We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CMW was made better by staying at this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“CMW was made better by staying at this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I didn't know what to expect when I booked the Toronto Marriott but what I got was a whole lot more. Incredibly comfortable beds, large shower, great service and a lovely lobby and bar. I really enjoyed my stay here...

Room Tip: Away from the elevator...but you knew that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    360
    112
    26
    15
See reviews for
162
188
49
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

"Connected to the Eaton Centre" is a slightly long shot - it is connected, via a long, slightly tatty, corridor to an almost hidden door in the second floor of Sears (with the result that the access closes when Sears does). It is a good location, though, in the centre of the city without being overly noisy.

My room was large (albeit oddly-shaped: a feature of Marriott hotel rooms I've been in); the bed was particularly comfortable. A decent flat-screen tellly had a good selection of channels on it, including BBC World News.

The wifi has a hidden cost of $15.95 a night (hidden because this is not made obvious on the hotel website). However, there's free wifi in the lobby area, and the paid-for wifi was relatively fast and reliable.

Everything feels a little scruffy in the hotel: but I'm not sure how much of this is standard North American "beige" hotel planning. The bathroom had seen better days, but was clean. The in-room coffee maker made an acceptable cup. A music event was on during my stay, but not too much noise made it up to the room.

If you want boring and beige, then this Marriott is a typical Marriott, and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWT
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel has a funky aroma. Everywhere.
Couldn't quite put my finger on what exactly it was, but it wasn't pleasant, and it didn't go away.

The room was ok, with a very comfortable bed, but the bathroom was terrible. I wished that I'd brought my flip flops to take a shower. Grimy, super chipped bathtub and sink.

Have generally had good experiences with Marriott, so I was kind of surprised.
Wouldn't return.
On the plus side, fantastic location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As everyone says this is one of the best downtown hotels for convenience. In snow or rain you have access the Eaton Center, Dundas Square and a variety of restaurants.
The Restaurant/Lounge is nicely decorated and offers great food. The food (breakfast buffet is on the expensive side) They have wonderful high booths (you will see in pics) for a nightcap. I had a caipirinha (last time I had one was in Brazil and it was good) and my husband had a mojito The atmosphere in the hotel from check in to those that work in the hotel are top notch and very friendly. We go to downtown Toronto quite a bit and many of the hotels are worn (like the Delta). The Sheraton isn't as conveniently located or as nice as the Marriott and others though you may get a deal on room at the Royal York, you have to find reasonably priced restaurants. This hotel is the best that we have been at so far in downtown TO and we will definitely return. I love the Marriott chain for its comfortable beds and pillows - PS: The hotel rooms are quite roomy ....would be nice to have a little bar fridge and free internet otherwise it would have gotten perfect marks for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Friendly staff, GREAT location with access to the Eaton centre. The hotel is located adjacent the coolest city hall building in North America, Toronto City hall.. the room we stayed offered a fantastic view of the ice ring and side view of the city hall, Sheraton hotel in view as well. The staff was friendly and efficient.. the room itself was clean and simple, no really complains here. The beds, pillows, etc were fluffy and comfortable... shower had great water pressiour and hot! which I love on hotels... I've stayed at other hotels where even taking a shower is challenge. I would definitely stay here again in April.

Room Tip: Book with through a discounted site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend and I spent 3 nights here recently for a weekend Toronto getaway. Hotel is attached to the Eaton Centre and is central to everything downtown. Room and hotel overall were very clean. Check in took 30 seconds, if that, and staff were very friendly. Tried the lobby bar one evening and enjoyed it. Great place to stay if you're shopping or doing the tourist thing downtown. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visit this hotel at least once a year when I am attending a conference in Toronto. The hotel has a great location, easily accessible from the subway and attached to a good shopping mall. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean with sufficient space to be comfortable. I have never been disappointed by this hotel. It is not the best value for the money though. The rates tend to be a little higher than average for comparable hotels in the city. Internet is extra and do not visit the lounge if you want a reasonably priced drink.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#28 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre hotel. An upscale downtown Toronto hotel and guest suites offers hi tech business meeting rooms for the business traveler, with free Wi-Fi in public areas and an array of family vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.