We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dated but nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #31 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Slightly dated but nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights, and the staff and facilities were more than adequate (but less than outstanding), and the hotel is conveniently located for access to the Four Seasons Center for the Performing Arts, and a block from the subway, across Bay St. from City Hall. The room was spacious, though somewhat dated, but it was a quite pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    441
    135
    30
    16
See reviews for
188
225
54
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on a shopping trip. It was conviently located close to the Eaton's center which was literally a 5 min walk away. The rooms are starting to look a little out dated (819) Would have been nice to have one mirror outside the bathroom, as every other hotel does, hard for 2 people to get ready in the morning with out one.
The rooms were very clean, beds were very comfortable. The wifi cost $15 for in room. The wifi was free in the lobby.
Dinner was great at the hotel restaurant and our server was very professional.
Prices were a little expensive, $20 per meal aprox.
For breakfast we ordered room service which came in a timely fasion. , it was also expensive $16-20 for a full meal.
Hot cereal $10
cereal $7
Toast $5
The meal was very good:)
We asked for extra milks to be brought up to our room for our coffees which came timely as well.
There is a coffee maker and free coffee & tea in room.
I the service and cleanilness rates it a 5, but the outdated decor, put it without free wifi in the room and no mirror put it down a notch for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It isn't my first choice when I go to Toronto, which is quite often, We stayed weekend of Feb 8/9 2013 and I chose this because of all the snow and the connection to the Eatons Centre.The hotel was lovely, the staff was pleasant and helpful and the room was clean and spacious. My problem was with the pillows, which were atrocious and the towels, which were dreadful. They were thin, old and scratchy. I had an uncomfortable sleep, and for this reason my first stay at a Marriot will be my last.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in downtown Toronto, and the Marriott Eaton Centre is now my favourite.

Beautiful, spacious lobby. Efficient, helpful, knowledgeable and courteous check-in. Large, spotless and comfortable room. Request a corner room in a higher floor (ending in 02)!

Fantastic location adjacent to the Eaton Centre, Yonge Dundas Square, City Hall, and Chinatown. Walking distance to most everything else in downtown Toronto, and only steps to the subway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stay here when we are downtown TO for business. Note to people in Scooters and wheelchairs the Marriott is connected to the Eaton Centre, however it is not accessible (there is about 10 steps that stop you. It is a pity, We were there on Thursday & Friday Feb 7 & 8 ( @TOsnow) The Marriott have an accessible door which is on the south side which is maybe a 100 yards to the Eaton Centre . The problem for all of Friday was that this walkway was not plowed and we had to take the long route to get to eat at Mr GreenJeans. Almost 25 minutes to figure it all out coming and going.

Room Tip: The accessible rooms only have King Beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed one night 26th JAN 13. Service was good (specially Austin from Concierge who helped on several occasions on suggestions on car rental). Bar was average and needed a bit more animation but drinks were good and cozy ambiance with the chimney.

Room size is good, comfortable bed and clean throughout. Equipped with all amenities you may need.

Breakfast was good. Buffet style with a correct variety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

With -18C temperatures, the best thing about this hotel was the ability to get to the shopping centre and the underground walkways without having to wear a coat.

Rooms were bright and spacious. Service at front desk and concierge were very friendly and efficient with concierge providing me with local bus routes and timetables for a visit to Niagara Falls.

The central location of the hotel makes it ideal for venturing out and exploring this city with CN tower being some 20 minutes by foot and Harbour Front just a bit more. Good location for shopping (Eaton Centre) as well as the financial district.

My only niggle was the noise from water pipes of adjoining rooms. Every time someone took a shower or flushed the toilet it woke me up which was annoying as I was trying to recover from lost sleep at different times of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Trinity Square are away from the noise and hustle of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#37 of 139 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 2,081 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#25 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#23 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre hotel. An upscale downtown Toronto hotel and guest suites offers hi tech business meeting rooms for the business traveler, with free Wi-Fi in public areas and an array of family vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.