We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time at the Grey Cup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #31 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good time at the Grey Cup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed the Eaton Marriott for Friday night of the 2012 CFL Grey Cup celebration and had a great time. The location was perfect for all of the activities at Nathan Philip Square, and was a close walk to the Metro Convention Centre. Our King room with a pullout couch had plenty of space, and the lobby, with it nice fireplace by the bar, was a good place to relax with a drink. It's best attribute was location, location, location! Not cheap, but certainly better value than the elegant, but tired, Royal York where we stayed Saturday and Sunday. In hindsight, even though the Royal York had tradition on it's side, I'd have chosen the Marriott for the whole weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    441
    135
    30
    16
See reviews for
188
225
54
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a Saturday night in order to do some shopping. We were unable to check in at the prescribed 3:00 pm (annoying) however, we decided to do some shopping and were able to check in at 4:30 pm. The room is nice. Comfy king size bed with nice pillows and fresh linens. Bathroom was standard. Awakened at 2 am for a couple hours by the people next door being loud and annoying. Walls seem very thin. It was not a pleasant thing.
Had breakfast delivered by room service and it was hot and on time. Excellent portion sizes and the breakfast was really delicious and worth the price! Overall it was an ok stay. Excellent location. I would maybe try a different place next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were to stay at the hotel on the Friday and Saturday of the Remembrance Day weekend but had car troubles and were only able to make it up on Saturday. They allowed us to stay the Saturday and Sunday instead with no issues whatsoever. As well it was my birthday and they sent up a bottle of wine, some cheese, crackers and fruit. The best touch of it all is that I got a personalized birthday card that was signed by about 12 of the staff members. They were exceptionally accomodating as well when I forgot my jacket with my keys in and sent it off by mail for me with no complaints and no expectations of me paying. Overall I have to say that although the hotel is like any nice hotel, the way we were treated went above and beyond anything that I could have believed. Add that it is centrally located and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone at anytime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We'd stayed there in the past and had enjoyed the clean rooms, friendly staff, and the proximity to the Eaton Centre but our last trip sadly ended in disaster due to a veritable maelstrom of loud and inconsiderate guests in the adjoining room and the room across the hall.

Friday night we were woken at 2:30 am by a pack of loud, obnoxious women who were having a party in the room across the hall. We called the front desk and they sent up hotel security to ask them to quiet down. Saturday night we were woken at 12:30 am by the same wonderfully considerate folks across the hall. After half an hour of intermittent cackling and slamming doors and screeching in the hall outside, we were regretting our choice of hotel.

At 3:00 am we were woken by another party - this time in the room next door! I called downstairs to complain only to discover that the phones weren't working?! So I had to get dressed and go down to the lobby to speak to the manager (who was, by the way, very gracious and apologetic, and who eventually moved us to a new (quieter) room on another floor once the computers came back online about ten minutes later. We eventually fell asleep for a couple short hours in the new room (which was merciful) until we were roused around 8:00 am by a fire alarm. Needless to say, we didn't exactly have a good night`s sleep (which is kinda the main point of a hotel room). You will all appreciate that this is not the fault of the hotel or the staff, who were very gracious, apologetic and did take action to remove the unregistered guests from the room next door at 3 in the morning. However, given the selection of hotels in T.O., I doubt we will ever return to this hotel. The price point is extremely good for a hotel right next to the Eaton Centre. In fact, it's probably a little too good, which means this place may tend to attract the sort of boorish guests from a certain element of society that I am not too fond of (at least not in my current sleep-deprived state). Advice to Marriott: time to renovate the rooms and jack up the prices!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My stay was surprisingly pleasant. Before I got there, they lost the last night of my reservation. The lady who answered the phone when I called to get it fixed was not at all helpful & said I would just have to stay somewhere else. Only after complaining about it on Twitter was I able to get my reservation fixed. So my expectations were low upon arrival. But I have to say I was pleased. United lost my luggage and the staff was great about putting up with my continual requests that they check and see if it had arrived yet, and the concierge gave me expert advice on where to go in the mall in order to get clothes and toiletries during my stay. He really is superb at what he does.

Negatives were a lumpy mattress that needs replacing, and a daily internet charge of around 20 CAD once you add in tax. As a business traveler, a cost this exorbitant for internet is a breaking point for future stays, especially as it wasn't even wi-fi, chaining me to the desk for the whole time I was working. It was also from noon to noon, not midnight to midnight, meaning you essentially had to pay 40 bucks for one day of work. I highly recommend they look into wi-fi or lower costs. Or at least telling people before they budget for an already slightly expensive room that they should add on that much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a nice room, the front of house staff were great, location excellent and a good stay. Very nice breakfast and the lady chef who does the eggs and omlettes was very helpful and cheery! A good place to stay. The rooms are well equipped, the bar was welcoming with a good choice. I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stay in Marriots all the time. I find them to be exactly what a business traveller needs. This one is no different but perhaps above average. Very comfortable. Good food. Nice beds. Great location (2 minute walk to the office). For a business traveller I can't fault it.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#37 of 139 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 2,092 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#25 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn by Marriott Toronto Downtown / Entertainment District
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel

Address: 525 Bay Street, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Toronto
#22 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#23 Family Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre hotel. An upscale downtown Toronto hotel and guest suites offers hi tech business meeting rooms for the business traveler, with free Wi-Fi in public areas and an array of family vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Toronto
Toronto Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.