We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Toronto to your Saves list
Hilton Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Can walk to most places, close to water, nice view of CN tower. I booked directly through Hilton, as they guarantee to match any other price and there is always the opportunity to cancel, unlike when booking through the bargain sites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Toronto experience! We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    776
    322
    112
    60
See reviews for
292
574
134
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, I booked a deluxe room for 6 nights and expected a top experience for the price. Unfortunately, we didn't get it.

On arrival, we dropped our bags in the room and went to watch the baseball. It was only on return (after 11pm) that we realised we'd been given an uncleaned room. Bed was full of hairs, as was the bathroom. There were no members of the housekeeping team left, so a manager appeared at midnight to remake the bed. Bad start to the trip.

Of the 6 days there, only once was the room properly cleaned with the bed made and chocolates on the pillow. Other days it was haphazard with my wife's pyjamas thrown over the lamp one day! The bed looked like the sheets had been thrown on some days. Clearly the housekeeping staff do not have a clue. I've never experience worse cleaning in the last 10 years of travelling worldwide.

This poor level of staffing continued to the pool where there were no towels on our first day. Twice we called housekeeping for more and twice they said they were sending some. An hour later we walked back to the elevator wet. On our next visit, the gentleman at the pool was rude to my wife suggesting she couldn't take two towels for us. Again, I struggle to remember such rudeness from a member of hotel staff!

Breakfast wasn't much better. The servers struggled to even manage a smile (this is with the exception of a gentleman name Baba who was very friendly the day he served us). A man named Vikram must have told me 4 times that tips were not included in the price. He was quite unpleasant in his manner about this. When you've paid for breakfast to be included, and it's a buffet where the staff merely point you to a table, being pestered for a tip seems truly bizarre.

Why wasn't the hotel terrible overall? Well, we asked for a CN Tower view and we got a sensational one. The room was fairly nice, but the deluxe refurbishment already looks tired.
Pool area is nice and front desk staff were very helpful. Breakfast is good (if you pay for it to be included - very pricey if not).

Basically the terrible (and I'm being kind here) housekeeping staff let this place down. Do yourself a favour and stay at one of the 30 or so hotels rated better than this on TripAdvisor. For a 3 star hotel this place is average; for a Hilton it's poor and does not live up to the standards you expect from such a brand.

I hope the reply to this by the hotel doesn't follow the pattern of other similar reviews by saying 'I'm glad you enjoyed the view' and ignoring how badly their team fail to live up to standards guests expect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Dan ...

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I am actively working with our Housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met, both in the guestrooms and in the pool area. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our guests deserve better.

We have noted your candid remarks concerning the various team members and I do apologize, as this is certainly not conducive of the usual high levels of service that our team strives to deliver. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us to better deliver this brand promise. We appreciate your honest input and will certainly use your comments as part of our ongoing training and development.

We hope you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve. Have a wonderful day. Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Toronto Hilton during a getaway vacation in August. We found the hotel to be quite nice. Our room was spacious, had a great view of the Toronto skyline (including the CNN Tower, which has an interesting light pattern during the night). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom up-to-date and clean.
We got the bed and breakfast deal when booked, and that turned out to be a great move. The buffet is large, service is great, it's convenient, and there't not a host of breakfast options in the area. The front desk and concierge are friendly and helpful...lots of good tips on places like restaurants and directions. We had a minor discrepancy on our bill, and hotel staff dealt with it quickly, professionally and cheerfully.
Location-wise, the hotel sits right on University and Richmond, so you're about a 15 min walk down to the waterfront, 15 mins up to the college, and maybe 20 mins to the Rogers Center.
All in all, we had a nice stay at the Hilton, and we will plan to stay there again
One warning: Toronto is really torn up with construction right now. A lot of streets, including major ones like Adelaide, are all ripped up. Some are down to one lane, some are simply closed.
We found driving in Toronto this summer to be a mess. If you're driving around the city on your visit, plan for extra time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the lake (basically south) have a nice skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

I apologize that your experience was negatively affected by the City of Toronto construction around the hotel. It is very frustrating and difficult to maneuver in this neighborhood, but hopefully, it will be finished soon … at least before the snow starts!

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to "welcome you back" whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a wonderful day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were in a king room with a crib. The room itself was spacious and the bed was quite comfortable.
The location is very central and close to most of downtown by foot. Parking was quite pricey but within expected for downtown Toronto.
The service was overall fast and courteous. We did not use any restaurants/bars at the hotel.

The swimming pool was very nice with indoor-outdoor sections. The water was a nice temperature. It was nice to see it open at 6AM each morning. The pool area was always well stocked with towels. I feel bathrobes should be standard for this level of hotel with a pool (we got them after requesting them).

One issue i had was the construction in front. Once we arrived it was barely noticable, however we arrived after a 5 hour drive around 1AM and had to circle for an additiomal 15-20 minutes trying to figure out how to enter the hotel (it involved going the wrong way on a one way street that was not obviously marked). It would have been nice to have received some warning/instructions/map as part of the reservation confirmation by email on this construction.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

I apologize that your experience was negatively affected by the City of Toronto construction around the hotel. It is very frustrating and difficult to maneuver in this neighborhood, but hopefully, it will be finished soon … at least before the snow starts! The next round of renovations in September will include the corner of Adelaide and York and we will be posting driving directions on our Facebook page ... thank you for the suggestion!

We do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family highly recommends the Hilton Toronto (Richmond) for any family vacation. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our special requests. The pool is AMAZING - it's been renovated - it is so warm and lovely and indoor/outdoor. Food was excellent. It's worth the upgrade to the Executive Floor for the complimentary breakfast and appetizers. Really saves on meal cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Robin ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Toronto!

We will also be sure to share your team member experience with our hotel community as a great example of how the "little things" make a big difference to our guests!

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you "back" whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The front desk and concierge were very helpful and friendly. The beds were very comfortable. The bell staff was helpful. Only spent one night so I didn't take advantage of a lot of services they have to offer

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience, even though it was such a short stay, and we do hope to see you again very soon or whenever your travels next bring you to Toronto! Have a wonderful day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, near to everything we wanted to see. Everyone was most helpful at the hotel. The room itself was larger than the usual run-of-the mill hotel room and very well appointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time in Toronto and the overall services and accommodations at the hotel!

We do hope that you will visit us again whenever your travel plans include downtown Toronto! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Family Hotel in Toronto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.