We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Post Xmas Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Toronto to your Saves list
Hilton Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Rates from $159!
Ranked #36 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Post Xmas Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've stayed here several times as the location is perfect with access to the Toronto's underground walkways, named PATH. The rooms are spacious with comfortable king-sized beds. Price is typical for a downtown hotel and the value is good. Our two day stay included breakfast at their restaurant named Tundra. The only issue was a very dirty desk chair. When mentioned to the front desk it was replaced quickly...by an equally dirty one. When I pointed this out to the chap who brought it up to the room he offered to remove them both, clean one and return it, which he did.

Room Tip: Higher floors (we stayed in 1420) facing north offer great views of City Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I'm glad to hear that you had a chance to experience the many features of the hotel and the excitement of Toronto ... especially the underground PATH system. Great way to avoid the cold weather!

I'm pleased to learn, as well, that our team was able to resolve the issue involving the desk chair to your satisfaction.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, whenever your future travel plans include Toronto!

Warm regards,

Andy Loges, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    709
    293
    103
    56
See reviews for
258
531
131
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Was at the hotel for a conference during the Grey Cup so the hotel was pretty full. The rooms were really nice, other than the slightly dated bathrooms. The staff was very courteous. The hotel bar was crowded but managed to get service. Ate at the restaurant as well and the food was quite good. Would recommend to business traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm so pleased to learn that the facilities and services, including the hotel bar and Tundra restaurant were able to meet your expectations! And yes, hotel was extremely busy with Grey Cup ...hats off to the ARGOS on their 100th anniversary win !!!

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, whenever your travel plans include Toronto.

May I also take this opportunity to wish you and yours, a safe, happy and healthy 2013!

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

went here for a conference
found some of the meeting rooms very cold
stayed in a king room
interesting view of downtown that i hadn't seen before: Canada Life building, City Hall
room was on the smaller size
bathroom was dated. shower weak. acceptable
bed was comfortable. good sleep
breakfast was included as it was some business class room where you also had internet included...this added to the price
no photocopier in the business area
would stay here again for the location but an average Hilton property overall

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent business stay with us.

We are glad to have met your needs while in town and we will have our facilities team look into the temperature of our meeting rooms.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you should business bring you back to our area in the future.

May I also take this opportunity to wish you and yours, a happy, healthy and successful 2013!

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Myself and two other friends wanted to escape to Toronto during our midterm break from Memorial University. We wanted to be close to the mall and any other downtown shops. The Hilton was in the middle of downtown Toronto and everything we wanted to do was within walking distance.

The lobby is really modern and check-in was simple. Employees were helpful but the lady who checked us in was a little rude - no big deal though. The elevators are quite cool, you can view downtown Toronto as you are whisked up to your floor.

Our room was clean and tastefully decorated. We had two double beds and there was more than enough room for three of us, a few big suitcases and our weekend worth of shopping bags. The bathroom was very clean and had many personal amenities. We had a beautiful view of downtown Toronto. We didn't bother with internet access because we had our phones for internet, but it is an extra charge (not sure exactly how much, but it was the regular price you would see in any hotel)

The fitness center is great. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but it looked like it would have been nice and the prices were reasonable.

Overall we had a great weekend. The Hilton provided us with a very clean, relaxing stay for a great price. I would recommend!

Room Tip: Try to get on the highest floor possible for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm pleased to learn that the facilities and services, location and size and cleanliness of the guestroom were able to meet your expectations!

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back to the hotel, whenever your travel plans include Toronto!

May I also take this opportunity to wish you and yours, a happy, healthy and successful 2013!

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here during the Toronto Film Festival so the city was busy as was the hotel.

Great downtown location - walking distance to the big mall and city attractions.

As Diamond Members we enjoyed the Executive Club Lounge which is located on the top floor. Great views from the lounge over the city. They did a reasonable job of the complimentary breakfast.

Lovely indoor swimming pool which also opens up partly outdoors with a hot tub.

The room was well sized but basic and well maintained.

Greatest strength is its location - but the property is old and showing signs of wear and tear, however this must be balanced with the low asking price!

Was disappointed with the poor attitude of one of the bellman - he was regretably quite rude and probably later regretted his interaction and conduct!

In conclusion an average Hilton, well located and well priced for a short stay downtown!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us while in town for the film festival.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to meet your needs.

Please accept our apology for the poor service you received from our bellman and know that we have shared your comments with our team as a reminder of the importance of our guest interactions.

We strive to provide our guests the best in quality hospitality at an affordable rate and look forward to having you back, should you return to the city in the future.

May I also take this opportunity to wish you and yours, all the very best for the holiday season and a happy and healthy 2013.

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We decided on last minute accomodations after spending the afternnoon in downtown Toronto. Having found a great deal on Hotels.com, we were greeted and treated like royality! Had a beautiful suite on the 25th floor and enjoyed our one night stay so much we stayed another night! we will definetly stay at this locastion again!!!

Room Tip: Parking lot at the Hilton has very low clearance, so we had to park our truck at another location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience ... so much so that you stayed another night!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back, whenever your future travel plans include Toronto!

May I also take this opportunity to wish you and yours, all the very best for the holiday season and a happy and healthy 2013!

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friends and I were staying at the Hilton during Caribana which is a masssive annual Caribbean Carnival and Parade. It brings thousands of tourists to Toronto every year and is a great party. We were staying at the Hilton for my bachelorette and were having some cocktails we made and just catching up with the girls. We are not a rowdy bunch (nor loud!) and at 8:30pm there was a knock at the door asking us to keep iour noise level down...!! Meanwhile there is the largest party in Toronto occurring outside our window as well as hundreds of other guests who were staying at the hotel for Caribana...! It only bothered us because we knew we were not being disruptive and I saw it as excessively haughty and pretentious. I have a feeling there was a noise complaint for another room and it somehow got pegged on us; I was not impressed. The room was lovely with a great view, but for a large King suite, there was not even a bar fridge...I've had fridges in the tiniest of hotels, so it was weird that there was not one included with our grand room. There are many other superior hotels in Toronto, and while I realize we were there for fun and this is mainly a business hotel - the nature of the atmosphere and guests staying there that weekend would state otherwise and the staff should keep that in mind. It is a fabulous location though, right in central downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonYYZ, General Manager at Hilton Toronto, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member ...

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us from your visit in the summer during Toronto's annual Caribana festival. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and view from the room.

Please do accept our sincere apologies for the misunderstanding involving disruptive noise emanating from your room. The hotel does have a "zero tolerance" policy as it relates to noise disturbance in the guest tower ...as we certainly do not want our quiet guests to be disturbed by inappropriate and inconsiderate behaviours. You indicated that you and your group were not being disruptive and perhaps the noise complaint was for another room located near yours. Again, I do apologize for the assumptions made that it was you, and I truly hope it will not leave an overall negative impression on you and your friends.

Your comment about the bar fridge has been noted. We had fridges in every rom, however due to age and wear and tear, they were removed due to constant malfunction. Plans are underway to purchase new ones for all guest rooms in the future.

We appreciate your patronage and hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back, whenever your travel plans include Toronto. May I also take this opportunity to wish you belated wishes on your recent wedding nuptials.

Wishing you and yours all the very best for the holiday season and a happy and healthy 2013!

Warm regards,

Andy Loges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto

Address: 145 Richmond Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5H 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#31 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toronto Hotel Toronto
Hilton Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.