We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in the middle of downtown Toronto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Summer Deal: 15% Off
Ranked #33 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in the middle of downtown Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This quiet hotel, is conveniently located in downtown Toronto,
directly attached to the Eaton Center, where in can shop also if the weather outside is cold or wet.

The front desk staff was very professional and helpful,
and gave us a good street map of Toronto.
From this hotel you can pretty much walk everywhere.

The room was good,
although no mini fridge.

The only negative is that you have to pay a premium price for the use of internet in your room.
However there is free Wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    404
    124
    29
    15
See reviews for
172
203
50
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

In for three nights on a business trip - when i checked into the room, it had not yet been cleaned - called upfront and was hung up on....called again, then Customer service was phenomenal - however rooms are dated and it shows ....plaster stripping away from the bathtub, yellow stains around the bathroom faucets, time for a renovation

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location was excellent since I was visiting Toronto for a week. The room was just okay and was really over priced. I felt for $400 per night it should have had a lot more ammenities that were included...for example free wifi... Instead I was charged $16 per day.
I did however get the Concierge package which included free breakfast. The way they had it set up was confusing and a little bit frustrating but it served the purpose.
The restaurant was good but again pretty expensive, room service was great but expensive, the workout facility/equipment was average (the television/audio on the elipicals didn't work - annoying). On a positive note the lobby/taxi staff were very accomodating and helpful with directions, getting cabs, helping with luggage, etc. Great group of people.
Overall the stay was pretty decent.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible...Away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location is great! The room we stayed in was average. Nothing really special. The decor is a little dated, but the central location makes up for everything! Lots of restaurants around the hotel not to mention a great Mall, if that's what you are looking for, is literally steps away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was in Toronto for 4 nights on business. This hotel worked out well because of their location. It is a very nice Marriott. Not all that grand of a lobby but very comfortable. Nice seating area near bar. Restaurant was good, bar service and food at night was good. Maybe a bit expensive.

The only improvement I believe they can make is to actually deep clean the hotel. As soon as you come off the elevator you can see that the carpet has not been fully cleaned in some time. The edges of the carpet to the wall had a lot of dust on them. The guest rooms were clean but same thing, just felt like the rooms needed a deeper clean to get the dust out of corners and nooks.

I'll be back in June and probably try a different hotel - more for the experience and location.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the front drive, but it was still very quiet. The hotel is located in the downto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel was perfectly situated, clean, newly renovated, and very friendly, great gym (even with complimentary water and fresh fruit). The hotel employees were very helpful to us calling restaurants and making suggestions. We were able to purchase tickets for the hockey hall of fame at the desk. We have kids ages 7 and 10 and they were able to walk all around the downtown area (and back) all day. By far the best part was the awesome breakfast! Pay the extra for the inclusion-yummy! Only reason we didn't give it 5 stars was because of the pool. We really wanted to go in the hot tub, but it was small and so many other people had the same idea. If you enlarge the hot tub-for sure a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, on
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family for Easter weekend. There was nothing really wrong with the place... Check in was quick and the staff are super friendly. The room was clean, we were up on a high floor. The gym was clean and had good machines. The pool was big and the whirlpool fine. There was just something about it that felt off. I'm used to staying in Hilton hotels because of their at home feel. We always get a great night sleep at the Hilton. Here, hmm well the beds are comfortable enough but none of us got a good night sleep. We didn't really want to spend all that much time in the hotel.
It did the trick for our stay, we wanted to be near Dundas Square, so a perfect place for what we wanted.
Nothing really wrong with the place at all. Just can't put a finger on why we didn't like it all that much. I don't think we'll stay here again.
O one weird thing was we couldn't find the shower for the pool area. There's a sign that says have you showered but then there is no shower... Didn't really phase us it was just weird. Lol.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#28 Family Hotel in Toronto
#30 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre hotel. An upscale downtown Toronto hotel and guest suites offers hi tech business meeting rooms for the business traveler, with free Wi-Fi in public areas and an array of family vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Marriott so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.