inspector strike and the hotel was better than others at making sure everyone got to their rooms smoothly given there were fewer elevators operating. The concierge gave very good advice, the bell service was excellent and the housekeeping was very efficient and pleasant. The rooms weren't great but they did the trick. Wifi and internet service was not good and costly, if that is important to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I will make this review nice and short. Stayed here for one night on business. The location is exceptional and close to the major sites and events. Good clean room, Great staff. I would definitely stay again. Price is good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre hotel. An upscale downtown Toronto hotel and guest suites offers hi tech business meeting rooms for the business traveler, with free Wi-Fi in public areas and an array of family vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.