We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Toronto to your Saves list
Hilton Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hilton downtown Toronto was in a great location for walking to the Rogers Centre for a concert and to the Eaton Centre for shopping. Enjoyed our stay, nice pool area outside. Only drawback is the extra charge to use the internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

Although the Hilton brand does not include WiFi access in all rates as a standard amenity, many packages are available which will include this service along with many other "value adds" which I would recommend for anyone wishing to utilize WiFi access and for whom the 6 complimentary lobby computer stations are not convenient.

Should your future travel plans include Toronto, we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again! Have a great day! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    774
    322
    112
    60
See reviews for
292
574
134
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Hilton for 4 days, for a business trip. It is at the heart of everything (business, entertainment, sightseeing, etc.). Location is great. The staff was very polite and helpful. Overall, I cannot complain but there are some issues that can be improved.

The rooms are old-fashioned and needs renovation. It was surprising that there wasn't a minibar in the room! I gave my shirts for pressing but they came back with almost the same wrinkles. I should have done my own ironing.

I've stayed at better-looking Hiltons. I can advise Hilton Toronto if you catch a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one through our service and amenities, and we regret this was not your impression with the condition of your guest room, the absence of a mini bar and the service provided by our dry cleaners. We will use your comments as "food for thought" about changes we can implement to improve our on-property experience.

We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you again, should your travel plans bring you back to Canada, and include downtown Toronto in the future. Have a great day!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I visited the Hilton in Toronto for a quick overnight business trip in May. I chose this hotel because of the great reputation of Hilton Hotels and I was certainly not disappointed. After a long day of travel I retreated to my room to find everything was clean and comfortable. The staff members were very friendly and accommodating. I was able to connect easily to their WiFi and FaceTime with my kiddos back home. There is a restaurant onsite, but we opted to walk to a great restaurant nearby. The bed was very comfortable affording me a great night's sleep. The next morning I awoke early to start my day to a delicious breakfast via room service. The food was excellent and prepared exactly as ordered. When it was time to depart there was a cab waiting just outside the door to pick us up and take us to the office. I would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor available. You get a great view of th ce city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Ginger:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again, should your future travels bring you back to Canada, and more specifically, to the downtown Toronto area! Have a wonderful weekend! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to take a weekend trip to Toronto in late May for the Blue Jays/Orioles game. Without knowing what part of town would be best to stay in, we read up on some travel tips for the city and then chose to stay at the Hilton Toronto. I am glad we chose this hotel. It was very convient to Rogers Stadium/CN Tower. It was about a 10 minute walk to the stadium. We never used our car for the whole weekend, because everything else was within walking distance. There is a lot of city traffic in Toronto that you would probably want to walk or take public transportation anyway. Parking was $30/day at the hotel (w/o valet). I think we saved a bit by not taking our car out of the garage for the whole weekend, because we only had to pay $54 upon exiting.

The hotel itself was clean and inviting. The front desk staff was friendly. Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable, as well.

The hotel has a Ruth Chris Steakhouse. The steakhouse is in a wierd location. It is on the basement floor tucked back in the corner. It would be nice if Ruth Chris was on the top floor of the hotel...maybe to see a view of the city. (But then again, I guess that's what the CN Tower is for). We did dine at Ruth Chris. It is on par with any other Ruth Chris Steakhouse.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again, as it was clean and confortable and within walking distance to Rogers Stadium, Eaton Center, Yonge Street, etc.

Room Tip: If you stay on one of the higher floors, there is a scenic elevator that will give you a nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time in Toronto and the overall services, location and accommodations at the hotel!

We do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again, whenever your travel plans include Toronto! Have a great week!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I must say the week end that i came into Toronto to stay at the Hilton downtown the city was buzzing there was so much going home, even the hotel was very busy but even with that being said the customer service that was offered was top notched with the staff at the hotel. I enjoyed my stay as always

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We appreciate your comments and will certainly share with with our team!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back, whenever your future travel plans include Toronto! Have a great week!

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for two nights in early June. The hotel is very well located - its within walking distance of most places downtown. We parked the car, and walked everywhere.

The hotel room was roomy and clean. We were on the 16th floor, and the only issue was the elevator labour dispute. That wasn't the fault of the hotel.

The pool was very nice. Half of it is inside, and the other 1/2 is outside.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services within the hotel were able to meet your expectations!

And thank you for being so understanding about the elevator labour dispute....you are correct in your statement that it was not the fault of the hotel. Regretfully, the entire union of elevator technicians in Toronto is currently on strike and we do have slower than normal wait times for the service on these devices. Hopefully, the situation will be resolved sooner, rather than later!

We greatly appreciate your business and hope that we will see you again soon! Have a wonderful week! Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Hilton downtown Toronto for the past 5 years at the same time for the same convention and each year and it keeps getting worse .. this year I was lied to by staff saying he was the manager and turns out it was a server not management at all. The hotel room was dirty, the shower had no door, the in room dining was very undercooked, elevators were broken we had to cart all of our belongings downstairs to parking .. absolutely ridiculous for a hotel that's suppose to be the best of the best !!! NEVER AGAIN !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ashley:

Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we sincerely apologize for the incidents which caused your most recent stay to fall short of your expectations.

I know that a member of our management team reached out and responded to you last week. We hope you will give us another chance to welcome you again, should your travel plans include downtown Toronto in the future. Have a wonderful week.

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#29 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.