We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in downtown Toronto, and the Marriott Eaton Centre is now my favourite.

Beautiful, spacious lobby. Efficient, helpful, knowledgeable and courteous check-in. Large, spotless and comfortable room. Request a corner room in a higher floor (ending in 02)!

Fantastic location adjacent to the Eaton Centre, Yonge Dundas Square, City Hall, and Chinatown. Walking distance to most everything else in downtown Toronto, and only steps to the subway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    360
    112
    26
    15
See reviews for
162
188
49
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stay here when we are downtown TO for business. Note to people in Scooters and wheelchairs the Marriott is connected to the Eaton Centre, however it is not accessible (there is about 10 steps that stop you. It is a pity, We were there on Thursday & Friday Feb 7 & 8 ( @TOsnow) The Marriott have an accessible door which is on the south side which is maybe a 100 yards to the Eaton Centre . The problem for all of Friday was that this walkway was not plowed and we had to take the long route to get to eat at Mr GreenJeans. Almost 25 minutes to figure it all out coming and going.

Room Tip: The accessible rooms only have King Beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed one night 26th JAN 13. Service was good (specially Austin from Concierge who helped on several occasions on suggestions on car rental). Bar was average and needed a bit more animation but drinks were good and cozy ambiance with the chimney.

Room size is good, comfortable bed and clean throughout. Equipped with all amenities you may need.

Breakfast was good. Buffet style with a correct variety.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

With -18C temperatures, the best thing about this hotel was the ability to get to the shopping centre and the underground walkways without having to wear a coat.

Rooms were bright and spacious. Service at front desk and concierge were very friendly and efficient with concierge providing me with local bus routes and timetables for a visit to Niagara Falls.

The central location of the hotel makes it ideal for venturing out and exploring this city with CN tower being some 20 minutes by foot and Harbour Front just a bit more. Good location for shopping (Eaton Centre) as well as the financial district.

My only niggle was the noise from water pipes of adjoining rooms. Every time someone took a shower or flushed the toilet it woke me up which was annoying as I was trying to recover from lost sleep at different times of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Trinity Square are away from the noise and hustle of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times, and each time I'm impressed with it! The staff is very accommodating and truly knows the area. They were able to recommend several activities that appealed to a diverse group of personalities. The rooms are fairly large and quite clean. The fact that this hotel is attached to the mall (also meaning that you don't have to venture outside to catch the subway!) is an added bonus. The breakfast buffet is excellent, there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff was so friendly and willing to help you with whatever you needed. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable about the area and attractions and so excited to serve you. My only complaint is that I was somehow overcharged for my room but I am currently working that out. Absolutely stay here! The location is PERFECT.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Like everyone is saying this is a great location. We walked everywhere we needed to go.
The Eaton Shopping center is attached to the hotel. During shopping hours you enter from inside the hotel into the sears department store. After hours you will have a very short (2minutes) outside walk from the Centre to the hotel. However, on our first night we tried to walk inside (freezing cold out) to the restaurant (Canoe). Be warned, this Underground is a maze! We found it almost impossible to get our orientation and at some point we gave up and walked outside. Even when you asked people (everyone very helpful), they usually recommend to walk outside because nobody could explain how to walk there inside.
Back to the hotel. The lobby is very nice and modern. Our room was nice and roomy. We liked that the toilet and shower was separate from the vanity area. They have the usual Marriott amenities and refill daily.
TV not that great, no free Movie channels.
There is no concierge level floor. The lounge is at the lobby level next to the restaurant. With lounge access you are able to get the full breakfast bar from the restaurant and walk back to the lounge to eat in there. Definitely the best breakfast we had at any Marriott Concierge lounge.
On top of it the lounge itself was very nice and we also had the best snacks there in the evening.
People working in there could not have been more friendly and attentive. By far the best we have experienced.
Since there is no lounge access on Saturday we had breakfast at the restaurant. We found it terribly overpriced and the service was slow. Did not go back on Sunday.
On more tip: There is a big "food court" under the sears store. It has a lot of very nice and unusual options for a quick bite. Something for everyone. After stepping out of Sears into the Mall area just keep taking the escalator as far as possible downstairs.
All in all we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#28 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre hotel. An upscale downtown Toronto hotel and guest suites offers hi tech business meeting rooms for the business traveler, with free Wi-Fi in public areas and an array of family vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.