We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good...but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Toronto to your Saves list
Hilton Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good...but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

You could argue that for the price of the room, you should get top quality, and you'd be right of course, but this is not always the case. Fortunately for me, my visit to the Hilton Toronto was pretty good. I was given a corner room on a HHonours floor. The room was spacious, with king bed, sofa, chair, TV, desk, and a decent sized bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the desk usable, and the room was clean (although the sofa looked as though it was quite worn). Nits to pick: two bed-side lights didn't work; the design of the shower and curtain practically guaranteed water would flow from the surround to the bathroom floor; the TV quality was marginal, and the clock was hard to see next to the bed (why do hotels use crappy quality clock radios?). Good things: size of the room and cleanliness was very good, the curtains were effective, the bed was great. The service was generally excellent, from the checkin to the checkout. I'll stay again, although the price can be a bit daunting depending on when you book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Brutus58:
Thank you for your feedback on the guest room at Hilton Toronto! I will share your comments with my team so that we may make improvements to the items that you mentioned. We hope to see you again!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    776
    322
    112
    60
See reviews for
292
574
134
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Although I miss the old days with the complimentary bar in the lounge, it still has a nice spread for breakfast and in the afternoon.
This hotel is consistent, very convenient to downtown and DIAs usually get an upgrade to a nicer room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear ckccan:
Thank you for posting a review on your stay at Hilton Toronto! You will be pleased to know that we will be renovating our Executive Lounge in the next few months! Unfortunatly we can't give out free alcohol in the lounge according to local liquor laws. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I found this property to be very clean. The staff was very helpful and willing to find solutions if there were any issues. This was my first event at this property and the staff, service and food were all excellent. Our hotel rate was comparable to other hotels, it is in a great location in downtown Toronto. I would recommend the Hilton Toronto!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Sandra:
I appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay at Hilton Toronto! I will share them with my team!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I had a business trip in Toronto and ended up staying at the Hilton. The king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a gorgeous walk-in shower (no bathrub). I particularly appreciated the excellent lighting and well-appointed desk, which made it much easier to work on my files. The hotel has some lovely touches, including an indoor/outdoor pool. Given that the weather was brutally cold (-31 degrees Celsius), I chickened out. Great fitness centre. The elevators are glass, which allows a nice view of Toronto west of downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, as downtown Toronto traffic can be noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear TiredCanadian:
Thank you for reviewing Hilton Toronto! I hope you make time to come back and enjoy the pool and our beautiful patio in the summer!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novelty OH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Visiting Toronto for the very first time - on a super cold weekend! The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The lobby area cocktail lounge was very cold due to drafts from the main lobby entrance. We later discovered that there were other areas we could have sat and enjoyed our cocktails but no one ever offered that info - so we sat in our coats for over an hour until it became too unbearably uncomfortable. But the hotel is very attractive, our room was spacious and lovely, very convenient to the theater area, subterranean shopping and accessible to subway and area restaurants. We walked to the Aquarium, to the CN Tower and to the Second City Show. All in all we would make the trip again in better weather, we have a great list of attractions to search out in warmth and sun!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear 57maro:
I am pleased to hear about your wonderful stay at Hilton! I hope you do make plans to come back and visit our city in the summer! There is so much to do like going to Centre Island, Taking in a Baseball game and even doing the Edge Walk on top of the CN Tower!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel staff was pleasant, the accommodations were accurate, the room was clean and above average. I was offered water at check-in. The valet staff allowed me to park in front and deal with my bags with no issues before returning downstairs to move my car. I asked for champagne glasses which were in my room in the time it took me to move my car. Every employee I encountered was courteous and helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. It was my first stay at this particular Hilton and I would stay many times again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Nadine L:
Thank you for your wonderful comments! i will share them with my Team Members!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

clean and comfortable. No coffee shop which would have been nice. restaurant for breakfast was convenient. A great food choices and service recognizing busyness of business travellers. Convenient location. Cabs plentiful, bell staff prompt and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear FlyFraser:
I appreciate the time you took to write this review! I am pleased to say that we are opening a Starbucks in our lobby in April! Hope you come back and give it a try!
Regards,
Beth Osborne
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.